Among the worst decision that Boxhill and ejits made was...

I want you to remember that I was for hiring Barnes too and never thought Bora was a coach for us. I never a Bora fan going out the gates, but I have accepted that he is who we will be working with so I may as well throw my support behind him.

When a selection committee puts candidates on a shortlist, the intent is to take a real closer look at the candidates so you can make a final decision. Experience apart, who is to tell what put barnes out of the picture? Maybe he had other demands which the JFF admin did not consider as favorable. What if Barnes wanted less money, but only wanted to make himself available when we are closer to World Cup Qualifiers etc. Would you still consider him?

If Barnes said, "I would consider, but you have to work out something which would allow me to keep my BBC commentator post". If he can be available only so many months of the year. If Reggae Boyz teams would have to be selected for training camps in England. I am only speculating, but what if those were some of his demands, would you still select him?

It is possible you could have hired Barnes for less money than Bora coming out of the gate. It is also possible that you could end up paying more for a Barnes over the length of the contract, based off his demands.

I would have loved to see a Barnes as our national coach, but we should not have to do everything to get his signature more than we would for the other candidates.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

HL, tell me what are John Barnes' coaching credentials? Don't tell me he coached for about 6 weeks in the Scottish Premier League.

You cannot compare Barnes with Simoes, as when Simoes came to Jamaica he was already an established coach both in terms of at the club level and at the international level, albeit not with the Brazilian senior team.

I am not thinking of a coach or TD as any popularity contest, but I would at least expect that if you are going to appoint someone, you would have to make sure they have the necessary experience to do the job.

Barnes is a commentator with the BBC. If he were to give up his job there to take the TD of our national side, the JFF would more than likely have to match whatever he was getting at the BBC.

Anyway, check the attached picture on Simoes and provide me with something similar on Barnes.
      What was Franz Beckenbauer's coaching experience before leading Germany to the World Cup?

...and, what were Juergen Klinsmann's World Cup and or Club coaching successes?

I think when we are discussing our Jamaica citizens who could be considered for our coaching job we need to have rational discussions?

I wonder if there are any coaches in major world leagues who previous to their first coaching jobs in those leagues had had no previous coaching jobs?

If there were some such coaches did some prove successful coaches?

...btw - I wonder how many persons are working as football coaches? ...How many of those coaches would be considered successful? %age of total?

So...how do you go about selecting a national coach...getting an excellent one for the least cost?

Just asking!
      Barnes, huh? ...and, why not?

I think when we are discussing our Jamaica citizens who could be considered for our coaching job we need to have rational discussions?
        I guess you should not be a part of this thread then Karl!

Hey, I am not defending the current JFF admin, nor am I defending the selection of Bora. I am just saying there could be a multitude of reasons why Barnes was not selected. I pointed out experience, but then there could be others which weighed heavier in the decision making process.

Before we go about submitting hundreds of threads on this issue. Does anyone know what were Barnes' demands to take the position?

Karl, your point about Beckenbauer and Klinsmann are well taken. But take for example Klinsmann's non selection for the USA's position or Peckermann for that matter. Do you not think both of those guys would have made better coaches than Bradley, but Bradley is now the coach. Sometimes it is not only money which is the deciding factor in selecting the final candidate to fill a position. Other issues could influence the decision too.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I seem to remember a news article that said Barnes was asking for $200,000 while the other coaches (Pekerman, Bora et al) had wanted $1M

Anyway, check the links below:

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20060816/sports/sports6.html

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20060612/sports/sports2.html

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20061017/news/news4.html

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20060616/sports/sports1.html

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20060728/sports/sports7.html

I guess you should not be a part of this thread then Karl!
            I meant some of the responses were nto being fair to Barnes.

Hey, I am not defending the current JFF admin, nor am I defending the selection of Bora. I am just saying there could be a multitude of reasons why Barnes was not selected. I pointed out experience, but then there could be others which weighed heavier in the decision making process.

Before we go about submitting hundreds of threads on this issue. Does anyone know what were Barnes' demands to take the position?

Karl, your point about Beckenbauer and Klinsmann are well taken. But take for example Klinsmann's non selection for the USA's position or Peckermann for that matter. Do you not think both of those guys would have made better coaches than Bradley, but Bradley is now the coach. Sometimes it is not only money which is the deciding factor in selecting the final candidate to fill a position. Other issues could influence the decision too.
            I hear you.

btw - Klinsmann refused the USA job. He would not agree to some of the USA's terms.
            Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2007, 08:59 PM.

