• Football IQ Test

No trick questions here...but your answer may have tricky implications

What should be the #1 Mission of Jamaican football??

1. Putting "the best" available players on the pitch in Jamaica's national games at all times

2. Qualifying for or trying our best to qualify for "the next World Cup" by any allowable means

3. Developing our talent, clubs & infrastructure so Jamaica has a viable & sustainable "football industry"

4. None of the above

No. 3

No. 3
      Ok...But that answer has the trickiest implications of them all

Mi nuh tink most ites should choose dat atall...It exposes them to severe jeopardy
      Last edited by Don1; June 25, 2015, 09:21 AM.

Number five, all of the above. Unfortunately this is not a business where you can meet only one thing in a poor, cash starved program you have to cobble all the pieces together. You did say number 1 mission, so I will just go ahead and select number two as without funds you cannot sustain anything and the best way to propel is to get immediate results and involvement which then allows you to do number three, we have been down this road before and totally failed due to poor management as you have pointed out a million times.

How much you going give me on the test Teacha Don?

Stoni you're experiencing an epic logic fail.

The #2 answer reveals a very shallow, myopic thinker who doesn't learn even from 17 years of failure

We've followed that course since 1998...and the results are pathetic. No WCQ...and No sustainable development system...

i.e. The WORST of all worlds

Sorry...epic fail
          Last edited by Don1; June 25, 2015, 09:23 AM.

Hahaha, you are the very best bredrin consistent like Ceasar himself, like the northern star locked in its place in the firmament.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Hahaha, you are the very best bredrin consistent like Ceasar himself, like the northern star locked in its place in the firmament.
              LOL....Wi nuh deal wid dat Northern star ting... Babylon dat

Black Star Liner wi seh

When you say "mission" you have to be careful to define it. Jim Collins created a "Vision Framework" model consisting of two segments (Core Ideology and Envisioned Future). The Core Ideology is comprised of a "Core Purpose" and a set of "Core Values". The "Core Purpose" is something that is part of the organization's "DNA"- it will survive the test of time. For example, Walmart's Core Purpose is "to make it possible for ordinary people to buy the same things that rich people can buy"...Disney's Core Purpose is "To make people happy". Core values are reflective of who we are as an organization, and the principles we believe need to be upheld to sustain our Core Purpose.

The Envisioned Future consists of a "Mission" (sometimes called "big hairy audacious goal" or "BHAG" for short), and "Vivid Descriptions". The BHAG is usually a 10-25 year objective with a clearly defined time frame and easy to understand outcome, e.g. "put a man on the moon by the end of the decade." Vivid Descriptions are examples of what life would be like if we accomplish the Mission.

So being that I am a student and disciple of Collins model, seeing "Mission Statements" without knowing the Core Ideology of an organization is difficult for me to to understand and would therefore respectfully ask:

What is the JFF's Core Purpose? And what are its Core Values? Then we can start talking about Mission. And that said, (depending on the Core Ideology) it is entirely acceptable to have a Mission such as "Qualify for the World Cup by 2022"). Also, #3 ("Developing our talent, clubs & infrastructure so Jamaica has a viable & sustainable "football industry"") sounds more like a Core Purpose than a mission as there is no defined time frame or defined outcome - it is a general "reason for being". I hope this makes sense.

Agree with Stoni , if it was on the choice list , seeing that its not # 3 .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

When you say "mission" you have to be careful to define it. Jim Collins created a "Vision Framework" model consisting of two segments (Core Ideology and Envisioned Future). The Core Ideology is comprised of a "Core Purpose" and a set of "Core Values". The "Core Purpose" is something that is part of the organization's "DNA"- it will survive the test of time. For example, Walmart's Core Purpose is "to make it possible for ordinary people to buy the same things that rich people can buy"...Disney's Core Purpose is "To make people happy". Core values are reflective of who we are as an organization, and the principles we believe need to be upheld to sustain our Core Purpose.

The Envisioned Future consists of a "Mission" (sometimes called "big hairy audacious goal" or "BHAG" for short), and "Vivid Descriptions". The BHAG is usually a 10-25 year objective with a clearly defined time frame and easy to understand outcome, e.g. "put a man on the moon by the end of the decade." Vivid Descriptions are examples of what life would be like if we accomplish the Mission.

So being that I am a student and disciple of Collins model, seeing "Mission Statements" without knowing the Core Ideology of an organization is difficult for me to to understand and would therefore respectfully ask:

What is the JFF's Core Purpose? And what are its Core Values? Then we can start talking about Mission. And that said, (depending on the Core Ideology) it is entirely acceptable to have a Mission such as "Qualify for the World Cup by 2022"). Also, #3 ("Developing our talent, clubs & infrastructure so Jamaica has a viable & sustainable "football industry"") sounds more like a Core Purpose than a mission as there is no defined time frame or defined outcome - it is a general "reason for being". I hope this makes sense.

This of course makes eminent sense.

However for the level of debate in this particular forum....it's far too profound. Were we to follow this construct...we would be yappin' interminably re this issue for years (even moreso than occurs now if that's imaginable )

So to avoid some of the tangential yappin...Let's distill the issue contextually like this:

Given that JA football is characterized by...

(a) The lack of a structured development system
                    (b) Very poor play by clubs with woeful infrastructure
                    (c) Youths with massive potential.... but abysmal technical & tactical training
                    (d) Our available resources are limited to the point of being ridiculous....so prioritization is paramount
                    (e) The current strategies have been an abysmal failure at WCQ for 17 years.. WCQ the obvious focus in that period
                    (f) Our only senior WCQ was with mostly local players...and that brilliantly popular WCQ DID NOT spark any appreciable development effort

What should be the PRIMARY OBJECTIVE or the MOST DESIRABLE OUTCOME of Jamaican football (in the context of its woefully backward state) say...within any 8 year period.
                    For the sake of clarity of argument let's treat the choices below as mutually exclusive (even though they may indeed be related )

1. Use any & all available means to try to qualify for whatever the "next World Cup" may be

or

2. Try our best to create a sustainable football industry where our kids are well trained and our clubs are on a path to viability???

Which policy path would you favor?
                    Last edited by Don1; June 25, 2015, 12:36 PM.

Yuh nuh waan yap wid Paul ...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Agree with Stoni , if it was on the choice list , seeing that its not # 3 .
                        I guess it's human nature to want everything. Sadly that's generally impossible... wussa wen yuh ah bruk pakit

3 so that 1

Ouch..lol

3 so that 1
                              I like that sequence. Currently we are moving in the reverse