Who watched the MexTico v. Costa Rica game?

• Who watched the MexTico v. Costa Rica game?

Much respect to costa Rican coach Hernan Medford. Mexico struggled to get the win in extra time.

The more I watch the Gold cup...the more I am convinced that Jamaica may not even make it to the final 6 in CONCACAF WC qualifications. (considering that Jamaica will be using 100% NPL'ers to play these preliminary games). And yes Tilla...even with name brand Bora at the control.

Tilla, I wonder what credentials Hernan Medford have? Yuh tink him can carry Simoes' shoes?

Much respect to costa Rican coach Hernan Medford. Mexico struggled to get the win in extra time.
      HL, one swallow does not a summer make. . .

The important thing is tha Mexico got the win, whether they struggled or not. I have seen some crappy games played by this same Costa Rican side under Medford. It is good to hear that they had a good game today.

I saw them play agains either Cuba or Guadeloupe and they (the Ticos) looked terrible.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The more I watch the Gold cup...the more I am convinced that Jamaica may not even make it to the final 6 in CONCACAF WC qualifications. (considering that Jamaica will be using 100% NPL'ers to play these preliminary games). And yes Tilla...even with name brand Bora at the control.
        Calm down HL.

I am not sure if it that you dont respect Bora Milutinovic as a coach, or its just that you dont think he deserves to be paid a 6 figure salary by the Jamaica people....but i do believe that he will have our Reggae Boyz team in shape for the start of the world cup qualifiers next year. Yes, our football is in a relative slump right now...but I do not believe we are worse off today than we were say 2 years ago.

We have work to do...and we have a little time on our hands to get the work done.
        President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

the problem is 2 years ago we never knew we were at Rock Bottom is just looking back at the mirror we know now.

We Jamaican live with "better must come" but I say we need to see the signs.

Bora has done his great deeds but does he still have that fire? His last 2jobs were not great and short lived.

Looks like we have already written off Bora, even though the man has played only a few games. Didnt the man take a bunch of young under-23 ballers to Hong Kong recently where they won the lunar cup? We shouldnt be pointing fingers at Bora for us not getting t oplay in the Gold Cup for instance...lets balme CB and Crenston for that.
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

the problem is 2 years ago we never knew we were at Rock Bottom is just looking back at the mirror we know now.

We Jamaican live with "better must come" but I say we need to see the signs.

Bora has done his great deeds but does he still have that fire? His last 2jobs were not great and short lived.
              Looks like we have already written off Bora, even though the man has played only a few games with us. Didnt the man take a bunch of young under-23 ballers to Hong Kong recently where they won the lunar cup? We shouldnt be pointing fingers at Bora for us not getting t oplay in the Gold Cup for instance...lets balme CB and Crenston for that.

Tilla, I wonder what credentials Hernan Medford have? Yuh tink him can carry Simoes' shoes?
                Interesting question.
                I would love to see his 'coaching qualifications'.
                Help...anyone?
                Thanks!

Trying to understand why I'm so confident that participation and success in this year's Gold Cup will not have anyh bearing on WCQs next year.

Doesn't make sense to me, but I just have that feeling.

Not writing off anybody but the fact is Bora has a lot to prove. I am not letting no coach off the hook, whether local or overseas them must feel the heat.

I sincerly hope Bora work the magic but right now we need to get going. Boxhill have a lot of blame to take but remember that Bora getting paid so his chest must be broad.

Fan we need to see more match, more players and win a few games especially at home. Don't forget the overseas player, Boxhill can gwaan talk but looking at them play fi them team and having them on the field in Ja colors is two different things.

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                      Looks like we have already written off Bora, even though the man has played only a few games with us.
                      It is the JFF I am questioning. As I said, it makes no sense starting your preparations less than 8 years before the next World Cup.

How can it make sense when the 'big boys' never ever stop working at making TEAM more powerful? Unless, ofcourse, our aim is not to do and be the best we possible can?

Didnt the man take a bunch of young under-23 ballers to Hong Kong recently where they won the lunar cup?
                      Not necessarily following on your main thought...but, have you watched those matches?

I think 'awful' describing our performances would not be out of place. If opponents keep missing and missing and missing opportunities it is possible to end up with a draw or a win.

We shouldnt be pointing fingers at Bora for us not getting to play in the Gold Cup for instance...lets balme CB and Crenston for that.
                      CB the man you love to hate?

CB did not make the decision to i) 'Grap a team' a few 'days' before that tournament in JA; ii) CB did not make the decision to not put out our best TEAM; iii) CB did not make the decision to go into 'battle' without adequate (Hah! ) preparation...

Guess who chairs the organisation that made those decisions?
                      Last edited by Karl; June 18, 2007, 09:21 AM.

I thought you wouldn't have anything less but words of high praise for Bora now that Portland is figuring into his plans.

Not writing off anybody but the fact is Bora has a lot to prove. I am not letting no coach off the hook, whether local or overseas them must feel the heat.

I sincerly hope Bora work the magic but right now we need to get going. Boxhill have a lot of blame to take but remember that Bora getting paid so his chest must be broad.

Fan we need to see more match, more players and win a few games especially at home. Don't forget the overseas player, Boxhill can gwaan talk but looking at them play fi them team and having them on the field in Ja colors is two different things.
                          But Assasin, Bora has made it clear that his strategy right now is to expose the home based players, see what they have to offer, and then use the best of the lot from home with the best of the lot from those playing overseas. Yes, we as football fans want to see our best team on the field at all times, and we want to see our teams beating their opponents 6-0 at all times. But how often have we heard people on this very same message board call for the inclusion of more local players and less England born ballers? We cant have our cake and eat it at the same time. Now is the perfect time for Bora to scout out home based talent.

And I see where is is trying to gradually mix in the overseas based too. Ricardo Gardener, Luton Shelton, Ricardo fuller, Khari Stephenson, Damion Stewart have all featured in recent games (some declined their invitations for various reasons). I believe he has deliberately not invited any of the MLS players mainly because these players have been involved in regular season games.

No Mo as I tell you mi get them six months and them most feel the heat if things nuh so right. It is not about me, Portland, or the east but more about equality and progress.

There is no reason we can't do both at the same time. What is limiting us?

We could easily arrange a practise game in England using the players there. Now is the off season for most players so now is the time to give them a camp, why wait till they only going to fly in the day before game or their clubs put them on injury list?

If I was in the JFF admin I would push for a camp with about 50 players to make most of our players get a look and then Bora can decide from there. OK after giving a few players a extented run, and leaving everybody else out, what if these players don't develop into better players? We run back at the last minute looking for others who got no experience under Bora and others who feel they are not a part of the program.

Inclusion is a hell of a thing, and I can only see about maybe 4 or 5 of Bora current team leading our world cup charge, so why not include more to his techniques?