• StoniG. ...so #1 v. #2.....

Btw, how do you plan to ship my beer?

Govt. And state regulations show that alcohol cannot be shipped without a license. I am telling you this so you can make alternative plans.

Big game this weekend!!!
    Last edited by HL; November 27, 2015, 06:57 PM.

Love your game face! hardcore bravado while knees knocking. Anyway as I said, my been is Czech republic beer that is only available in Scandinavia you are going to have to figure how to get it into Yankeeland.

Game will be interesting, Gritty will be truly in limelight, lets see if they can step up to the glare, Manu is the perfect opponent now, just played in Euro and psychologically they are not there yet, great opportunity for Gritty lets see if they can take it.

IS that beer Pilsner Urquell? I think we spoke about that a few weeks back. If it is, it is available in Canada.

HL, you might have to go north to buy your six-pack... if it comes to that!

No, it is a Czech beer called Velkopopovich. HL will have to special order it. The question in my mind is not whether they make the top ten as agreed upon but now can they make the top seven or gasp...top four or lets not even discuss the last that is an unmentionable. Top seventh team last year got 60 points and fourth was seventy, tenth was 48 so right now with 24 games in hand they need 20 points to get my Velko!!!

HL -using his Amazon Prime account orders six Velko's in the 16 oz bottle!!

By my statistical reasoning Gritty should end up at least at 56 points which should take them close to seventh place or a best case scenario of seventy which puts them close to the top four and in the mix. Either way Velko's will be served, I will take Kronenberg 1664 as an alternate, just to not stress out HL too much.

Ok... never heard of Velkopopovitch, quite the name!

I agree with you that HL will be likely breaking out the credit card and firing up the Amazon account. Statistically, (ceteris paribus of course) you are on course for an 80+ season! 56 your minimum, would, IMO, represent a real disappointment... (much less 48...) that would mean only an additional 28, which you currently have, over the next 25 matches...and of course 48 only an additional 20 in the next 25.

You (all clubs) have a possible 75 available... the thinking for every club should be to set a realistic and achievable target. IMO, if your LFC continues in the same vein 60 is more than possible.

I wanted to check the stats, but haven't had time, to see whether teams on average earn more points in the first half vs. second half of the season. As the season rolls along, injuries and fatigue will take a toll. I'm rooting for you to do well as it is good to see other than the usual suspects in the running. Liverpool Football Club of course, whether one considers them a usual suspect or not, I hope will excel this season!! Looking for a top four, but it will be tough...but if we go on a 5 match winning run which we've done in recent times, who knows what will happen? I must mention Spurs as they are definitely looking the part...but JK is doing the job he was hired to do at the real LFC

Anyway, good luck to you and HL, but HL... I would advise you keep that credit card handy!
          Last edited by Peter R; November 28, 2015, 10:30 AM.

Ha-ha good advice PR. Yeah, LcFc brought in much more second half of season than first last year, but that was fighting for survival, different situation.

My numbers are always conservative, so there is always upside on my numbers, I cannot see them having a last 2/3rds of the season to match the first 1/3, they have been amazing, the most wins in the league at 8 of 13 and one loss,pretty heady stuff. So if they match that win and draw total for rest of season they are at 55 and competing for Europe which means they would lose 13 games, which is a pretty serious drop off, I expect a very bad patch somewhere along the season so realistically top ten is what I committed to with excellent chance of top seven and an outside shot at top four if they really can keep spirit, discipline and professionalism high, the manager is up to the task, just hopes he does not try to take back the Tinkerman title from X's boy Rogers!!!

A conservative approach eases the burden of disappointment so that makes sense. Setting SMART goals is the right thing ... and I bet you wouldn't mind if your manager emulated the "tinkerman's" 2013/2014 season! Bless.

Actually, the conservative approach equals the best vehicle for consistent delivery. At the end of the day, the only thing anyone remembers is what you promised and what you delivered!!

....in other words, a man's word is his honor. .....

Zackly HL, yuh know bout that!!

I like that comment actually, I might borrow it, of course I will give you full credit.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        Love your game face! hardcore bravado while knees knocking. Anyway as I said, my been is Czech republic beer that is only available in Scandinavia you are going to have to figure how to get it into Yankeeland.

Game will be interesting, Gritty will be truly in limelight, lets see if they can step up to the glare, Manu is the perfect opponent now, just played in Euro and psychologically they are not there yet, great opportunity for Gritty lets see if they can take it.
                        I think I mentioned that I spent 3 maybe 4 days in Prague. It was one of the few places and occasions that I was truly drunk. I tried many types of Czech beers...can't recall trying the one you mentioned.

Rest assured (though it is not likely you will win this wager ) , I will make sure you receive your brew.

No problem, it has worked really well for me!! The best part is when you over deliver on your promise!! As you can imagine!

I am not worried at all, i have full faith and confidence in you!! I never made it to Prague, I will have to do that one if these days.

HL, have you "done the Math"? Anyhow I like your confidence though based on current form LcFC looking like they are the real deal. What you have going for you there are only nine points separating tenth (us ~ LFC) and first. And while I see it quite possible that we, LFC, have a chance to overhaul the points difference between tenth and fourth (for starters), which is six, then by the same token you still very much in the running. If LcFc goes on a three game losing streak for example and all else remains equal, things can quickly turn around.

I'll be watching with great interest the outcome of this side contest!