• Madrid officials to discuss academy plans next week

From www.jamaica-gleaner.com

Madrid officials to discuss academy plans next week
    published: Thursday | June 21, 2007

Jamaica's football could be boosted by the building of another football academy, when Real Madrid special advisor Manuel Velazquez and director general Carlos Abella arrive here next week to discuss the plan with the Spanish-Jamaican Foundation.

Both men are expected to arrive on June 24 for a three-day visit, and during this time they are expected to sign a Declaration of Intent with the Spanish Jamaica Foundation.

The Spanish Jamaica Foundation was formed by Spanish groups currently investing in Jamaica.

The proposed site for the academy is currently Rose Hall on land donated by Mrs. Michelle Rollins, chairman of Rose Hall Development Limited.

The proposed academy, which is expected to be managed by former national goalkeeper Aaron Lawrence, will be modelled on Real Madrid Foundation Schools of Social Integration.

Similar academies have already been established in several Latin American countries, including Mexico and Uruguay.

Opportunities
    The academy is also expected to provide opportunities for education, vocational training, psychological assistance and medical care.
    While here, the officials will meet with the executive board members of the Spanish-Jamaican Foundation and selected members of the local football fraternity.

The representatives of the club, crowned Spanish La Liga champions this year, will pay a courtesy call on the Governor-General, Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, who paid a visit to the Real Madrid club back in March, Leader of the Opposition and relevant personalities of the Jamaican society. The Ambassador of Spain will also host a reception in honour of the visiting delegation on June 27, at 7:00 p.m., at his residence in Norbrook.
    Last edited by Tilla; June 21, 2007, 12:39 PM.

Ahbwoy. Academy and Tourism is the right mix, pity JFF didn't have the damn insight.

When I spoke many laugh but vision is a hell of a thing.

Where does it mention that this academy has some sort of tourism connection?

You see the involvement of Michelle Rollins?

Wait and you will see how an academy that is properly run in Mobay will surpase the JFFs

And Rollins is who?

Couldn't care less if it surpasses the JFF's. I didn't expect the JFF to have the mother of all academies.

Rollins is the owner of Ritz Carlton

So? The fact is Michelle Rollins practically owns the whole stretch of beachfront property from Half Moon down to Rose Hall. She is a big land owner, so if anyone wants to build anything in the vicinity, it's quite likely you will have to talk to her.

Not saying that tourism is not involved in the academy, but you cannot assume that from the article or from the fact that the land is owned by Rollins.

Mo the only sad thing about that piece a land is PJ hand that prime real estate to the Rollins without a fight after them block aid to Ja under Seaga. Where is Chavez when you need him?

Yuh sure di Rollins dem never have that land from di 70's?

It was disputed vigourously in the 80s as they paid no taxes and the government sieze the land. The Rollins even went to Reagan who sho suspended aid to Ja because of the dispute. One of the first thing PJ did when the PNP came to power was give the land to them for nothing.

I don't know the full extent of the dispute but if we had good journalists we would know.

Where is Ben J when we need him? Because he is slowly taking over the role as the "credible" forum reporter.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It was disputed vigourously in the 80s as they paid no taxes and the government sieze the land. The Rollins even went to Reagan who sho suspended aid to Ja because of the dispute. One of the first thing PJ did when the PNP came to power was give the land to them for nothing.

I don't know the full extent of the dispute but if we had good journalists we would know.
                        Clap yuhself Sass ... thats a good summary!

Wait .. a di football forum dis ...errm ... suh we lost di game?

Well if that's the case call PJ a
                          grand chess master. I will say nothing more

Yes, I remember the dispute, not necessarily as you have described it. I was just saying they owned the land from the 70s, if not earlier.

Where does it mention that this academy has some sort of tourism connection?
                              You put this up -
                              Real Madrid wants to forge ties with Jamaica
                              Mosiah
                              March 8th, 2007 11:41 PM
                              by Mosiah

...and, there is an article on site where some reporter tried to get Aaron Lawrence to give more details. If I am remembering correctly Aaron "Wild Boy" Lawrence said that he would only say talks were taking place.