So Sturridge is back and scored two

• So Sturridge is back and scored two

Looking good. As I said with a fit sturridge, benteke and Cortinho Liverpool will score a decent amount of goal.

ManCity look good in the first half but......

Sanchez, is he still selfish? last year, the comparison was to Fabregas, what happen to him? Chelsea had to fight for that draw.

Martial is looking good but if he develop anymore he is going to be VERY Dangerous.

The Title this year is going to be a fight to the last.

Lots of goals in the EPL today!

For LFC, did Coutinho set up all three? or two? He himself should have had at least one with better shooting... Sturridge looked good, but also a little rusty and I don't know why he's afraid to try his right foot when that is the foot he should be using... but no complaints. Lucas also had a very good game I thought. The first of the two AVL goals was not well defended, the LFC player (didn't see who) stopped tracking back and Gestede kept going onto the ball. His second was a beauty header. Sturridge's first was also a beauty.

What worries me that for a game where LFC seemed to be in such control, it still is almost a nailbiter finish. Anyway, a win is a win. Congrats! Just come back and do it again next week please.

Lots of goals in the EPL today!

For LFC, did Coutinho set up all three? or two? He himself should have had at least one with better shooting... Sturridge looked good, but also a little rusty and I don't know why he's afraid to try his right foot when that is the foot he should be using... but no complaints. Lucas also had a very good game I thought. The first of the two AVL goals was not well defended, the LFC player (didn't see who) stopped tracking back and Gestede kept going onto the ball. His second was a beauty header. Sturridge's first was also a beauty.

What worries me that for a game where LFC seemed to be in such control, it still is almost a nailbiter finish. Anyway, a win is a win. Congrats! Just come back and do it again next week please.
      Gents - I hate to be the killjoy here, but today's win imho was a false positive for the same reason you stated Peter - you can't control that much of the game and end up with a nail-biter finish. Part of my issue is that other than Lucas, no other LFC midfielder seems capable of getting the ball back when we lose it. And while much is made of Sturridge's return, I submit that Henderson's absence is just as big a concern. Milner showed how important it is to the team for him to have a good game. He scored one and setup a peach of a finish by Sturridge. The same is true of Coutinho - who also as you said, set up two, but could have done better. Here is what I would be totally frustrated by if I were Rodgers...

Total Attempts ---------LFC 21, Villa 10
      Attempts on Target ----LFC 12, Villa 4
      Goals-------------------LFC 3, Villa 2

Our rate of return was pathetic - 12 AOT, 3 goals vs. Villa's 4 AOT, 2 goals. Something has to improve. Had we Villas rate of return, the score would have been 6-2...which would arguably have been appropriate considering we had 62% possession.

Our next two prem games are going to be real tests. Beat Everton at Goodison in the derby and I will be far more encouraged and positive going into the Spurs game in a fortnight. If I were Rodgers, I would do NOTHING IN PRACTICE other than working on getting Ings, Coutinho, Milner, Moreno(played great) and Can working on finishing.

While the pressure is mounting on the youth coach, (and rightly so), it is encouraging to see the stands being expanded at Anfield. A bigger stadium will mean more funds which hopefully...one day soon...will lead to a negative net spend of some sizable proportion to bring us on par with the rich boys. If Ancelotti or Klopp replace Rodgers, my suspicion is that FSG will have to a) ditch the transfer committee which to me is choke on the manager and b) spend more $ to bring the kinds of players that these gents will be able to attract. Still, the optimists among us will see that we are only 5 points off first, and 2 points off 4th...but the field is crowded. With only 7 points separating 1st from 13th...there is a long way to go...but much work to be done. Brendan, get your shyte together.

YNWA

Claffy yuh smart,whey yuh get dem xpert analysis fram,yute coach deh pan barrowed time, a dat yuh a say?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

one day soon...will lead to a negative net spend of some sizable proportion to bring us on par with the rich boys (Claffy, 2015)

I gotta ask , no pun intended , - or + net spend , if you spend 30 million on a player ,what is the difference , shouldnt it be value for that 30 million spent ?

The same question If you spend 300 million over 3 seasons ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sturridge is my favourite forward, he can do it all, suberb control and dribbling, create his own shot or create for others, great finisher, love how he carries the ball as well very hard to dispossess him. I think he is actually better than Suarez but Suarez has a thirst a hunger for goal, he is always turned on, Sturridge has a tendency to sulk on occasion.

Good to see him back, hope I can catch some of his games.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Sturridge is my favourite forward, he can do it all, suberb control and dribbling, create his own shot or create for others, great finisher, love how he carries the ball as well very hard to dispossess him. I think he is actually better than Suarez but Suarez has a thirst a hunger for goal, he is always turned on, Sturridge has a tendency to sulk on occasion.

Good to see him back, hope I can catch some of his games.
              Stoni, remember YNWA.

Set your alarm...next Sunday, October 4 @ 8.30 Eastern. The Liverpool derby!

Claffy yuh smart,whey yuh get dem xpert analysis fram?
                I think you meant EXpert analysis, not Xpert analysis. One is devoid of any substance or logic whatsoever, the other, logical, lucid and cogent.

yute coach deh pan barrowed time, a dat yuh a say?
                Did I say that? And if I did, isn't every manager on borrowed time in one way or another? The rumblings for Rodgers head are not coming from the owners as far as I know...and until they do...he is safe in his job. If the owners want to replace him - so be it. I will thank him for his service and throw my full support behind the new manager...even if it is you. Well, that was specious seeing that it will never be you...but I couldn't think of a more lowly character. As things stand right now in the Prem, it is very tight, so sacking him now would be foolhardy, unless they truly have a long term solution lined up. Do you see Ancelotti staying at Liverpool for 10 years? Klopp maybe, but do you see the owners giving him full transfer control? I have told you 100,000 times, we have the wrong owners, not the wrong manager. Bring Jesus, it won't matter until we have a lot more money to spend on players. The new stadium will help, but it may not be enough.

I like how you didnt answer the 2nd question

I actually think Coutinho should shoot less. He conversion rate is quite low. I believe if he focused on feeding through to Studge, Ings, and Benteke we would score more goals.

Coutinho is fantastic, I really hope we can keep him. I think he would be even more fantastic without the focus of adding goals to his game.

one day soon...will lead to a negative net spend of some sizable proportion to bring us on par with the rich boys (Claffy, 2015)

I gotta ask , no pun intended , - or + net spend , if you spend 30 million on a player ,what is the difference , shouldnt it be value for that 30 million spent ?

The same question If you spend 300 million over 3 seasons ?
                      If one spends £30m for a player there is a commensurate expectation. Chelsea did so with Sheva but fell short, Rafa did that with Keane, fell short, KD did that with Carroll, fell short - so to single out one manager vs another is ridiculous. In Rodger's case, he has to deal with a 6 man transfer committee, so unless you know their inner workings, it is a bit disingenuous to put all the blame on him. I keep telling you - LFC has the wrong owners in today's day and age, but you are too blind to see it. They are not rich enough, and not football-wise enough. Simple. And secondly, if you have squad worth 300m (which we don't) and your rivals have a squad worth 45om, what difference does it make? DUH.