Moses urges businesses to take ownership of football clubs

I did not play - I coached Franklin D Resort for three games in 1993. We lost all 3 games. The discipline was ridiculous. There was no sense or concept of what training was about. All the fellows were of the mindset where "brucking" and "being a shotta" was the extent of their understanding. A big problem I had was that more than half the team was illiterate, not something to be underestimated. This was a shock to me b/c I handed out a written plan only to find out that they couldn't read. Big problems when the basics aren't there.
    Wow!

I have a lot of respect for anyone who takes up coaching, esp. in such trying conditions.

yes it is different. The Cricket league is more of a semi pro league as the hotels get the best players in Jamaica. pay them and give them housing for a few months and mix them with workers.

You would expect the businesses to hire professionals to take it to the next level but as we agree the transition is not going to be easy at all if there is one.

Wow!

I have a lot of respect for anyone who takes up coaching, esp. in such trying conditions.
        You just don't know how hard I try NOT to laugh at some of your comments...

LOL!!! sorry fi you man but I know how it is. Some a di man dem ruff. HEART wasn't the most talented buy disciplined and fit so we were able to compete and surprise for the same reason you spoke about. Couples, Mallards Beach had decent teams.

This seems to me to be a ridiculous idea. Most businesses of the type I think he is referring to have core competencies that are outside the realm of football. If you as an investor put your hard earned money into a construction company, or a manufacturer, how is management's investment into buying a football club aligned with my interests as a shareholder? Unless there is some magic formula that I am not aware of, a business owning a football club would be nothing but a management distraction unless the business was already in the sports and entertainment field. Unu wheel an' tun wid a new idea.

So me say too.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what as Puggie's real name. yuh remember?

No, I don't know but he was well known in those part of St.Ann.

wonder if is the same one I know? he used to play for clarendon college?

Could be because a lot of graduates from Clarendon College played in the hotel league.

he was a semi demi legend ...he is still on the north coast if it is the same person

Wha mi seh now?!?

I think I heard he was now a ref, but certainly he left an impression on me. LOL!!!!

you mean like a youth academy system? I see Craig Butler do what nobody else in Jamaica has been able to do

"about to do..."

he was at Genk before & at a Slovakian club now...so he has "already done" what nobody else has been able to achieve...