Look at this, Tilla:

Barnes interested in Bermuda coaching job - report
              CMC
              Sunday, February 18, 2007

HAMILTON, Bermuda, (CMC) - Jamaica-born former England winger John Barnes has expressed an interest in the US$125,000-a-year technical director's post at the Bermuda Football Association (BFA), the Royal Gazette said reported Friday.
              Barnes, 43, who managed Scottish side Celtic in 1999-2000, is a friend of former Bermuda professional Shaun Goater and was, until last week, reportedly pursuing a job with the Jamaican national team, the Gazette said.
              But on hearing that Barnes' desire to work with the Jamaica Football Association (JFF)had not led to a definitive offer, Goater, a striker who had an illustrious career in England, contacted the man he idolised as a youngster to ask whether he might be interested in coming to Bermuda.
              "I'd heard he was keen on going to work in Jamaica, but when that fell through it suddenly dawned on me that Barnes might be the sort of candidate the BFA are looking for to take on the technical director's job," Goater explained.
              "So I called him on Monday to discuss the situation and he seemed very interested in the job and I have since put (BFA president) Larry Mussenden and him in contact via e-mail.
              "I know it's very early days but in my view it is a very exciting prospect to have somebody of John Barnes' calibre and international experience expressing an interest.
              "When I first went across to play in England I was looking around for a player I wanted to emulate and John Barnes was that man.
              "He had a fantastic career, and is respected by all in football. I've done what I can to put him and the BFA in touch and hopefully something develops from it."
              Mussenden confirmed Goater had passed on Barnes' contact details and the matter would be pursued.
              He stressed, however, that the BFA was still in the very early stages of putting together its recently announced US $36 million strategic plan and it would be a while before the specific role of the technical director was formally drawn up and applications for the post invited.
              Barnes began his career at Watford in 1981 and quickly became well known for his dazzling pace and dribbling ability on the left wing.
              He made his England debut in 1983 under then-manager Bobby Robson and scored 12 goals in 79 appearances for the national side. After six years at Watford, Barnes signed for Liverpool in 1987. He later played for Newcastle United and Charlton Athletic.

btw - Klinsmann refused the USA job. He would nto agree to some of the USA's terms.
                Yuh right, Klinsey did refuse the position. We have not been told by the JFF admin, but so too could Barnes have decided that he could not accept their terms.

In the absence of all the facts on the matter, it is pointless for us to be or attempting to be making a case for the non-selection of Barnes. I was quite excited about him taking over too, but when they went to Bora, I was not too elated at the time. Now I have just accepted it that this is the way it is going to be so we might as well work with it.

Yuh right, Klinsey did refuse the position. We have not been told by the JFF admin, but so too could Barnes have decided that he could not accept their terms.

In the absence of all the facts on the matter, it is pointless for us to be or attempting to be making a case for the non-selection of Barnes. I was quite excited about him taking over too, but when they went to Bora, I was not too elated at the time. Now I have just accepted it that this is the way it is going to be so we might as well work with it.
                  We heard a lot about how Simoes came into his job. We know how CB and Wendell were selected. I would say, we also heard a lot about how Lazaroni and Clovis got their jobs...'Brazilian suh a suh'?

...btw - what was CB's, Wendell's, Clovis' and Laza's individual pay-package?

...and, Bora's?

Someone said Bora has not had time to work with the TEAM...and, that is true. He has not even selected an early pre-final selection squad.

The line 'we have only just begun' would be appropriate if 'we (Bora & the JFF) had begun'.

Jamaica-born former England winger John Barnes has expressed an interest in the US$125,000-a-year technical director's post at the Bermuda Football Association (BFA), the Royal Gazette said reported Friday.
                    Wonder why John is selling himself so short? He might be able to earn more than that a year coaching a Conference side in England while still keeping his BBC job.
                    Last edited by Tilla; June 18, 2007, 11:38 PM.

Please HL, as if hiring John Barnes as Jamaica's coach was an original idea of yours!...Other people here including myself has long lamented Barnes as the top choice for the job, and most notable was Mosiah who actually lead the cry for Barnes. I don't know why you even bother to pretend as if you care about our football or anything Jamaican...well I guess there will always be wolves in sheep clothing. Though you are a sell-out we're not mad at you because you cyaan help yuh self, wi just happy that yuh show yuh self so wi know who wi a deal wid. By the way, don't ever mention Steve Sampson as a coach for the Boyz again because we don't wish to pick up America's reject. He was of no use to them, why the *#@*&* yuh think him any good fi we? Anyway easy my youth and just tek weh yuh self from da forum ya!

Tilla, it is all moot. Barnes is not a National Coach, we are all just sentimental - at least Mosiah is - 'let's give the black man a break'. I am sure there are other racists causes to fight.
                        There is however, something very cynical about a country with so many hungry bellies spending big bucks on football coaches. Maybe someof this money could have been invested in community football programmes, the youth, women football...

And how do you suppose we can do the two - be less emotional and hire the biggest coaches in the world and invest in community football, youth, women...Pray tell!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Tilla, it is all moot. Barnes is not a National Coach, we are all just sentimental - at least Mosiah is - 'let's give the black man a break'. I am sure there are other racists causes to fight.
                            There is however, something very cynical about a country with so many hungry bellies spending big bucks on football coaches. Maybe someof this money could have been invested in community football programmes, the youth, women football...
                            Exile, it's easier to get corporate Jamaica and the government to fund Bora's salary than it is to get them to fund these many programs that you are suggesting. A jus so tings set up!
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That's true. So getting Barnes would not really have meant saving any money.

this person who says that john barnes should coach jamaica without any international coaching experience must be on crack!!!!! and then to say Steve Sampson is their runner up somebody please hold this person down and put them in a straight jacket please!!!!!Ask the U.S. Soccer Federation & the Costa Rica Football Assoc. why that satement is crazy get your facts straight before posting.