HL!!! Have you seen the attendance for

And that is what they are doing. They are not increasing fast enough, but the reality is the caliber of players being signed by the league is increasing.
    The Europeans and Mexicans are now trying to pick off MLS players, whereas before, the good ones for the most part were too old.

That dump.....
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by USAF View Post
        The salary cap is a measly $3.5M (not including the DPs) & increases by just $220,000/year - this was agreed to in the new CBA which expires 2020.......The players association needs to get negotiating advice from the NBAPA.

I support the salary cap, because it allows for parity & it is up to scouting and coaching to be successful and win, BUT I think that cap should be at least $7M by now.

NOTE: There was a meeting shortly after the CONCACAF Gold Cup & the owners questioned whether they shouldn't seek to raise the cap & add 1 or 2 more DP spots, so we'll see what happens.
        It will increase USAF. Owners like to be in control. ................

That dump.....
          That dump of awesomeness is what you meant to type.

Watching the Red Bulls-NYFC game this weekend made me think of you Jangle and your waggonist ways lol. You decide who you're supporting yet? Or has the Red Bulls two wins over the Farm Team made your choice easier? I remember you said you only support winners.

As well as diminished revenue...
            The problem is that when you get to th ebottom of the table, you get rewarded with a first round draft pick. The European model make sure if you fail, you get juk! That's the way it is supposed to be.

Thank goodness the MLS is about parity, so that every year a team have a chance unless them have Kevin Payne running things or the Chivas crew.

I think I'll stick with the Red Cows....ermm....I mean Red Bulls. The other one is was spawned by that Sh!tty team across the pond.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Every team gets a 1st round draft pick.......If you're talking about the 1st pick or a top pick of the draft, that's not a reward, because I've never seen a top draft pick come in & dominate or immediately change the fortunes of their team........There are top picks who are struggling to make their starting 11 & some who are playing reserve team/USL soccer, and that's after 2+ years after being drafted.

Relegation will not be a part of MLS.........And what's so exciting about relegation when you pretty much know which teams are going to be struggling, before the season kicks off???.......The. teams with DEEP pockets are going to be at the top, and those with less money & the newly promoted will be struggling to keep pace........What's new???

This what promotion and relegation to and from the EPL is worth. This is why all teams fight tooth and nails to stay up. Why fight for a draw in the MLS if you are not going anywhere and your money is secured?

How much is Premier League promotion worth?

Norwich's play-off final win has earned them at least £80m - and that could more than double if they stay up in the Premier League next season.
                      Even if Norwich were relegated in 2015/16 they would still receive prize money and TV revenue, plus £24m, £19.2m, and £9.6m in the following three campaigns in parachute payments.
                      With a new broadcast deal coming into place in 2016/17, if Norwich can stay up they could earn at least £180m.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/n...romotion-worth

the thing is for a young league MLS format is a lot more stable than say EPL. MLS needs to build not only leagues but teams as well. You could find that if it a promotion thing you could have 3 or 4 teams in NY in the MLS.

Same thing with the Jamaican Premier League where most of the teams are in Kingston/St.Andrew/Portmore. You think if you had a team in St. Elizabeth, Manchester, St. Ann, and Portland, you would get more attendance to the league itself?

with the yearly expansion of the MLS, it will eventually make sense to have a tiered league. They plan to have 24 by 2020. They can increase that number to 30 easily and split it.

They may eventually do but that means that not all teams will play each other. There would mostly be conference game as in the NFL.

Don't like that but more teams will make the league stronger.

Relegation will NEVER be a part of MLS.........You can't take an investor's $100+M to have a MLS franchise & then later you form a league below that & tell that MLS investor that his franchise is relegated to that lower league.........The league would be sued.

Plus, relegation & promotion is not a part of U.S. professional sports culture..........NBA, MLB, NHL, each has 30 teams, and NFL has 32, with no relegation/promotion system........Check the sponsorship, TV broadcast & attendance of the NASL & USL, and you'll see why NO MLS franchise would agree to a promotion/relegation system.........The best supported NASL teams, with the exception of Cosmos (and I give them 3 years before they follow), are fighting to enter MLS, along with the reigning USL champs.

You're going to see 3 NY teams without a promotion/relegation system when Cosmos realizes that NASL can't provide the same support, exposure & money as MLS.........I give them 3 years.