The whole backline to me ,they covered each other well.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Hector is still clueless going forward. But his defensive skills are excellent - reads the game well, doesn't panic, heads well, enthusiastic and tireless.
He appears to me a little immature sometimes, but in a good way. Him nah watch nuh face, literally! Whoever he's up against he's going to challenge and defeat.
His attacking skills will develop over time. He won't become Beckenbauer or even Alvas any time soon, but he will be able to start the attack in more humble ways.
Hector is still clueless going forward. But his defensive skills are excellent - reads the game well, doesn't panic, heads well, enthusiastic and tireless.
He appears to me a little immature sometimes, but in a good way. Him nah watch nuh face, literally! Whoever he's up against he's going to challenge and defeat.
His attacking skills will develop over time. He won't become Beckenbauer or even Alvas any time soon, but he will be able to start the attack in more humble ways.
Thank you Sir, Arsene Wenger don't normally stand around and wait for opposition players to shake their hands and he done that with this young man!!
Funny enough the things you are pointing out as his weaknesses are is strengths and will come to the fore the more settled he gets at 22 he has the potential to be an excellent player.
Sort of a situation like with Taxi, whose strengths are now being spoken about as a weakness.
Hey, Hector could have been given clear instructions not to go forward, so he looks like he can't do it. Godda can certainly start the game from the back, but clearly the coach does not want him to. Afterall, it's not just him who goes long with freekicks from deep in our half.
So, I wouldn't be surprised if Hector is indeed capable of going forward effectively. But so far he has not shown that.
His age is always on my mind when I see him play. And he still has a long way to go. He will be awesome by the time we get to Russia!
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I "come around" only when my football senses tell me it's time. I never wait for "expert opinions", or Dunny's to tell me which player good or who a rucks!
Godda can certainly start the game from the back, but clearly the coach does not want him to. Afterall, it's not just him who goes long with freekicks from deep in our half.
I hope that is th3 case with Thompson.
I still cannot understand why with all the Hatian players going back into their own half expecting 20th e long punt from the goalkeeper, you still force our possession to a 50/50 with the oponent. It was a part of the reason why Haiti dominated possession throughout the whole game.
I might have missed it, but cannot recall once Thompson did a short pass when he got his hand on the ball. Hopefully someone can correct me on this.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I "come around" only when my football senses tell me it's time.
If you snooze, you lose. Can't be too slow to realize talent when it is staring you in the face.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I appreciate your point of view, but the record will show that I have recognised talent time and time again, long before it is proven by a national call-up or a big contract. Opinions to the contrary would have been way off base or straight up badmind!
I do believe I can discern attacking talent quicker than the defenders. But perhaps we should consider why our defenders are being spoken about more than anything else. This is not a good thing. Fact is our attacking players are woeful. Think Simon Dawkins. Maybe I am also late in picking up on Simon's latent talent. But when your defence line has been coming under a blitzkrieg, then the defenders will either step up or die. Ours have stepped up, some more than others, or we would have lost our last 2 matches 3-1.
Had our team being matching up with the opposition with regards to ball possession, instead of playing defence for 80% of the match, maybe I still would not be talking highly of Hector. His tendency to give away the ball under less-than-challenging situations was a concern of mine in easier games, and remains a concern.
I thought he starts counters well. My only negative is to dispel the comparrison to Rio Ferdinand because i dont see that comfortable first touch under pressure..