Babylon against FIFA 1 nation 1 vote

Let's see.

Maybe because Germany has 40 million more players?

Or German companies invest millions more to football than Liechy does?

Germany has won 4 World Cups? Liechtenstein has won 4 matches in Euro qualifiers, if that much?

Yuh need more?

not sure how this would solve it as the individual votes at the confed level will have to be reflective at the congress level ... at they confed level the votes ten to be en bloc anyway.

did you ever read "the black jacobins" by clr james?

That was the next book on my bucket list. Or book list!

so...someone who makes more money than someone else and pays more taxes should have more votes in a general election?

I understand.

so...someone who makes more money than someone else and pays more taxes should have more votes in a general election?
              Great question. That'll stump 'em

The fact is those few rich countries which take it for granted that they must dominate EVERYTHING with their double-dealing corruption...already have more "votes" than their number suggests

Money has a voting power all its own. Just ask Americans where politicians backed by oligarchs or large corporations routinely "buy" elections for $100s of Millions ...and by Supreme Court ruling corporations have a blank check on slush money they can "donate" i.e. invest in corrupt politicians while expecting favors in return. A nice ROI

One man One Vote yes
              Last edited by Don1; June 9, 2015, 01:18 PM.

to paraphrase andy Roberts ... "it's not that I'm trying to stump anybody with my questions, is just that when I ask the questions, people get stumped" ....

I already stated that I support one man one vote. Not sure I support one country one vote.

But good question still!

to paraphrase andy Roberts ... "it's not that I'm trying to stump anybody with my questions, is just that when I ask the questions, people get stumped" ....
                    lol

not sure how this would solve it as the individual votes at the confed level will have to be reflective at the congress level ... at they confed level the votes ten to be en bloc anyway.

The problem with that model for me is that you then also have a disproportionate "under representation" of certain parts of the world, e.g. Africa with 50+ countries vs Conmebol with 13. To me, the 1 nation 1 vote model is the most democratic from a voting point of view, but not necessarily from a funding point of view. As I understand it, all countries receive the same amount - $250k a year, but how can that be "fair" to Sudan (population 38m) when Monserrat (population 4k) gets the same $?? It seems to me the 1 man 1 vote is okay, but the distribution of $ has to be further thought out to be a bit more pragmatic and fair.

you have to agree that this is different issue, one man one vote vs funding allocation....

in the event you disagree with how I have posited it above, are you therefore in favour of discarding the one man one vote model? and if so in favour of what?

you have to agree that this is different issue, one man one vote vs funding allocation....

in the event you disagree with how I have posited it above, are you therefore in favour of discarding the one man one vote model? and if so in favour of what?
                          The one man one vote makes sense if they don't vote as a block. If they do vote as a block, then it should be just the federations voting - i.e. each have one vote. Funds distribution needs to take into account existing infrastructure e.g. germany has more than sudan, so a greater proportion should go to the under developed countries but based on past shenanigans, maybe the funds go to a development organisation that operates across all countries and not directly to the FAs. Easier said than done, but we learn from history that we cyan trus' dem deh tief.