Boyz or who ?

A lot of them had contracts as Gamma said. Even players who didn't play for West Indies. Patrick Patterson I think was playing in Australia before he made West Indies side.

I remember Carl Brissett who was my friend had contract in England even though he never made Jamaica side. Jimmy Adams etc.
    Jimmy was a big bat!
    At one time he was the #1 for the West Indies!

And that is when the decline began

exactly
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Did you just pull a Karl? Impressive

LOL!!!

Dis improvement need fi continue, ah worry bout validity ah jamaican joke dis yah. Ah hope wi yard ballahs dem inspired fi wuk hardah fi get inna di team, dat is di message ah di recent results. Ah dis same coach yah buss Taxi, derefore if yuh display di quality yuh wi get yuh chance

Jimmy was a big bat!
                At one time he was the #1 for the West Indies!
                And Cappo.....Nuh JC Adams im name??

Leadership is in our DNA...even tho we're DEFINITELY not a "cricket school"
                Last edited by Don1; August 11, 2015, 02:10 PM.

Oh lawd...!

Karl, please summarize your post for me....in two sentences or less. I thought you were a member of the party. Don1, myself and you have been promoting "basically" the same idea of incorporating our schools as a vehicle to drive our youth development. We may vary slightly about certain details but the idea is shared among us. Don1 is absolutely correct when he alludes to our penchant for instant success. We are building our house from the roof down when we adopt the SnowaZ first policy.
                    Yes...we are now agreed on the place of schools in development. Any well thought out development program.

Some years ago when I used to watch WI crimcket, before I left Jamaica, before 20/20, I said to a friend of mine that I believe the WICB should stop playing test cricket for about a year and get the guys together in a 3 month training camp. At that time Australia used to train hard prior to a test series. Back then, the idea of WI cricketers training was unheard of because the teams were selected based on raw talent and the team would gather a few days before the start of the match. I understand that the WI team is ranked like 8th in the world now. We did nothing to strengthen our foundation. That's the same with our football.
                    Herein lies the problem...it is nonsense to stop participation with current best TEAM PLAYERS under the guise of "good for development". That position is not logical. It is a nonsense position. So yes, Don1 has wonderful points on development but his insistence that we should ignore some of best...and the preposterous position that youth development is stifled or impossible if we continue to field our best, inclusive of 'foreign balls'...is counter-productive.

*btw - The idea that you had to destroy any idea of 'present' competitive (against top national teams) Reggae Boyz TEAM as prerequisite to engaging in meaningful youth development has been around for a long time.

It is akin to saying for your young...your kids...to progress...you should stop trying to achieve best possible. That is, nonsense!!!

Additional to the above, some years past I listed other reasons why halting our use of 'best players on other fronts is inadvisable. Let me list two of those that I previously listed.

Motivational tools to be used to inspire youth players to realize fullest of potential;

- Access to leagues: Some leagues that are important marketplaces for our qualified youth players have strictures that are tied to success of our Reggae Boyz.

I am sure a search of this forum on the internet will unearth the many posts. ...and careful read of articles on 'the main site' will unearth many others. ...but perhaps more importantly, your own thoughts following on the two examples above shall have you once more...you did in the past...realizing that it is nonsense to, in effect, destroy efforts at the national senior team level as it would impact negatively on any Youth Development Program.

Back then, the idea of WI cricketers training was unheard of because the teams were selected based on raw talent and the team would gather a few days before the start of the match. NOT TRUE WINDIES WAS THE MOST PROFESSIONAL OF TEAMS. CHECK THE FACTS. THESE GUYS WERE PLAYING COUNTY CRICKET PROFESSIONALLY YEAR IN YEAR OUT.

