US Football/Soccer..one step forward, three steps backwards

• US Football/Soccer..one step forward, three steps backwards

The United States Soccer Federation is recommending a ban on players under the age of 10 heading the ball, limits for players between 11 and 13 and having medical professionals rather than coaches make decisions on whether players suspected of concussions can remain in games.

As part of an announcement that a lawsuit over concussions filed last year had been settled, the USSF said on Monday it is implementing the changes for US youth national teams and its development academy, which are controlled by the governing body.

The USSF is strongly urging they be adopted by all of its members, which includes youth local level entities and American professional leagues not under direct authority of the defendants in the lawsuit.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/spo...0-America.html
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

jangle - at our club we don't allow the kids under 10 to head a normal ball during heading practice, but use a very light ball. It does not have the impact that a regular ball has because it is so light. We do have them head the regular ball in juggling practice, but in games, we minimize heading by keeping the ball on the ground. Head injuries is an issue, but to take heading out of the game completely is ridiculous.

At our club there is nothing against heading the ball but the primary thing is to play the ball out from the back. I remember they had only one or two special heading sessions. One of the way how we lose games are team booting it out but for development it is easier to play the ball from the back. There is going to be mistakes but I don't think heading is that important at that stage.

I see they are thinking about making changes to American football due to the number of recent deaths in high school football. My question is what has changed in kids sports? These sports have been played for eons without the game being watered down.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I see they are thinking about making changes to American football due to the number of recent deaths in high school football. My question is what has changed in kids sports? These sports have been played for eons without the game being watered down.
          What has changed? Where have you been sleeping? What has changed is that the "average" kid is now based on an large number of couch potatoes who are only active when they go to "practice" or not at all. The rest of their time is spent playing Mortal Kombat or FIFA and 90% of their diet is processed food. They are NOT healthy. So of course you are going to get more injuries. And stupider people...that's not xactly hard to understand is it?

There has also been injuries but it wasn't as public. Now in the age of 24 hours news and internet it has been magnified for good and bad reasons.

I heard a few NFL players said they will not let their kids play American football until 12 years old. I can't blame them as the object of the game is to tackle with your head. I am now warming to the ideal of no slide tackle before 11. What is gained from the slide??? It is easier for kids to learn other ways of getting the ball while not injuring others and themselves.

Slide tackle don't need any teaching at all it is like the pull back.

An American newsanchor, in explaining the new rule, said that headers are usually for 50-50 balls, which means there is a 50% chance of being injured.

Sometimes I wish America never played football.

Like in those moments when we knock you out of WC qualifying?

Hopefully this means coaches will properly TEACH the players to keep the ball on the ground, improving their passing and movement with & without the ball, as well as develop their individual skills.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                    Hopefully this means coaches will properly TEACH the players to keep the ball on the ground, improving their passing and movement with & without the ball, as well as develop their individual skills.
                    I think that is part of the objective, but they probably won't admit it.

It's a very good reason! It gives players more control of the ball and ultaty the game .... Will it cut out high crosses from the wings?

Exactly! When the USA eliminates you...it doesn't get much worse than that!

Regardless what they say there will be high crosses but at the u8 and 9 they use smaller fields with only 6 players at a time so no real high crosses. At u10 they use 8 players. Club like mine do not encourage punting the ball, playing it out of the back. It can be frustrating for parents as the other team intercept the ball and score more. When the game is flowing right, it looks good. Mostly corners but at least at my club nuff a the youth will not put a strong header as they haven't practice it much.

Some clubs we play nuh stop punt and have good header but that means that too often too many kids are excluded from the build up.

How much of this have to do with the USA being just too litigious about every striking thing?!?

High school football should keep lawyers busy enough!

What next? Outlaw breakdancing? Dutty wine?

them make you sign a waiver.