• Jamie Lawrence launches footy academy

Jamie Lawrence launches footy academy
    By Helen Husbands
    A former premiership footballer whose career ranged from playing for a prison team to international success with Jamaica's Reggae Boyz is launching a soccer academy.
    Jamie Lawrence, who grew up in Battersea, won 42 caps for Jamaica and enjoyed premiership success with Bradford City and Leicester City in the 1990s.
    He will launch a football academy at Nightingale School in Tooting in September and will be at the school for an open day this Friday.
    advertisement

Jamie said: "I'd like to use my experience to show the community that, if you get into trouble as a young person, your life is not necessarily over.
    "You can always fight back and make something of your life."
    There will be a raffle of VIP sporting memorabilia at the event, including boxing gloves signed by Amir Khan, Lennox Lewis, Joe Calzaghe, Frank Bruno and Danny Williams.
    And a signed snooker cue donated by friend and school sponsor Jimmy White, football shirts signed by the Fulham and Derby squads, Jermaine Pennant's Liverpool shirt and a tribute armband to England World Cup winner Alan Ball.
    Other highlights include visits from professional footballers and a Friends across the Borough' under 16s and under 18s football tournament.
    The academy was the brainchild of Jamie Lawrence, who is now an ardent anti-gun crime campaigner.
    His teenage years were marked by brushes with the law and culminated in his first prison spell at the age of 19.
    At the age of 21, he was sentenced to four years in jail for robbery and ended up at a prison on the Isle of Wight.
    His talent on the pitch was spotted when he played for the prison side and he was signed by former England captain Terry Butcher, manager at Sunderland, after his release.
    Nightingale headteacher Jonty Clark said: "We are absolutely delighted Jamie is starting his football academy at the school in September.
    "He has been working at the school throughout the summer and is a charismatic figure who has coached and educated the boys brilliantly.
    "We are very lucky to have someone of his experience and stature who is willing to offer his time to help the young people in our school.
    "I have absolutely no doubt he will be a very positive and influential role model for our pupils."
    For details of the open day or how to register for the football academy contact Steve Cairns at Nightingale School on 020 8874 9096.
    11:00am today

Gwaan Turbo(Mawning X), yuh wuz de bestest!!

Blessed

Originally posted by Hortikal View Post
      Jamie Lawrence launches footy academy
      By Helen Husbands
      A former premiership footballer whose career ranged from playing for a prison team to international success with Jamaica's Reggae Boyz is launching a soccer academy.
      Jamie Lawrence, who grew up in Battersea, won 42 caps for Jamaica and enjoyed premiership success with Bradford City and Leicester City in the 1990s.
      He will launch a football academy at Nightingale School in Tooting in September and will be at the school for an open day this Friday.
      advertisement

Jamie said: "I'd like to use my experience to show the community that, if you get into trouble as a young person, your life is not necessarily over.
      "You can always fight back and make something of your life."
      There will be a raffle of VIP sporting memorabilia at the event, including boxing gloves signed by Amir Khan, Lennox Lewis, Joe Calzaghe, Frank Bruno and Danny Williams.
      And a signed snooker cue donated by friend and school sponsor Jimmy White, football shirts signed by the Fulham and Derby squads, Jermaine Pennant's Liverpool shirt and a tribute armband to England World Cup winner Alan Ball.
      Other highlights include visits from professional footballers and a Friends across the Borough' under 16s and under 18s football tournament.
      The academy was the brainchild of Jamie Lawrence, who is now an ardent anti-gun crime campaigner.
      His teenage years were marked by brushes with the law and culminated in his first prison spell at the age of 19.
      At the age of 21, he was sentenced to four years in jail for robbery and ended up at a prison on the Isle of Wight.
      His talent on the pitch was spotted when he played for the prison side and he was signed by former England captain Terry Butcher, manager at Sunderland, after his release.
      Nightingale headteacher Jonty Clark said: "We are absolutely delighted Jamie is starting his football academy at the school in September.
      "He has been working at the school throughout the summer and is a charismatic figure who has coached and educated the boys brilliantly.
      "We are very lucky to have someone of his experience and stature who is willing to offer his time to help the young people in our school.
      "I have absolutely no doubt he will be a very positive and influential role model for our pupils."
      For details of the open day or how to register for the football academy contact Steve Cairns at Nightingale School on 020 8874 9096.
      11:00am today
      So our schools clould be made into even better academies than they currently are?

Jamie: Wishing you every success with your school!
      Gwaan, man!
      FORWARD!