The Guvenor Paul Ince to coach MK Dons

• The Guvenor Paul Ince to coach MK Dons

Paul Ince has revealed that former United team-mate Roy Keane was in regular contact during the pair's maiden season in management.

While Keane was transforming Sunderland from Championship strugglers to Premiership new-boys, Ince was guiding Macclesfield Town to safety in League Two.

And, having been unveiled as the new boss at MK Dons, Ince revealed that the two United old boys had been egging each other on throughout last season.

"We were struggling at Macclesfield, and so were Sunderland when Roy first went there," said Ince, who spent two seasons alongside Keane in the United engine room. "I was coming up from the bottom, so was Roy and we were encouraging each other.

"Although it was Macclesfield, and not many people gave a monkey's, Keaney was the only one really as a manager who was texting me and ringing me and kept saying: 'Keep going, well done'."

With both ex-Reds making strong starts to their managerial careers, Ince can envisage trading tactical wits with his old cohort in the not-too-distant future.

"As for me and Roy, we played together for four years in midfield at United and played the same, moaned the same, only Roy got booked more than me," he said.

"I'm sure we'll lock horns in the Premiership and be battling it out against each other one day."

Teams like these would be a good starting ground for a man like John Barnes to hone his coaching skills. I always wonder why he never considered any of them before. Maybe he is not really interested in coaching or he only wants to start at the top.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla doh start wid me this mornin'.

John Barnes is good for Jamaica!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I sometimes get the feeling that some folks think that the Reggae BoyZ are a good football team. I am not afraid to say it. The Reggae BoyZ suck (at this time)!!

I bet guys like Bob Bradley, Steve Sampson and other Americans like him are not good enough to coach the BoyZ....

We ongle want brand name coach.

HL, I never said he was not good enough for Jamaica. Read my post again. I am just saying he would be more markatable as a coach if he had even a few of these club team experience under his belt.

What's up with you HL? I take it you are not being "med compliant"?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I took the 'red' one...when i should have taken the 'purple'.

Hmmmm...da black man still pushin' through........Will he ever get da big job ?????............If he keeps proving himself from one level to da next.....what will be da ultimate excuse be......sitting & waiting for him to accept ?????
            "Stand in love, don't fall in love" Stephen Marley