Luis Suarez credits Brendan Rodgers for his success

• Luis Suarez credits Brendan Rodgers for his success

"He was very clever and told me that Liverpool would play possession football, as it would suit me. He helped me with my runs, arriving in the area at the right time and coming in from wide -- rather than just waiting in the middle -- which benefited my confidence.

"We worked hard on finding ways I could isolate players and then try to beat them, man on man. That was the only way I could succeed in England. [...] If you punt a long ball up towards me and one of these [Premier League] defenders, I am not going to win it.

http://www.espnfc.com/barcelona/stor...rs-for-success

Why couldnt he do that with the strikers he brought in , since Saurez left

Boroni
    18 starts 7 goals for sunderland

Balotelli - Inter 59 games - 20 goals
    Man City 54- 20 goals
    AC Milan 43-26 goals
    Italy 33-13 goals.

The best I saw pool play last season was in its defeat vs Man U , Balo ran through the defence like cheese cake, your keeper was M.O.M, it would be the start of Balos' time on the bench, the other was vs Spurs when he called Balo from the bench to score vs Spurs and frooze him back on the bench.

Saurez is nothing special to coach, give him the ball,tell him to score or set up others.

RUCKS.....Bentke and Ings have nothing over the above strikers.Money to be wasted ,if we move ahaed with this coach, i say that to mean another coach would know how to use Bentke and Ings.

I know you want us to keep dis bredda , but please ave mercy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Why couldnt he do that with the strikers he brought in , since Saurez left

Boroni
      18 starts 7 goals for sunderland

Balotelli - Inter 59 games - 20 goals
      Man City 54- 20 goals
      AC Milan 43-26 goals
      Italy 33-13 goals.

The best I saw pool play last season was in its defeat vs Man U , Balo ran through the defence like cheese cake, your keeper was M.O.M, it would be the start of Balos' time on the bench, the other was vs Spurs when he called Balo from the bench to score vs Spurs and frooze him back on the bench.

Saurez is nothing special to coach, give him the ball,tell him to score or set up others.

RUCKS.....Bentke and Ings have nothing over the above strikers.Money to be wasted ,if we move ahaed with this coach, i say that to mean another coach would know how to use Bentke and Ings.

I know you want us to keep dis bredda , but please ave mercy.
      Is it possible that not all players can fit into a system?

LOL!!!!
        Saurez is nothing special to coach, give him the ball,tell him to score or set
        up others.

my "love" for suarez as a person is well known, he is a VERY astute and dedicated footballer, and inasmuch as he a reprobate otherwise, his work rate is second to none.

I say that to say, the question is whether those strikers had that work rate. suarez made every other player's job that much easier.

It is but 3 ?..why buy them ...rucks ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Is it possible that not all players can fit into a system?
              I have heard that saying ad infinitum but no one has been able to explain why any sensible player cannot adapt to any system?

Yes, I can comprehend why a silly player would find it difficult to adapt...but sensible players...????? Scratch 'ead!

What would prevent a sensible player understanding a well explain=well taught concept is beyond my understanding.

Come on? wi takin top players here...right?

I have heard that saying ad infinitum but no one has been able to explain why any sensible player cannot adapt to any system?

Yes, I can comprehend why a silly player would find it difficult to adapt...but sensible players...????? Scratch 'ead!

What would prevent a sensible player understanding a well explain=well taught concept is beyond my understanding.

Come on? wi takin top players here...right?
                Lets look at Diego Floran, Juan Veron, Angel DiMaria to name a few. All top class footballers that failed to stamp their authority at Old Trafford. It is something hard to explain but it happens time and again where players just don't fit into the system or maybe they don't gel with their team mates.

Suh yuh a compare BR with Fergie?...to answer Karls' question BR is just too tactically smart for them... Sarcasm.

You see me comparing coaches? Is it the weed why you reach these out of this world conclusions? I'm pointing out not all players fit into a team/system and that may be the issue for Borini and Ballotelli.

Maybe .......or ....?

Lets look at Diego Floran, Juan Veron, Angel DiMaria to name a few. All top class footballers that failed to stamp their authority at Old Trafford. It is something hard to explain but it happens time and again where players just don't fit into the system or maybe they don't gel with their team mates.
                        I think for those you named...and by-the-way, Fergie and Ashley Young and certainly David Moyes seem to support the following:

Re-start!
                        I think for those you named it was not about unable to perform at their highest levels but about 'unwillingness to compromise'. There can be a debate on where the fault lies, manager or player.

Most managers appear to be inflexible on compromise. I can understand that it may be the sensible way for the manager to go particularly in the context of the many personalities, on comparison to their earnings, of their super-rich players and the ever present possibility of poor performances resulting in manager firings first!!!

...and back to Ashley Young's supposedly decline under Fergie and David Moyes where his firing was being speculated and now where his performances have him at almost iconic status!!! Nothing was wrong with Young's ability. It was the matter of TEAM being 'kicked to the ground' as those around would not give an inch to get the best out of him for TEAM!!!

In every TEAM for the unit to perform at optimum level there has to be compromises all around.

Look one super-star must always defer to another to maximize on quality results occurring during any one game!

The key is when to defer and when not to! When it makes sense for Sanchez, the man who most sucks the energy and happiness out of me when my GUNNERS play, to pass and when to go on his own? During my GUNNERS games, this guy Sanchez wraps his hands around my heart and squeezes away until the final whistle! It is a good thing we only play 38 games or I would surely be killed if the season was longer!!!

The way I played the game was simple: My job was to make my TEAM-mates 'look good'. ...and that was how I went about my business! FULL STOP! When I was on song my TEAM was always great (=much better)! Why others would play "me, myself, first" would tear my guts out???!!!

Sanchez most often plays phartz as it is, for him, 'me, myself, then me, myself, then me, myself...'. if the TEAM wins it is a sight of relief...a buk-up!!! Never because he played for it!!!

It is the Thomas Muller types, the John Terry types...Andrea Pirlo types...the Cesc Fabregas types - btw - Why is it defenders, and particularly central defenders who are best at playing TEAM over any 90 minutes????... - who I love to death! They are for TEAM, 1st, 2nd, 3rd...TEAM to infinity! Pele, Socrates, Beckenbauer, Bobby Charlton... TEAM players all!!!

Barcelona has Mascherano, Xavi, Iniesta...TEAM players to the max!!! Those types are footballers!!!

Imagine if you had a TEAM of such minded players? ...all 30 in the squad of like mind?

10 through 20 love would become commonplace for that TEAM!!!! ...just out and out beautiful sensible football!!! The runs! The passes! The set-ups!!! The defending!!! ...would all be superb!!!
                        Last edited by Karl; May 27, 2015, 05:07 PM.

Did young really decline under Fergie?? or was it mostly injury that hampered him???

Young certainly has made good strides under Fergie and Fergie got him out of diving.

my "love" for suarez as a person is well known, he is a VERY astute and dedicated footballer, and inasmuch as he a reprobate otherwise, his work rate is second to none.

I say that to say, the question is whether those strikers had that work rate. suarez made every other player's job that much easier.
                            And none of them have his man-on-man skill - that was the point behind how Suarez game changed, the manager created a system where he could be isolated against defenders in space due to a more carefully crafted possession game. But hey "Suarez is nothing special"...X would have you believe he is in the same league as Borini. LOL!!!

Suarez would have been just fine without things being tailored at the expense of a more sustainable tactic(such as Barca's),Liverpool is now overly dependent on a one man army..
                              Do you think Ballo would have more goals playing for Barca than he has at Pool?