US Football/Soccer..one step forward, three steps backwards

How much of this have to do with the USA being just too litigious about every striking thing?!?
    I'm sure that has a lot to do with it. But what about the medical research that went into the decision?

At the U-10 level we're also talking about brains that aren't fully developed yet and skulls that haven't fully hardened. Don't you think the took those things into consideration too?

I will not let my 10 year old play football as even though he has an helmet one of the primary things is tackling with the head. Flag football maybe ok, but with brains develpment at that early stage, he can wait.

I teach my kids to head the ball but they are not perfect on that right now.

bogus medical research as it relates to heading a football. Might as well wrap kids in a bubble wrap before they play any sports. Ping pong can be a dangerous game too.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I've been heading footballs since I was in 1st form playing defence and nothing is wrong with me!

Ah, it's all so clear now!

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
              Ah, it's all so clear now!

LOL! You could have driven a truck through that opening him give you! LOL!

LOL!!! Zeppo I never knew you had a funny side.

Mosiah walked right into that head shot. LOL!!!!

On a serious note, you never seen man head the ball and seeing stars or loose balance for a bit and nobody take them out of the game??? While they maybe taking it a little serious, but there needs to be a middle ground.

Wow you've just kill(T) my defense.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Club like mine do not encourage punting the ball, playing it out of the back. It can be frustrating for parents as the other team intercept the ball and score more
                      I have noticed that a lot more this year among the U9 and U10 games I watch, the discouraging of punting the ball. Yes it is frustrating at times but I understand the reasoning.

I also have noticed in some games with the U9s they put a marker about 5 yards outside the 18 yard box box and tell the forwards they can't attack until the ball passes that mark. The idea (I think) is to give the defence the chance to make the first pass without fear of inerception. You ever see that with your club games?

Haven't seen that but it is interesting. My last son is small and very fast so when he is playing forward, he oftentimes shadow a defender and wait for the goalie to make a short pass and then intercept it. If the kids improve they will be able to take it out of the back and it looks really pretty.