• Babylon in the Webb

How the Cayman Islands Became a FIFA Power
    By JERÉ LONGMANMAY 30, 2015
    Photo

Local soccer players in the Annex, a sports facility in George Town, on Grand Cayman Island. Credit Angel Valentin for The New York Times
    Continue reading the main storyShare This Page
    Email
    Tweet
    Save
    More
    GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands — Chickens scurried about on Friday morning as a bulldozer spread crushed rock for a new soccer field with artificial turf at the Cayman Islands Football Association.

It might seem unlikely that FIFA, soccer’s world governing body, has spent $2.2 million since 2002 to build a new headquarters for the soccer association and to fund two planned fields, given that the land is swampy and a grass field struggled to exist in brackish conditions.

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/31/sp...n-islands.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

One million ways to bribe in FIFA choose one

http://screamer.deadspin.com/how-man...fif-1707221505

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

“It’s classic pork-barrel politics.”

No thanks!

Yet the home of the super pacs is leading the push to "clean up FIFA".

More like regain control of CONCACAF and then take FIFA from there.

DUH!!!
          Name one country or "politician/someone in a position of power" that does anything, these days, just because it's the right thing to do.......As I've asked before, who is naïve enough to think that they spent all that money & "man power" on this investigation without thinking they would benefit from it???
          The problem was that those indicted were dumb enough to conduct any of their activities on U.S. soil.

From the article:

Since 2008, FIFA has sent grants worth $1.8 million to the Cayman Islands to build two soccer fields. Seven years later, though, the first field remains weeks away from completion. Plans for a dormitory and a gym have not materialized.

[...]

One powerful soccer official from the Caymans is accused of taking millions of dollars in bribes, some of which was diverted to building a pool for his private residence in Georgia.
            Anyone think he had to wait seven years for his swimming pool to be built?

Summutch Pork a give weh and all Jamaica get is the JERK with no pork.

Hahahaha

500 seats on the IOC committee, we win so many medals over the decades and NEVER had a single rep there. We not even big in the IAAF. Diack is from Senegal. Hummutch medal dem ever win in Globals.

AFAIAC, Jamaica, US, Kenya, Ethiopia, Russia and maybe France or UK should run the sport.

We are a set of jokers!

the way that I understand it is that the grants are made available for drawdown. the monies do not go to the FA's per se.

so when the work commences then they can draw down. I think that also there has to be matching funds for the fa as well and often this is what causes the delay, the matching funds because those fa's do not really generate enough revenue to set aside that kind of money.

yes there may be other stuff involved but this is the way it goes.

answer to your question, nope...the pool was a priority.

didn't the late teddy McCook and mike fennel don't have a seat at the ioc and may have chaired a committee or 2? I may be wrong on that and humbly submit to your guidance there HOWEVER

we do have influence, wasn't the scheduling of the t&f in the last olympics built around bolt to give the 4x1 pride of place? isn't that influence?

fret not though, I do take your larger point but in contract to football in t&f the lesser nations so to speak have top draw performers and that MUST be taken into account.

In football, which lesser nation has top draw performers?

that is the point mosiah and so, they have influence on the top tier of the governing body. warner was a vp, web on the compliance and auditing c'tee. burrell has a position there too as well, is it on the disciplinary etc...

AND they receive GOAL project allocations etc.

Ok, time to leave this topic alone. Not seeing your side of it one bit, but I certainly appreciated the sensible discussion.

X's posts now...