I understand that the WI team is ranked like 8th in the world now. We did nothing to strengthen our foundation. THIS IS CORRECT WICB THOUGHT ENGLAND WOULD ALWAYS BE THERE TO DEVELOPE OUR CRICKET. THEY WISED UP AND CAME UP WITH RULES AIMED AT RESTRICTING WEST INDIAN PARTICIPATION NOT DISSIMILAR TO WHAT IS NOW BEING DONE WITH FOOTBALL
                      Thank you, boss!

So yes, Don1 has wonderful points on development but his insistence that we should ignore some of best...and the preposterous position that youth development is stifled or impossible if we continue to field our best, inclusive of 'foreign balls'...is counter-productive.
                        Karl...some questions:

Was Bibi at 16 y.o. "the best" local-based Jamaican or UB40 possible at wing back/ left midfield for JA in 1996???
                        Or was he chosen on "potential" and groomed in that position by Simoes??

In line with your "perfect player" theory...we should have spared no effort to get a better player...yes?

In fact...why should ANY local player be in the squad at ANY time??

Surely they're MANY English journeymen around who are "better" than ANY local...yes?

Why not have an All-English squad??

Careful now...a truthful answer will expose your specious "best player" argument for the FOLLY it is... Betta yuh lie
                        Last edited by Don1; August 11, 2015, 04:23 PM.

What sort of data would they need to put up to prove its a foreign team? Have you heard how dem talk? Kmt
                          Our last Gold Cup - (OK! ...some will say "Well some will say, "this Gold TEAM") - data has been released by that TEAM's manager and it stated that the mix of players were majority 'locals'. If being in professional leagues outside of the island had some of those locals 'twangin' that does not change the data. Right?

Oh lawd...!
                            Mi hope yuh naw call HIM name in vain

We had a glimpse of hope when we played the last Gold Cup but....

Karl...some questions:

Was Bibi at 16 y.o. "the best" local-based Jamaican or UB40 possible at wing back/ left midfield for JA in 1996???
                                Or was he chosen on "potential" and groomed in that position by Simoes??
                                He was our best!
                                ...it took a 'football man' such as Simoes to recognize that he played simple sensible football and had very, very good pace and fast feet!

Most others thought he was mere potential! Fact was he was our best!

In line with your "perfect player" theory...we should have spared no effort to get a better player...yes?

In fact...why should ANY local player be in the squad at ANY time??
                                You really think we did not look?
                                We did and could find none better that was AVAILABLE!

Let me go down your path: If there was a better player available perhaps Bibi would not have "made it"...but could not the same be said whether or not that better player was inside Jamaica?

I always speak of our best...within context of 'best available'. The path you go down leads nowhere (in context of logic).

Surely they're MANY English journeymen around who are "better" than ANY local...yes?
                                They were not available!

Why not have an All-English squad??
                                As I have stated, you are new to this discussion. I have stated that even in the face of 'best' development program being in operation, in the future we could have 'ALL FOREIGN' (in context of our=The Massive's definition of Farin). Hardly likely but it is a possibility. ...and if that is our 'best' then 'play them'. Sure as night follows day there will be TEAMs that are all locals...and that shall surely occur more often than an all farin and that is being discussed in context of 'best' development program!

Careful now...a truthful answer will expose your specious "best player" argument for the FOLLY it is... Betta yuh lie
                                ...as said, you are a neophyte!

Look, my friend, Don1: no disrespect intended...but as fact, I have delved deeply into organization of a YOUTH DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM for Jamaica. This site is up since 2000...and for those 15+ years I have been promoting YOUTH DEVELOPMENT and NATIONAL TEAMs DEVELOPMENT (age-group through National Senior TEAMs - yes, our male and female TEAMs).

I think you shall find that I have addressed just about every single aspect of what it will take to get us on FORWARD to THE TOP OF THE WORLD! ...at its root is maximizing economic opportunities for greatest benefit to our people.

...just as I think our education system should be doing!!!! Teach it well! Teach it right! Utilize our resources - human and other - to greatest potential such to maximize on numbers (of our citizens) we take forward. That must entail leverage of all our resources inside and outside of the island.