• Boyz beaten 2-1

Taken from www.jamaicaobserver.com

Boyz beaten 2-1
    Late strike propels Indonesia to victoryIan Burnett
    Friday, June 22, 2007

JAKARTA, Indonesia - Striker Bambang Pamungkas struck late to help his Indonesian team steal a 2-1 victory from Jamaica in their friendly international here at the Gelora Bung Karno Stadium yesterday.
    Jakarta, Indonesia - Jamaica's Rudolph Austin (left) battles Indonesia's Zaenal Arif for possession during their friendly match at Gelora Bung Karno stadium yesterday. (Photo: AP)

Pamungkas, who had opened the scoring just shy of the hour mark, was the beneficiary of a generous giveaway in the first of four minutes of time added. The striker gained possession after Harbour View midfielder, substitute Richard Edwards, carelessly gifted away possession of the ball and the home team duly punished them.

Portmore United midfielder Wolry Wolfe, who was employed as a withdrawn striker, alongside Donovan Davis, pulled Jamaica level on 73 minutes with a well-taken goal, his first at the senior level.

Technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic had said prior to the game that it was expected to be another plot on the graph of the football learning curve. And at game's end, he was very candid.

"I hope they learn," he said in a dejected tone. "You make good effort, you play well, but you don't give away the ball. I am sorry for them, but I hope they learn."

Considering the challenges that they faced heading into the game, having arrived here just shy of 24 hours to kick off and without the team's top striker Fabian Taylor, the Reggae Boyz gave as much as they got and could consider themselves unlucky not to have ended with at least a draw.

Jamaica threatened early and had the first real chance of scoring when Demar Phillips, a bundle of energy all night, delivered a teasing left-sided cross which was tamely directed to goalkeeper Yandri Christian Pitoy by Donald Stewart from inside the six-yard box.

That was the best chance for either team in the first stanza.
    The home side countered and appeared to boss the midfield without really threatening Richard McCallum in the Jamaican goal.
    As the first half drew to a close, the Boyz could be seen reacting to what appeared to be cramps, as a number of passes went astray and there seemed to be a general lack of energy throughout.

Mario Harrison replaced Nicholy Finlayson at the start of the second half and the Boyz seemed to have found renewed energy as they matched the opponents for every ball.

Ten minutes into the half, Muhammad Ridwan tested McCallum with a long-range strike, but the Waterhouse 'keeper proved equal to the task.

Shortly after, Mario Swaby got behind the Indonesian defence on the left flank. He treaded his way to the centre with some deft foot work, but having appeared to have done the hard work, he skied his effort from just inside the penalty area, with the goalkeeper at his mercy.

The home side countered immediately down the left and with Lovel Palmer backtracking, the ball was played deep into the penalty area for Pamungkas to slide home at the back post on 59 minutes.
    Jamaica stuck to their guns and Wolfe received a goof pass from Harrison and he did well to get off a screamer which flew into the far side of the goal, much to the chagrin of the approximately 20,000 loyal supporters who were scattered around the huge stadium.

The Boyz then lifted their game yet another level and substitute Rudolph Austin, on debut, was sent through on goal, but he had what appeared a legitimate penalty appeal turned down by the referee.

Austin was at it again on the right-hand side of midfield 10 minutes from the end when his pinpoint cross found the onrushing Phillips, who could not keep his effort down. Shortly after, the same two players combined again, but this time Phillips' diving header went astray.

Nearing the end, McCallum was called on to palm away a vicious free-kick from substitute Zaenal Arif, but as the game seemed headed for a draw, Edwards lost concentration and possession and at this level, such wastefulness hardly goes unpunished.

At game's end captain Donald Stewart experienced severe abdominal cramps and spasms and had to be attended to with the help of doctors from the home side. This incident delayed the team's departure from the stadium by over an hour.

According to team doctor Mark Sanderson, the ailment could have been precipitated from dehydration associated with the long flight to Asia, plus the hot and humid conditions here.

A number of Stewart's teammates complained of cramps and muscle spasms throughout the game, but the skipper's was most serious.

The Boyz are scheduled to depart early today for Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, en route to Vietnam, where they play on Sunday.

