• Bill Archer article mentions Captain Burrell

http://www.bigsoccer.com/blog/2015/6...-of-grant-wahl

June 3, 2015
    The Face of Change, The Urgency of Emergency and the Hypocrisy of Grant Wahl
    Bill Archer
    FIFA is in the midst of a "crisis".

A "crisis" so serious, so extreme, so out-of-hand-and-off-the-hook that the newly-elected President of world football has been forced to resign.

As a result, FIFA is going to hold an "emergency Congress" to elect his replacement, the man who will lead world football out of the morass and into the light of a brave new dawn.

Wow Burrell get handle rough.

Babylon scorch earth agenda, none will be left untouched but their corrupted anointed nuh sad fi dem when election run.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Who is Bill Archer? I thought this was from a reputable source.
        Mr. Archer seems to put forth his personal views quite strongly than citing facts. But what do you expect from a tabloid wanna be?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The underlying current is deep in Mex and US soccer, he is saying what they all feel,anything from the Caribbean are thieves.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tilla, your comment brings to mind the saying about killing th e messenger. Forget the name of the writer. Did the writer say anything that's not (more or less) true?

Re Burrell the writer claims he's utterly corrupt and at a minimum suggests and causes readers to believe that he took a $40K bribe. That may be true...however no such evidence has been adduced by the writer or anyone else

At a minimum the guy is out of order for getting ahead of the publicly known facts (mostly yet to be proven allegations at this point)

At max he is liable to legal action...especially if Cappo is clean in the matter of the $40K or nothing illegal can be proved

Don1, I see you are going by the letter of the law; presumption of innocence etc. Matrix and Babylon motives aside, do you believe that the Captain is squaqy, sorry, that's squeaky-clean in all of this? My problem with the Captain is that he has done nothing IMO, to improve football in JA; I read somewhere where HE was lamenting over the deplorable state of football fields in JA... so who is better placed to get them fixed? even if just a handful. I find that unconscionable... and then lately he says he's NOT focusing on football...seh wha? he should just resign!

Peter, you are reasonable man and highly intelligent as well (nuh JC you guh?

The opinions expressed are of the writer's own, so he is no messenger here. He is expressing his own personal opinions on the man.

Read the following and tell me what you think:

In any case, longtime readers - and God bless you, every one - will recall discussion of the particularly venal, corrupt and disgraceful excuse for a human being "Captain" Horace Burrell who is the longtime President of the Jamaica Football Federation.
                  Unless you have facts to back him on this regarding Captain Burrell, then you see how he is attacking the man without producing facts.

His commission as a "captain" is something of a stretch; he briefly served with the mighty Jamaica Defense Forces many years ago but he very much loves the title.
                  This downplaying of the man's achievement is downright out of order. He should stick to the facts. So what, because the man did not receive his Captain rank in a country with the military might of the US or any f the G8 nations, then it should not count for anything? The mighty Jamaica Defense Force!? Any journalist worth their salt would not write rubbish like this and expect it to be published. This is total bull butter!

Burrell is the founder and owner of a chain of eateries called Captains Bakery and Grill. I'm told the sfood isn't bad at all.

Somehow that led him, in 1994, into local soccer administration which, being in the Caribbean and all, brought him under the wing of Jack Warner of T&T.
                  I am not sure, but when I lived in Jamaica I cannot recall the Captain having a bakery back then. I was of the opinion that he got into this business after the 98 World Cup. I could be wrong though.

Peter, I have no problems with someone chastising the man and presenting facts while doing so. Going off on a tirade and filling an article with hogwash is not my idea of good journalism. That is why I brushed it aside after a quick read.

PR, don't feel that I am only out to defend the Captain. I still cannot forget when he told us "The RBSC can go jump in the sea!" He was out of order to say that when he had a press conference and was taking questions. That however pales in comparison to this guys efforts to discredit the Captain.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Ok boss, I accept that the writer is over the top in saying those things without proof; truth is I read with my anti-Captain cap on, because I cannot see what he has done for football in JA. You can enlighten me though, and I am not being facetious here, on what he has done to promote and improve football in JA.

He lately stated he is not focusing on football but on his business; shouldn't he just resign? and then he has in the past spoken about the bad state of football fields in JA. So isn't he well-placed to have them improved? These administrators IMO, are just happy to live the life of the rich and famous while the grassroots wallow in the morass that they've been in for the last "how much" years.

Peter, I thought I made it clear in my previous post that I am not defending the Captain? I am only hitting out at the crap that is floating around as journalism. You are on point in all you have just said. Totally different from the diatribe you were supporting earlier.

Tilla , Captain was in the bakery business long before 1998. He had a store in New Kingston shopping center from the early 1990s.

OK sar, thanks. I left Jamaica in late 89, so I have missed all of that.

Hey Tilla, First of all I asked a question (and I confess somewhat rhetorically) which was " did the writer say anything that was not (more or less) true" which you answered very clearly and I accepted the answer. I also explained that I had read the article with anti-captain bias and gave a couple examples why I have that stance. I also asked for enlightenment if I was wrong, as you did with respect to what you call "the diatribe you were supporting earlier".
                            If there is no enlightenment then yes, we are in agreement. I simply seek to put my position forth, and I am most open to correction and guidance on any issue on which I am not up to speed or of which my knowledge is lacking.
                            It was not my intention to suggest you were defending the Captian. i now invite you to re-read my post with this clarification in mind.

Don1, I see you are going by the letter of the law; presumption of innocence etc. Matrix and Babylon motives aside, do you believe that the Captain is squaqy, sorry, that's squeaky-clean in all of this? My problem with the Captain is that he has done nothing IMO, to improve football in JA; I read somewhere where HE was lamenting over the deplorable state of football fields in JA... so who is better placed to get them fixed? even if just a handful. I find that unconscionable... and then lately he says he's NOT focusing on football...seh wha? he should just resign!
                              PR it seems you are conflating issues:

Going by the letter of the law: Yes when my peeps are under attack by hostile forces with suspect agendas that's my bias

Matrix/Babylon motives aside: When Babylon is involved I don't put those considerations aside

Cappo squeaky clean: I wouldn't be surprised if he were not (I got a personal sliver of his and Horace's peculiar approach to money bizniz 18 years ago) But he MUST be given the benefit of any doubt with a presumption of innocence

Cappo doing nothing for football: I would not say that. But I'm disappointed that he has not focused on JOB 1: Youth development..Very disappointed. He is short term focused & World Cup Crazy like most Jamaicans

Cappo resigning: Up to him