Best passer/ creator in Jamaican game today!

• Best passer/ creator in Jamaican game today!

How can we tell, we have no way of measuring passing quality or assist on goals, if you don't measure it how can you expect to develop the talent in that regard.

I hear people talking about the various talent we have produced and giving all kind of excuse why they did not become the next Pirlo, the bottom line is if you can't produce consistently you can't make it professionally, thus Andy Williams remains our only actual example of a creative midfield who actually made a profession of it in a real pro league, you know one where the club survives on making a surplus between revenue and cost.

I even hear stone say that we don't create passers because pro clubs only pick other positions talk about drawing the wrong conclusion, clubs pick what creates the greatest value proposition for them, they are looking at best players within a class of pay, thus our football culture produces best those things that we do best, defense and attack, we have shown no creative ability even in the simplest of competitions, it is speed, strength and obe on one open field dribbling skill, there is very little about creating for others and this really shows when we play very good opposition we have no clue how to move the ball against good defenses, thus the issue becomes creating the best situations to take advantage of speed, strength and one on one open field skill, thus jamaica plays superior opposition well when they are attacking us consistently and we can produce chances to steal and counter when their defense has to transition, problem is we have no really good finishers or even half decent creators to push the balls down the flank or middle to take advantage of speed mismatches like in the Paraguay game.

Tappa came pretty close, second to Andy in my book but was only able to make it to a secondary league and even there his production was not remarkable or even league significant.

Jamaican football as it stands produces good defenders, speed and strength and tenacious tendencies, we produce ok dm"s, we produce good wingers and flank mids, we produce ok goal scorers, we are good at things that require speed and strength, attacking and destroying, we are poor at building and creating for others as is replete throughout our entire culture, we have an opportunity through football funnily enough to influence culture on ideas about team, discipline and hardwork through teams building off the stacking team concept, however first things first can we start setting goals on passing and assists and start the process of building an assist and pass culture, with the evolution of that with what we already have the sky is the limit.
    Last edited by Stonigut; July 3, 2015, 01:10 PM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    How can we tell, we have no way of measuring passing quality or assist on goals, if you don't measure it how can you expect to develop the talent in that regard.

I hear people talking about the various talent we have produced and giving all kind of excuse why they did not become the next Pirlo, the bottom line is if you can't produce consistently you can't make it professionally, thus Andy Williams remains our only actual example of a creative midfield who actually made a profession of it in a real pro league, you know one where the club survives on making a surplus between revenue and cost.

I even hear stone say that we don't create passers because pro clubs only pick other positions talk about drawing the wrong conclusion, clubs pick what creates the greatest value proposition for them, they are looking at best players within a class of pay, thus our football culture produces best those things that we do best, defense and attack, we have shown no creative ability even in the simplest of competitions, it is speed, strength and obe on one open field dribbling skill, there is very little about creating for others and this really shows when we play very good opposition we have no clue how to move the ball against good defenses, thus the issue becomes creating the best situations to take advantage of speed, strength and one on one open field skill, thus jamaica plays superior opposition well when they are attacking us consistently and we can produce chances to steal and counter when their defense has to transition, problem is we have no really good finishers or even half decent creators to push the balls down the flank or middle to take advantage of speed mismatches like in the Paraguay game.

Tappa came pretty close, second to Andy in my book but was only able to make it to a secondary league and even there his production was not remarkable or even league significant.

Jamaican football as it stands produces good defenders, speed and strength and tenacious tendencies, we produce ok dm"s, we produce good wingers and flank mids, we produce ok goal scorers, we are good at things that require speed and strength, attacking and destroying, we are poor at building and creating for others as is replete throughout our entire culture, we have an opportunity through football funnily enough to influence culture on ideas about team, discipline and hardwork through teams building off the stacking team concept, however first things first can we start setting goals on passing and assists and start the process of building an assist and pass culture, with the evolution of that with what we already have the sky is the limit.
    So what are the specific goals on passing and assists? The criteria have to be set. Are we saying x no. of passes with y percent accuracy? What kind of passes? forward? lateral? greater than x metres? etc etc AND then, who does the measuring? Having asked these questions let me try to answer

I suspect with the right software these parameters and whatever you want can be set. Correct? All you have to do is record the games.

BTW, here is another question: At what age group does this start?

Well let's start with the very lowest hanging fruit with the least amount of labor and the greatest benefit.

The assist, the last guy to pass the ball to the scorer, we should be able to figure that out with not too much more labor cost and process change at every single league level from prep/ primary/all age to Rspl. Next step would be to record every single rspl game and a Rspl statistician team dissecting the tape for that detail, number of shots, shots on goal, saves, passes attempted, passes made etc etc adding that second step at other levels would be overkill. The focus on the assist and recognition such as top assist for season or multiple assist for games could be recognized as master creator along with game MVP could be a sponsorship opportunity right there.

I would have to say me!

And nobody could categorically say no!

Which is the very reason we have endless debates on players who are slow, lazy habits, not reactive in the least on the defensive side and done people believe they are the best thing since sliced bread even though their actual production or lack of it should disqualify them from consideration, if we measured the assist we would probably actually find that the rspl player with the most assists nobody would probably even see. Much like we had a few years ago with Michael Campbell from BT who I remember had ten goals and he said just as many assists but could not even get a look on the national squad.

Jermaine Hue

By what measure?

It is just a simple fact. World class passer, excellent creator.

Why do I feel like I just get diss?

Which Michael Campbell,the one that attended Excelsior?

Jevaughn Watson....

Exactly, I know some sprinters that have world class form and excellent mechanics and they can do 11.5 on the 100 meters, problem is that because track is a sport that measures everything those guys wouldn't make it pass the most basic Jaaa meet. Should be same with ball, we don't need creative or central midfielders who can't create goals aplenty.

That is why much as I didn't like Andy Williams defensive skills and speed, he was a producer and in his time in Mls was a creator the likes of which we have not seen on the rock, ever!!!!!

When will we ever see a midfielder that can control the rhythm of the attack and actually contribute 15 to 20 assists in a rspl season, even two digits would be good. Please no more central midfielder who cannot produce results.

No diss brethren, you are in contention! The criteria is well wide.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                            Exactly, I know some sprinters that have world class form and excellent mechanics and they can do 11.5 on the 100 meters, problem is that because track is a sport that measures everything those guys wouldn't make it pass the most basic Jaaa meet. Should be same with ball, we don't need creative or central midfielders who can't create goals aplenty.

That is why much as I didn't like Andy Williams defensive skills and speed, he was a producer and in his time in Mls was a creator the likes of which we have not seen on the rock, ever!!!!!

When will we ever see a midfielder that can control the rhythm of the attack and actually contribute 15 to 20 assists in a rspl season, even two digits would be good. Please no more central midfielder who cannot produce results.
                            Yuh deaf? JERMAINE HUE!

I don't need the stats to prove his assists o the accuracy of his passes. I saw them every week.

Anyway, my apologies. Maestro has retired. Let's talk current ballers.

You did it again!! 😄😄😄😄