Teams:
    Jamaica - Richard McCallum, Jermaine Taylor, Christopher Harvey, Mario Swaby, Lovel Palmer (Adrian Reid 75th), Donald Stewart, Nicholy Finlayson (Mario Harrison 46th), Demar Phillips (Xavian Virgo 86th), Fabian Davis (Rudolph Austin 78th), Wolry Wolfe, Donovan Davis (Richard Edwards 58th).

Booked: Edwards (62nd)

Subs not used: A Whittaker, D Miller

Indonesia - Yandri Christian Pitoy, Muhammad Ridwan, Richardo Salampessy (Supardi 45th+), Maman Abdulrahman, Charis Yulianto, Elie Aiboy (Syamsul Bahri 72nd), Mahyadi Panggabean (Zaenal Arif 72nd), Ponaryo Astamam (Eka Ramdani 27th), Budi Sudarsono, Firman Utina (Atep 86th), Bambang Pamungkas.

Booked: Ridwan (64th)

Subs not used: Feri Rotinsulu, Markus Harison, Erol Iba, Ismed Sofyan, Harry Saputra, Achmad Jufrianto, Saktiawan Sinaga.

Referee: Ramachandran Khrisnan (Malaysia)

Assistants: Yesayas Leihitu, Udin Sumarsa (Indonesia)

Fourth Official: Jimmy Napitupulu (Indonesia)

Match Commissary: Wandi Batangtaris
    Last edited by Karl; June 22, 2007, 08:48 AM.

Taken from www.jamaica-gleaner.com

Reggae Boyz fall 2-1 in friendly

Indonesia's Supardi, (second right), battles for the ball with Jamaica's (from left), Adrian Reid, Woolry Wolfe, Rudolph Austin and Christopher Harvey, (far right), during their friendly match at Gelora Bung Karno Stadium in Jakarta yesterday. Indonesia won 2-1. - AP

JAMAICA'S REGGAE Boyz got off to a poor start to their four-match friendly tour of Asia yesterday, going down 2-1 to 143rd ranked Indonesia at the Gelora Bung Karno Stadium in Jakarta.

Despite the absence of top local strikers Boaz Salossa and Saktiawan Sinaga, the Jamaican back line, which had to take the pitch just 24 hours after a 40-hour trip, had lots of problems coping with the hosts' strike force.

Veteran striker Bambang Pamungkas, a star for Indonesia at the 2002 Tiger Cup, proved to be more than a handful for the Jamaica defence, netting both goals.

Scoreless first half

After a scoreless first half, the 27-year-old striker put the hosts in front when he slotted past Jamaican custodian Richard McCallum, who made a few critical stops for the Jamaican team, in the 58th minute.

Portmore United's Wolry Wolfe got the visitors back on level terms with a goal in the 72nd minute, but Pamungkas popped up again to beat keeper McCallum on the stroke of full time.

Jamaica will now prepare for their second friendly international against Vietnam on Sunday. The Vietnamese have been in camp since Monday and are, like Indonesia, preparing to take part in the Asia Cup.

The loss was Jamaica's second to a team ranked outside of the FIFA top 100 in the past nine months. They also fell 2-1 to St. Vincent and the Grenadines in the preliminary rounds of the Gold Cup. In fact, the Jamaicans are yet to win any international friendly since new technical director Velibor Milutinovic took charge, and are now winless in their past five friendlies.

However, if there is any good news for the Reggae Boyz, it is that the completely local squad is expected to be bolstered by the return of Harbour View striker Fabian Taylor.

Taylor, who did manage to find the back of the net the last time the team was successful abroad - at the Lunar Cup in Hong Kong earlier this year, will return to the team, along with Seba United's Keniel Moodie.

The players were forced to return home after hearing that they would not be allowed into Malaysia with passports set to expire. The issue has been resolved and the players are expected to leave the island today to rejoin the tour.

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

© Copyright 1997-2007 Gleaner Company Ltd.
    Last edited by Karl; June 22, 2007, 08:42 AM.

Wining is Important

The problem Jamaica is faced with right now is how do you motivate this team to win? There are excuses for the loses and mistakes by the administrator that cost players in the squad not to be there on time. Is Bora falling into the Admin trap of local first and everybody else after or this is his desire? His record will show a dismal 5 straight games without a win whether we like it or not. When we lose to these lowly ranked teams it means we have to start over again.

So far Bora has been a mixed bag, he has brought in some new faces but he has failed to look at players he has not seen on the field. Seeing them on tv or playing for a club is one thing but putting them under his command is another. Bora seems interested in building talent but if that is the case then he should be working more with the youth program because while he is giving oppurtunity to players who he thinks are the best in Ja, I can't see more than 4 of these players starting on a World Cup qualifying team.

Bora should work like the job is not his as CB and others did knowing that his "suitcase is packed"(morning HL), it is good he is getting us some good games but it is important as a team to win some games to build moral, to show the difference between wining and losing, To lift some spirit and keep the team as a unit and also to let other who see themselves as outcast at the moment feel that they are a part of a team. We have another year or so for qualification and I can only hope someone from the JFF is in touch with players like Jermaine Hue, Claude Davis, Omar, the UB40 crew and the MLS players, Ralph etc. as you need some of them and hope they are still motivated.

The problem Jamaica is faced with right now is how do you motivate this team to win? There are excuses for the loses and mistakes by the administrator that cost players in the squad not to be there on time. Is Bora falling into the Admin trap of local first and everybody else after or this is his desire? His record will show a dismal 5 straight games without a win whether we like it or not. When we lose to these lowly ranked teams it means we have to start over again.

So far Bora has been a mixed bag, he has brought in some new faces but he has failed to look at players he has not seen on the field. Seeing them on tv or playing for a club is one thing but putting them under his command is another. Bora seems interested in building talent but if that is the case then he should be working more with the youth program because while he is giving oppurtunity to players who he thinks are the best in Ja, I can't see more than 4 of these players starting on a World Cup qualifying team.

Bora should work like the job is not his as CB and others did knowing that his "suitcase is packed"(morning HL), it is good he is getting us some good games but it is important as a team to win some games to build moral, to show the difference between wining and losing, To lift some spirit and keep the team as a unit and also to let other who see themselves as outcast at the moment feel that they are a part of a team. We have another year or so for qualification and I can only hope someone from the JFF is in touch with players like Jermaine Hue, Claude Davis, Omar, the UB40 crew and the MLS players, Ralph etc. as you need some of them and hope they are still motivated.
        You make many good points...and...

Do we really expose/properly market our youngsters if we display them as inept?

Put another way - Would it have been better to display *'the products' we have to sell to greatest advantage?

I am thinking showing the world 'the products' are inferior to other competiting products encourages the world to by-pass our products...but then, it appears I am the only one, on this board, that thinks when selling your product you present that product in 'most favourable light'. Certainly the Boxhill led JFF thinks that displaying of product REGGAE BOYZ in best light is a nonsense idea.

Boxhill thinks reducing our world standing to "bottom of the barrel" is great!

My way would be to present "brand Reggae Boyz" in best possible light.

a) Expose our youth age-group players to ADVANCED LEARNING CLIMATE through continuous preparations/teachings/coaching and steady diet of playing against World's best at their age-group level.

b) Expose our NATIONAL SENIOR TEAMS - best available players - with inclusion of deserving youth (age-group...yes, some would prove deserving to be in BEST TEAM) against quality opponents.

The following would be the result -
        i) improved local players, coaches, administrators etc. as they would all learn from being often in good world teaching/learning environment....and, there would be a transfer of knowledge gained in these 'world situations' penetrating every nook and cranny... moving through and across the entire island;

ii) the world marketplace would be constantly observing **our players making the transition from juniors to seniors...and it would be observed that there is a constant supply of quality...improving quality players, coaches and administrators;

iii) "brand REGGAE BOYZ" and "REGGAE GIRLZ" would be seen to be MOVING to the TOP OF THE WORLD.;

iv) more of our 'products' ...players (...and, coaches) - naturally coming out of such a system - would receive contracts...improved contracts;

v) then, even 'products' ...players and coaches who did not make it into our national teams would start receiving contracts as the 'finished saleable products' by and of themselves speak to good second and third tier 'products'/players and coaches.

** - Hey, that is similar to how we progress through the education system and life - earlier age-groups...through to older age-groups...through to graduates - University of Higher learning formal and or "University of the Streets"...

