Hector has had much more time on the field than he has. In fact, I had even forgotten that Alvas was even there!
What's this about Powell
Originally posted by Karl View PostYou raise an interesting point.
The coach reacted appropriately. Frankly in the middle of a tournament his responsibilites to each of his TEAM members, the unit TEAM, his employers and the Nation he had no other option.
However, after being floored on hearing of Alvas Powell's action...I am thinking, there must be his personal rational explanation. Whether or not there is eventually,
a full explanation? One can only hope that will occur. I can think of only one sensible explanation for his act and that lies with what he sees as his immediate and future financial well-being as communicated to him by his employers and his 'handlers'.
From my knowledge of the player, he does not have the ken to make such a decision.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostIs he a local player?
Jamaica have lumberjack industry now?!
So again I ask the question...does this help or hurt the perception of the local player when Powell's walks out on the team? What must we think when you defend his actions as an appropriate response to the team having english born jamaicans currently ahead of him in the pecking order? (not that I agree with that pecking order)
I think it hurts the perception of the jamaican player immensely. How come no other team in this tournament has players walking out on them outside of cubans defecting? You'd think if this was a professional way of handling oneself more players would be doing the same. Wrapping up Powell abandoning the team into some moral/ethical we nuh beg no guy nonsense just makes us look like a joke frankly. It's seriously one of the things that turns me off of Jamaican football. The rank amateurism of it all. Thought we might be have been turning a corner on this the last few years. Guess I was wrong. Same crap different day with this foolishness.No need to thank me forumites.
That would be rather selfish of you.
Powell team didn't allow him to go to Copa and Winnie never complain.
Marriappa playing the right back and doing good, Taylor Established himself in the center back. Powell got 20 minutes and one chance.
His Mama need to drape him up and bring him back. Where is he going?
Good young balla but the attitude need to change. Look at a player like Ryan Thompson, and Jermaine Taylor who sat behind and wait on their time.
Doing more damage to your career and putting yourself in controversy for a young player who have a bright future and just playing MLS for an acceptable salary is not very wise, if you ask me.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
As you all know i am not a supporter of the 'snow balla' philosophy. that being said I unreservedly condemn Powell's actions. He may have potential but he is no superstar now and may never be and even if he were his actions would be no less unacceptable. Even though he could be a better option than others the time to deal with any frustration is after the tournament. If he felt that if dem naw play mi mi naw stay he should have declined the invitation in the first place. This is what happens when one reads press clippings and gets delusional. I wish him well in Real Madrid oh my bad, he plays in PORTLAND he can now work on his passing accuracy and other things which are sorely lacking in his game.
Sheet!!! at least Walter Boyd had F C U K ing talent. good riddance.
X, stop it!
There is nothing about broken limb in this. We were trailing Mexico by 4-0 I think it was and when Simoes decided to send on Lowe as a sub, he told his coach he was not going out there to defend any 4-0. We have him in an interview where he stated his position for us. It never had anything to do with any injury.
If I had the time I would find the full interview that was conducted by Ohene and Ranger when Lowe was forgiven and brought back into the squad."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by X View PostTilla & T.K unnuh a bredda , because Jah know a caan differentiate unnuh, anyway,Nandi was asked after breaking his hand if he wanted to come off the field ?
* Powell had no limbs broken
* Powell was not asked if he wanted off the field, in fact he was given oppourtunity to grace the field as a sub.
Nuff difference!No need to thank me forumites.
2 di hard way , well seeing that I was a youth then like Lowe and I wasnt privy to Ohene interview , I would have to see that to believe that , but if a suh.
Rene right fi ban im and mek im beg im way back.That said Powell frig im carear im affi beg it back .THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Definitely not backbone, maybe brittle bone or extremely sensitive!
When our teams can truly make the jump to sacrifice for the team is when we will go to the next level, this level of bailout is unprecedented, just think back to even your local team and a man bail pon the team, everybody screw fah that, this Nuh different.
The very basis of everything we learn say that.
James 1:12. Have to get back to the very foundation here.
Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.
Originally posted by Me View PostWhen Taylor get injured is Hector him draw for as the next to start, not the man who was the most dominant defender in the Caribbean Cup tournament. So next game, that mean watch Hector from the bench.
Now yuh ave mi a think , our papers are known to get it wrong.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
"From my knowledge of the player, he does not have the ken to make such a decision."
So who made it for him???- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.