What did Bruno Metsu accomplish before he coached Senegal?
Among the worst decision that Boxhill and ejits made was...
What did Bruno Metsu accomplish before he coached Senegal?"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
And John Barnes' stint at Celtic does not count for anything?!?! Get real!
The brief spell at Guinea could not have amounted to anything, apart from acclimatising to West African conditions. What did he accomplish at Guniea? Not a striking thing. For all intents and purpose, Senegal was his very first coaching job. He did not even have spell at a club, prior to the Guinea job!
At least Barnes was at a big club. Does that not count for anything?
The fact is Tilla, good soccer-playing countries the world over have hired either rookies or coaches who were assitants in good programs. Not good enuff for us. Let's break the bank and get the best. Afterall we are Jamaica.
Wanna bet that our next coach is Scolari?
Mo, yuh deh look summady fi argue wid this evelin? You asked a question an mi answer hit.
You would do well to find out why Barnes was not selected as TD or why Barnes could not accept the JFF's offer and they went for Bora instead. I am sure it is not all about the experience difference.
We can speculate suh till the dogs come home, if Barnes did not feel they were meeting his requirements to take the job, he would not take it. Stop try making a case out of nothing. If you feel up to it, use some of your contacts in the JFF to find out why Barnes was not selected.
Lastly, just as how pointing out the success of overaged players like Roger Milla, Pat Jennings or a Cafu when Karl and others are trying to make a case for Tappa, it is the same thing you are doing now with Barnes. Stop it and do some research then come back with some facts."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Argue?!? Facts reach yuh and yuh say man a argue? But yuh nuh easy! The fact is some of us want to disqualify Barnes just because...of some foolishness. I'm simply pointing out that hiring him would not have been the weirdest and most irresponsible thing done in the football world.
Yes, but just as Klinnsman, Peckerman were not selected for the USA and they are better and more experienced coaches than Bradley, so too Barnes was not selected.
Many times you will go into discussions with an employer about a position, but in the end, you may not necessarily take it. It does not necessarily have to be about pay why you did not consider it either.
Again, dig into the facts through your contacts, then come again."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I meant some of the responses were not being fair to Barnes.
Hey, I am not defending the current JFF admin, nor am I defending the selection of Bora. I am just saying there could be a multitude of reasons why Barnes was not selected. I pointed out experience, but then there could be others which weighed heavier in the decision making process.
Before we go about submitting hundreds of threads on this issue. Does anyone know what were Barnes' demands to take the position?
Karl, your point about Beckenbauer and Klinsmann are well taken. But take for example Klinsmann's non selection for the USA's position or Peckermann for that matter. Do you not think both of those guys would have made better coaches than Bradley, but Bradley is now the coach. Sometimes it is not only money which is the deciding factor in selecting the final candidate to fill a position. Other issues could influence the decision too.
btw - Klinsmann refused the USA job. He would not agree to some of the USA's terms."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Greetings bredrin, the point Mosiah is trying to make is that every coach no matter what status he attains, must get his first coaching job somewhere. We are not that big to the point where we cannot hire first timers. In fact, it seems that our yard people lack vision and are not cutting edge, therefore, we will never see greatness in a person until he has already attain it. Just take a look at what Klinnsman did with Germany, Dunga and Brazil, Keane and Sunderland, Rijkaard and Barca and the enormous list goes on. Would Jamaica have hired any of these coaches starting out? No, but certainly after they make it and start commanding millions. I said it already and I'll say it again, if we want a great coach for cheap then we must go after a start up coach who played in the 80's to 90's argument done.
Sensi, you do not have to explain Mosiah's position for me. If you go back and read my posts, you will see that I have changed my position on the "experience only" criteria too. I think you have missed what I am saying.
My position is that you should never approach a hiring situation with the intent of hiring one candidate at all cost. Still, we don't know not why the JFF did not consider to hiring Barnes or why Barnes chose he could not accept their offer. We know that Simoes was excluded from his second coming because he said he would not be available until his contract ran out with Iran. What if Barnes had some contractual obligations too which precluded him from consideration by the time the JFF would want to fill the position? What if Barnes said he could not be available until three months before the World Cup Qualifiers starts in 2008? Would you still press to make it John Barnes at all costs?
What I am saying and have implored Mosiah to do is to get the facts why Barnes was not selected. It is pointless in us debating till the dogs come home when we are doing so without considering all the facts behind the whole issue.Last edited by Tilla; June 20, 2007, 04:29 PM."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran