...the dislike of the manager is intense in some quarters. It’s at a level that I feel is undeserved and unnecessarily vicious and personal. I don’t think it helps the team, the manager or the fans who engage in this. I understand that there’s a market for it and it can be a coping strategy, yet it’s not helpful in the long run. Does that part in red sound like anybody we know? LOL!
and this is my sentiment exactly:
...there’s a difference between blind loyalty and respect. I respect what Rodgers has tried to do at the club and support him and the team. You can be constructive, of course, but outright ridiculing a Liverpool manager who’s given his all is harsh. I think we’d all like to see a proven world class manager leading the club, but that’s neither a guarantee of success nor a reason to denigrate the incumbent manager.
- well said!
We all accept that, no matter how talented a manager is, it’s a very competitive industry at the moment. Generally, you need to have a relaxed attitude to spending and a comparatively high net spend. I think FSG need to be realistic too – they’ve spent a lot, recouped a lot, made some good progress at the club, but have they given enough of a platform to ANY manager to go and win the league? As I keep telling unu - our owners aren't rich enough....and the writer confirms this again...
If the club’s owners really do want enduring and measurable success in this league, it will come at a great cost and some more risks. Whether they have the will and, more importantly, the funds to make that dream more of a possibility means that the next manager is hampered before he even sets out foot through the door.
http://www.thisisanfield.com/2015/09...iracle-worker/
and this is my sentiment exactly:
...there’s a difference between blind loyalty and respect. I respect what Rodgers has tried to do at the club and support him and the team. You can be constructive, of course, but outright ridiculing a Liverpool manager who’s given his all is harsh. I think we’d all like to see a proven world class manager leading the club, but that’s neither a guarantee of success nor a reason to denigrate the incumbent manager.
- well said!
We all accept that, no matter how talented a manager is, it’s a very competitive industry at the moment. Generally, you need to have a relaxed attitude to spending and a comparatively high net spend. I think FSG need to be realistic too – they’ve spent a lot, recouped a lot, made some good progress at the club, but have they given enough of a platform to ANY manager to go and win the league? As I keep telling unu - our owners aren't rich enough....and the writer confirms this again...
If the club’s owners really do want enduring and measurable success in this league, it will come at a great cost and some more risks. Whether they have the will and, more importantly, the funds to make that dream more of a possibility means that the next manager is hampered before he even sets out foot through the door.
http://www.thisisanfield.com/2015/09...iracle-worker/