*Our players and coaches, etc.

PS: Kindly forgive the order of ** being placed before *
        I have found it difficult to cut and paste sections of a previous post while using our board.

"Certainly the Boxhill led JFF thinks that displaying of product REGGAE BOYZ in best light is a nonsense idea."

What's the TD's role in all of this?

Originally posted by Mac View Post
            Taken from www.jamaicaobserver.com

Boyz beaten 2-1
            Late strike propels Indonesia to victory
            Ian Burnett
            Friday, June 22, 2007

...lost concentration and possession and at this level, such wastefulness hardly goes unpunished.

Telling isn't it? Even at the FIFA ranked 149th level possession is important...
            Last edited by Karl; June 22, 2007, 09:55 AM.

"Certainly the Boxhill led JFF thinks that displaying of product REGGAE BOYZ in best light is a nonsense idea."

What's the TD's role in all of this?
              Well the possibilities are -
              a) The TD thinks the current 'backwards' way of putting best TEAM together is correct...and, his words seems to suggest that...

or,

b) ...like Laza on his first visit - Did not Laza resign or flee from us...take your pick...as he claimed he could not get our best players? - and, Bora is, in public, putting the best face on his not getting what is his desire i.e. best TEAMplayers,

or,

c) the JFF not leading or leading poorly by either i) forcing the 2nd and 3rd tier players on Bora or ii) allowing Bora to force this backwards approach to creating best TEAM or Bora's 'new dispensation' of using poorest players and then building the real TEAM later a method directly opposed to what the FIFA 1 through 25...hell, FIFA 1 - 50 (exclude us if we fall in such a bracket) and many other FAs outside of that FIFA top 50, do?

Hey...the buck stops with the Boxhill led JFF!

Crise! Calculus is a breeze compared to this!

I didn't ask for all the various permutations and combinations, Karl. What, yuh don't want to take a position?

"...Bora is, in public, putting the best face on his not getting what is his desire i.e. best TEAMplayers,..." - where did that come from??! Are you saying Bora is not able to get the players he really wants?

Sure, the buck stops at the president's desk, but if he interferes you will have something else to say. The way I see it, Bora has been given a free reign to do whatever he pleases, and that should be how it goes.

I would appreciate an response that is simple to understand, void of 1)bullets, b) CAPS and iii)numbered/lettered choices.

Thanks!

I don't understand all this consternation...we have a World Class person as TD. We have him for 4 years ?

If Reggaeboyz cannot get to South Africa under Bora den wi juss nuh ready.. it would be kinda silly to second guess Bora fi Reggaboyz failure.. I mean really.. all yuh cyan duh is give a man the tools required to succeed.. if him careless.. well ah juss suh.. at least him cyaan seh him nevah get a good machete...

you can put your trust inna man.

Bora last two jobs were not great by any standard.

Bora have a team, and a country to motivate and him better realise that soon.

Where were you when our local coaches never get a good machete?

you can put your trust inna man.

Bora last two jobs were not great by any standard.

Bora have a team, and a country to motivate and him better realise that soon.
                        Yuh tink Bora know something about this football TD/coach ting ?

or Jamaica is a special project.. a diffrant kinda animal... yuh might be unto something...

Where were you when our local coaches never get a good machete?
                          Um.. the Coach IS the machete..

Local coach dem nuh have di years of grinding and sharpening..

5 of the G6 reps have a white face...

Charity is charity.. business is business... unnastand di difference..

every country is different and as a TD you have to win a few to keep people off your back. Look how quick man a call fi England coach head? You think if Bradley lost 3 games people wouldn't be calling for his head?

Which other coach could not win and the people just say everything is ok?

Bora must be special to rhatid.

every country is different and as a TD you have to win a few to keep people off your back. Look how quick man a call fi England coach head? You think if Bradley lost 3 games people wouldn't be calling for his head?

Which other coach could not win and the people just say everything is ok?

Bora must be special to rhatid.
                              Do you prefer 1-1 and 2-1 losses in a building process or 6-0 and 4-1 at Wembley with yuh 'A' Team ?

Jamaica is di one dat is special.. far as me si... we special bad..