HL!!! Have you seen the attendance for

• HL!!! Have you seen the attendance for

last night's MLS California Classico between LA Galaxy & San Jose Earthquakes???..........They had a sellout crowd of 50,422 at Stanford Stadium.

Wonder how many will attend today's Gotham matchup between NYCFC & NYRB

Truly amazing.

I recall in the early 20th ' when I went to all Metrostars game, the average was 20-25 k. MLS since inception has been growing steadily; much to the disappointment of a few on this forum.

48,047 for the NYCFC/NYRB game.

Europe is taking notice.

The American business model for sports including soccer. ..is superior to the European system.

Every place has to do what's right for them.........MLS chose to follow the model that has worked for the NBA & NFL.

Need not remind you that USA plays Guatemala 0n Friday 3rd in Nashville, Tennessee.

It's about a 3.5 (or so) hour drive...

I am working on some important business that needs my attention; so i will just tape and watch that game.

A part of that model is salary caps... how long will that stay where the level now is?

Recall I quoted: "it's not what's fair...it's what's negotiable'

The salary cap is a measly $3.5M (not including the DPs) & increases by just $220,000/year - this was agreed to in the new CBA which expires 2020.......The players association needs to get negotiating advice from the NBAPA.

I support the salary cap, because it allows for parity & it is up to scouting and coaching to be successful and win, BUT I think that cap should be at least $7M by now.

NOTE: There was a meeting shortly after the CONCACAF Gold Cup & the owners questioned whether they shouldn't seek to raise the cap & add 1 or 2 more DP spots, so we'll see what happens.

HL, Please refer to USAF's response to my comment on the salary cap. Good information! With the league gaining in popularity based on the attendance figures USAF quoted, and the quality of football also improving ( I would like to think), one way to attract even more skilled players (and so continue to make the league better), as opposed to taking what Europe (in particular) has rejected, is to start paying more competitive salaries.

Europe is taking notice.

The American business model for sports including soccer. ..is superior to the European system.
                      Superior? For who? Certainly not the fans who have to pay out their a-hole for what should be a 50c soda at a ball park. And second, no relegation in American sports makes that end of the table BORING. When you see a baseball team entering into September 20 games behind a playoff spot, you are guaranteed an empty stadium...that's not the case in Europe. The difference between the two system is that the American model is a mafia business...not so much in Europe...thanks to relegation.

And second, no relegation in American sports makes that end of the table BORING.
                        You're not suppose to have fun at the end of the table. Boredom is the penalty for sucking.

As well as diminished revenue...

Peter mek it diminish yes. Then we can contract teams like the Red Bulls and the new Atlanta team coming. I won't be happy until DC United is the only team left in the MLS. One League...With One Team!

Superior? For who? Certainly not the fans who have to pay out their a-hole for what should be a 50c soda at a ball park. And second, no relegation in American sports makes that end of the table BORING. When you see a baseball team entering into September 20 games behind a playoff spot, you are guaranteed an empty stadium...that's not the case in Europe. The difference between the two system is that the American model is a mafia business...not so much in Europe...thanks to relegation.
                              This does't make any sense as far as the MLS is concerned. The end of the MLS season is no more boring than that of Europe. The mere structure of MLS lends itself to the teams having more parity than almost any European League. And the end of the season, you are lucky if you find one team that is eliminated from the playoffs well in advance of the end of the season.
                              If you are counting the number of teams fighting to get into the playoffs alone, it is usually more than what is happening in La Liga or the EPL.

The American model maybe trying to act like the mafia, the European teams are the mafia.