• Bora makes changes for Malaysia

Bora makes changes
    19-y-o goalie debuts as Boyz tackle Malaysia Ian Burnett, Sports Editor
    Thursday, June 28, 2007

Technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic (second left) speaks to Jamaican players at a team training session in Kuala Lumpur yesterday. (Photo: Michael Blair) Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic will wring in the changes as Jamaica's backup senior footballers face further scrutiny today when they challenge Malaysia here at the National Stadium at 8:45 pm (7:45 am Jamaica time).
    Harbour View's 19-year-old Dwayne Miller will tend goal in his first senior international cap, while captain Donald Stewart and vice-captain Fabian Davis will give way to the less experienced pair Richard Edwards of Harbour View and Mario Harrison of Reno, respectively.
    "It's also a good opportunity to give a little chance to some other players," Bora told the Observer after the team's final training session at the PKNS FC training facilities in Kelana Jaya, about 20 minutes' ride from the team's Grand Blue Wave Hotel in Shah Alam, Kuala Lumpur.
    Edwards has been given the vital anchor midfield position alongside Reno's Nicholy Finlayson, while Harrison and Demar Phillips (Waterhouse) will provide width in midfield with Fabian Taylor (Harbour View) and Wolry Wolfe (Portmore United) in attack.
    Dwayne Miller The defensive line will be Christopher Harvey (Harbour View) and Adrian Reid (Portmore United) playing centre back, with Lovel Palmer (Harbour View) and Mario Swaby (Portmore United) occupying the flanks.
    Bora's mantra for the group remains the same. ""Let's play the game, enjoy it, give good effort, be intelligent, don't make mistakes, concentrate, fight for your country, show pride, everything.
    "These games are a great experience for them to take them to the next level in the future," Bora insisted.
    Since beginning the four-nation Asian tour a week ago, the second-stringers have lost 1-2 to Indonesia under adverse conditions, and then three days later they surrendered meekly 0-3 to Vietnam.
    After today's game, the team travels west to the Middle East to face Iran, the highest ranked team (47th) of the four nations on the Coca-Cola FIFA Ranking.
    Despite the unfavourable results, Bora remains resolute that progress is being made; that the tour was one of providing experience and exposure for the group.
    "We need to understand so many things about the players... the results haven't been good, but for me, the players have very good attitude, they try always, and the only way to get a good result is to play the game."
    Regarding Miller on debut, Bora said: "The goalkeeper, tomorrow he is going to play his first game. Normally I don't judge him in relation with the result. Is it going to be good for him for the future, we need to see. He has great courage, now we need to see his personality."
    Bora was also happy to welcome back Fabian Taylor, whose absence has had a significant effect on the group. Taylor is the more senior of only two strikers in the 20-man squad and without him the coach was forced to employ attacking midfielder Wolfe in the striker's role.
    "It is good he (Taylor) is back with the group, I don't know how long he will play, but he is another option."
    Malaysia, ranked 149th on the FIFA list, and the most affluent of the three nations toured thus far, will host Group C of the AFC Asian Cup, which begins on July 7.
    They are pitted against tough oppositions such as Iran, China and Uzbekistan and open their campaign on July 10 against China.
    In their most recent friendly against the United Arab Emirates last Thursday, they lost 1-3 at the National Stadium, where reports are that only about 10,000 patrons turned out for free admission to support the team.

Jamaica wins 2 - 0

http://futbol24.com/stat_teamCmp_2810_2679.html

Sign of a good coach - makes changes that bring positive results!

I still blame Boxhill. If the NPL-Reggae Boyz had been in Asia at least two days before. Who knows what the real results would have been.

Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post
          I still blame Boxhill. If the NPL-Reggae Boyz had been in Asia at least two days before. Who knows what the real results would have been.
          By the time Bora dun wid dem local boyz, farin yute haffi wuk fi dem spot.. maybe wi will give 1 or 2 forwad a bligh..but di ress haffi guh wuk..

I'm just hoping the friendlies continue coming. Boxhill can at least enter the JFF elections with some dignity.

Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post
              I'm just hoping the friendlies continue coming. Boxhill can at least enter the JFF elections with some dignity.
              Fcuk Boxhill..

Accountability is the name of the game.. there should only be one reward for Failure..

Originally posted by pHoQrY View Post
                Congrats on the good result! We needed it!

...now was there "good play"?

...and,

Originally posted by pHoQrY View Post

...and, the point of playing with...building from worse team as opposed to building from...on best TEAM - STANDS!

...and,
                    Did you ask if there was 'good play' in the loss ?

Yes!
                      ...you really do not think merely scoring goals means there was an abundance of good TEAM play.

Do not come with the obvious that scoring of goals is GOOD! Not one person on this board does not know that! Damn...even you know that!

How did we do during the entire game was the question? Majority good play? Flashes of brilliance? Steady play? Long period of great? Long periods of "awful"? How did we perform - good?

Now if you saw the match, could you kindly provide us with an overview?

Yes!
                        ...you really do not think merely scoring goals means there was an abundance of good TEAM play.

Do not come with the obvious that scoring of goals is GOOD! Not one person on this board does not know that! Damn...even you know that!

How did we do during the entire game was the question? Majority good play? Flashes of brilliance? Steady play? Long period of great? Long periods of "awful"? How did we perform - good?

Now if you saw the match, could you kindly provide us with an overview?
                        You are insane.

I am wondering why no-one seemed concerned about our PLAY in our 2 previous losses.

Now that we have won.. our PLAY is suddenly a consideration...

Advise.. don't get caught up in the scores.. OUR PLAY should be your focus..regardless of win or loss.

Move and gwey! Nuh bodda come gwaan like you is di ongle one whey care bout di PLAY, win or lose.

Please!

In the first match, how much could be said about the PLAY when everybody was jetlagged and suffering from cramps? In the second match, it seemed rather clear to me that the PLAY sucked, losing to some U-23ers.

So chill!

You are insane.

I am wondering why no-one seemed concerned about our PLAY in our 2 previous losses.

Now that we have won.. our PLAY is suddenly a consideration...

Advise.. don't get caught up in the scores.. OUR PLAY should be your focus..regardless of win or loss.
                            No one concerned about our play in the previous matches?

Are you for real? What then do you think the discussions were about - "The great way we have been playing"?

Massa - We are all concerned about the level of play as it is now...and, we are fearful that it shall not be as we expect when qualifiers begin...and, if we get by and qualify, how we shall perform at the 2010 World Cup?

Why do you think I am constantly suggesting that appearing at the 2010 World Cup should at least have us performing as Ghana did at the 2006 World Cup?

Why do you think the suggestion that starting with our BEST AVAILABLE PLAYERS would have us start preparations from a higher stage along to TOP OF THE WORLD and therefore would give us opportunity to further improve towards that TOP OF THE WORLD level than starting with 3rd tier players at the BOTTOM OF THE WORLD?

massa wake up? duh, mi a beg yuh?

No one concerned about our play in the previous matches?

Are you for real? What then do you think the discussions were about - "The great way we have been playing"?

Massa - We are all concerned about the level of play as it is now...and, we are fearful that it shall not be as we expect when qualifiers begin...and, if we get by and qualify, how we shall perform at the 2010 World Cup?

Why do you think I am constantly suggesting that appearing at the 2010 World Cup should at least have us performing as Ghana did at the 2006 World Cup?

Why do you think the suggestion that starting with our BEST AVAILABLE PLAYERS would have us start preparations from a higher stage along to TOP OF THE WORLD and therefore would give us opportunity to further improve towards that TOP OF THE WORLD level than starting with 3rd tier players at the BOTTOM OF THE WORLD?

massa wake up? duh, mi a beg yuh?
                              Refer me to the great concern about our PLAY after the loss to Vietnam.. I must have missed it in all the 'WOE IS US' 'WE HAFFI WIN' 'IS WHAT BORA DOING TO OUR RANKING' etc, etc...