Manuligans

• Manuligans

Here is my starting line-up against that fly by night team,and the reasons for the inclusion of players you probably object to starting..
    DeGea,Smalling, Jones,Valencia,Herrera,Sneiderlin(sp),Young,Fellai ni,Rooney,Martial,and Depay.
    Jones starts only because of height advantage.
    Fellaini makes a unique target;deGea has a knack for finding him with looong kicks..,Depay too will pick him out(preferably inside the box),he demands attention from defenders which may give Martial more freedom..,he is another target for receiving throws,he tackles hard,..
    Rooney is probably the only player out there that can play another position of striking importance without missing a beat,I am hoping he will take free-kicks(to help in regaining his shooting form),and with Martial giving such a decent account of himself,it is crucial we get Rooney back to typical form.
    Depay starts because he can hurt City(strength,speed,shooting abilities,and skills),my guess is having a wingback that is no stranger to going forward tremendously helps the game of his winger teammate.

The bench:
    Blind,Carrick,Darmian,Perriera(sp),too bad we haven't worked him in as yet),and Rojo.

I would have loved to have Januzaj ,maybe he is the missing piece to changing the team's snail pace approach to launching attacks.
    Last edited by Rockman; October 23, 2015, 08:55 PM.

I hope you won't mind...I cut and pasted your post then emailed it to the ManDisUnited coaching staff

Try to get some sleep,it will be difficult to do so after the game.

That's a team that is guaranteed to get 6 love and would make the seer Crystal look like a prophet in hindsight. The problem that we will have on Sunday is dealing with their speed on both flanks. On our right side, the choice is either Valencia or Darmian. Now it depends on the tactics and the objective that LvG uses. Do we go for a win or do we play not to lose? If we are going for a win, then he could consider starting Valencia to press their LB who might turn out to be Sagna due to their injuries. However, that would leave our RB open to the speedy and deadly Sterling. If we play not to lose, then starting the more defensive Darmian makes sense. On the other side of the pitch, they have the fast-like-10,000-b*ttyman Navas to contend with. Ashley Young is out due to injury, but regardless, Rojo must start. Again, tactics will determine if he pushes forward or sit back. The German MUST start in the middle end of story. I am for dropping Rooney but not for this game. The team to start should be:

DeGea
        Smalling
        Jones
        Rojo
        Darmian
        The German
        The French
        Mata
        Rooney
        Herrera
        Martial

Martial is the Special One.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Depay at this point only using one bruck. They have studied him. He will cut in and shoot 90% of the time. He has to be able to do more. Martial changes everything for Manu. Last wee the coach took of Matter and gave Jesse Lingard a game on the wing and he didn't do too bad.

Let me see how Jones and Smalling stand up.

I am always mindful of the opponent's speed,why start the German against a quick side?
            Did Darmian have a convincing game against Arsenal?
            The interesting thing is Martial was fielded on the left flank against CSK Moscow and it was a terrible showing,perhaps there is more to our wingers having a difficult time ..
            Mata does have a knack for scoring and making great passes,but the game is going to be physical and that is why I would not field him.
            Fellaini will be needed at both ends of the field.
            Rojo on my starting team if Young is unavailable,slow poke Blind would be my next choice,how was he against CSK Moscow?
            Last edited by Rockman; October 24, 2015, 07:09 AM.

Lingard was okay against CSK Moscow,we may be asking too much of him by starting him in a game of this magnitude,he is largely an unknown.
              Last edited by Rockman; October 24, 2015, 07:00 AM.

Sass,hold off a little bit on passing judgement on Depay,his best is yet to come,and we will surely see his best.
                He is one of a few must haves against City.
                Last edited by Rockman; October 24, 2015, 07:01 AM.

Jangle ,there is a possibility of Darmian never again getting a game for his national team after Sterling is finished with him,despite whoever is fielded at right back my guess is Smalling is going to have a difficult game defending against the deadly winger,Valencia may figure inside our box or may prevent Sterling from even being Smalling problem.

We ALWAYS play to win games,that would remain the case even if City had Agruero and Silva.
                  Last edited by Rockman; October 24, 2015, 07:25 AM.

hopefully he will improve on his play but for right now defenders reading him like a book come from the left.

This coach has changed our style so we are not sure of playing to win. It might make more sense to play not to lose for the betterment of winning the main prize. When Arsenal lose to Everton we will be in a stronger position. Sterling is a problem for any defender. Depay needs to do more and share the ball. Fellani is not being used like he was last season.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

City is currently leading a Man U that has yet to identify its best starting side by only two points,it is like every season,City is so good because we are so bad.LvG's explanation for getting trashed by Arsenal is the players lack the required will(the will to stretch their bodies beyond their limits,he immediately made changes by adding youthfulness..
                        He took an awful long time recognizing that Smalling is at the top of the pecking order regarding defenders,nevertheless he did.He thought he could convert Blind into a CD,that changed too.
                        My guess he is now regretting his decision to send Januzaj out on loan,he is definitely searching for the right blend,evident by the inclusion Perreira in the active squad.
                        Once he detects (whether he publicly acknowledges it..)a flawed strategy,he quickly drops it and adapts.
                        I do not think his substitutions were ever the reason why his team was beaten,those substitutions are taking place off the field too,the new inductees on the active squad.
                        Arsenal is The problem.
                        Last edited by Rockman; October 24, 2015, 12:36 PM.

Januzaj got his chances and showed that he has regressed. We have more than enough cover for his loss.

Martial,Depay,Herreran,Sniederlin are not slouches,why there is no evidence of that regarding the speed in which we launch our attacks?
                            Birthday boy is up there in age but it was only last year we saw that desired speed in the combination plays of birthday boy and underachiever de Maria,Januzaj has that same explosiveness as de Maria.
                            The idea is to be proactive.

That's a team that is guaranteed to get 6 love.
                              Sounds good to me!