Switch it up Giles high, mattocks low!

Barnes showed me a little more yesterday on the d side. I am good with it, I just love Mattocks energy on the d side.

Did you see them switch a little more time?

If you read the training report you would see where the coach took out some players and have them sprinting at the end of training and Mattocks head that group. That is done to spring the counter and make the long pass to Mattocks up top to hold it up and bring others in or take on defenders as he did on the miss shot.

I think it is fine as it is.

Now if he could just score! Our best forwards conversion rate is atrocious, it would be more than worth it to bring a coach just to work on the best youths and finishing around the goal in theory and Nuff practice as well.

yep definately need a shooting coach for real to travel and work with our best shooters. The thing is, one you know what to practice you can do it alone or with one or two people.

You know, we would be singing a different song if Mattocks did not try to tear up the net. If he had just decided to tap it in, we may be talking differently today. I am not sure if shooting coach would have changed that. He just needed to maintain his composure and hit with the correct weight and placement to score the goal.

I know it is easier said than done...
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

yeah that specific shot was about composure.

When I was referring to the shooting coach, I am just talking in general with our shooters.

Think we did (for me, surprisingly well) well in that 1st match. Shooting? ...oooh boy, we culdda won if we had goal-scorers!!!

Giles?
                Lazy! Just about nothing on defense!!!
                Hope he improves or we get an upgrade for the Gold Cup!
                Last edited by Karl; June 14, 2015, 04:32 PM.

No man either way we way behind, whether him score yesterday or not conversion rate of all our forwards really poor when compared to others not even the best in class even a level or two below that.

This is why I have always advocated the strong defense, hard press and counter attack as that maximizes all our strengths and limits our weaknesses. We need space and chaos to score, we have little clue how to build, possess and attack a settled defense. Counter by pressing creates chaos for opposing defense and speed, strength and one on one open field skill works best in fast counter, all our strengths.

Where we must improve with next set of youths is composure before goal, working best possibilities based on positioning of defense, goalie and side of the box and side of the body that the ball s collected, there is a whole science behind that which we are totally missing.

Wouldn't you expect that level of composure from Mattocks? I know I do. He plays in one of the best leagues in the world! And he has quite a few international matches under his belt by now.

Did you see Sterling's miss today?? Not to pour it on but it happens, hopefully not too many times.

This is exactly what is stopping Sterling from being Messi like, he has everything else but he has poor finishing, really poor, he is not settled when shooting, he s nervous and it comes off in all his shots. If he can get some help just working overtime on finishing this guy is going to be one hell of a player. Until he gets that right he will max out at being a very good player who cannot finish.

yuh mean bring dem closer togedah upfront fi support each each odah, nuff time Mattocks was alone when ball reach him.