Schafer calls for greater support

• Schafer calls for greater support

Jamaica's head coach has called for greater support........

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2015...s/sports1.html

He also says

"We can only learn one touch, two touch when the field is good," Schäfer continued. "If the field is not good player has to take too many touches. In the football the speed is much better than three, four years ago

I believe what he means by the last statement on speed, is speed of passing, speed of decision making, you saw how quickly at times arg could move the ball, I believe the top football countries are actually measuring speed of thought and action, quick and effective decision making like in barca and Spain ball they can literally roll the ball on your toe and you will be hard pressed to respond. Part of the selection process is selecting players by measuring that response time, even our pan jamaican players were struggling with touch and passing combination.

Uneven ground is an anathema to that kind of ball

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          I believe what he means by the last statement on speed, is speed of passing, speed of decision making, you saw how quickly at times arg could move the ball, I believe the top football countries are actually measuring speed of thought and action, quick and effective decision making like in barca and Spain ball they can literally roll the ball on your toe and you will be hard pressed to respond. Part of the selection process is selecting players by measuring that response time, even our pan jamaican players were struggling with touch and passing combination.
          LOL!! Mi clavicle!!

Yuh finally si di light an' get sensible Stoni...Welcome to Damascus..
          Sheron!! Bwile up likkle tea deh..Stoni reach!

This puts in context that nonsense you and Karl were on about... Our players need greater "foot speed" and we must recruit "fast players" and we should start measuring "who runs fast" and silly opinions that the "world's fastest players are also the best" etc etc

Now for the lessons of football bio-physics:

1. Our players have above average speed ...generally. Some have world class velocity. Going on some special hunt for speedy players is (a) not difficult because they're plentiful and (b) Not a priority because the value add is limited. We have MUCH bigger fish that need frying to look about

2. Extreme foot speed is nice to have... but not generally a game changer over time

3. Rapid ACCELERATION over very short distances and fast, deceptive foot/body movements at critical points in the space-time continuum are the most VALUABLE aspects of physical speed in the 3-Dimensional football field environment....

This is opposed to raw foot speed over say a 60m or 100m dash like the Americans measure in their version of football (testing you would have JA adopt)

4. Speed of thought combined with vision, optimal decision-making/solution determination & rapid, accurate idea execution... are the most valuable aspects of speed.. by a country mile
          These are the skill sets we are woefully slow in...and need to get up to speed

Now let's put the distracting "foot speed" nonsense to rest....FAST
          Last edited by Don1; June 23, 2015, 10:56 AM.

Have you heard of the Cogi training method?

S'gut, it all goes back to the quality surface of the football field.

The ball should roll--not bounce......

I recall several years ago when the pitch at the stadium was resurfaced, it was done by a company from overseas.

Very little it appears, is done to correct this problem.

The statements in your quote are corrected by good football surfaces.

That is a part of the equation, the way you combat that until you start developing that direction is by playing to a plan, total press with superior athletes out of your ball population, press the man not the ball, close space and simultaneous press create pressure, thus we saw all three teams we played struggle to move the ball for significant chunks of the game, thus commentators calling them lethargic etc, unfortunately we are way behind in ball science but we can compete somewhat with good org, superior athletes, fitness and speed.

Ok...

But my main point is that this emphasis on foot speed is completely off base

We need to develop our speed of thought & intelligent, accurate play/positional execution

man seh space-time continuum to rathcleet..

lol ! woiee ! mi profundicle !

LOL...Yuhseeit
                      Last edited by Don1; June 23, 2015, 09:51 PM.

Without a doubt, currently we have nothing on that front.