My youth's u8 team team

• My youth's u8 team team

Won the Georgia Rush Challenge Cup tournament this weekend.

They went unbeaten.

You must have a GREAT YOUTH COACH!!

Well done! Congrats to your young man and his team!

job well done,congrats!

Wikid Assasin, congrats. So is you coach the side?

Thank to you all. No, I coach them in Recreational soccer but once they were in Academy I couldn't. Driving all over ATL on the weekend and both sons playing on two different teams most of the time doesn't allow for me to coach at all.

I will coach their 3v3 team in the summer and work with them on some street ball and moves in the summer. I will work on some street skills as my two boys can pass very well and read the game very well.

No, I coach them in Recreational soccer but once they were in Academy they needed a real coach.
              Congrats sir. I corrected your statement for you. you're welcome.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LOL!!!! Like this weekend my 8yr old played in the tournament 40 miles away from my 9 year old so I had to be a good father, since my wife can't make a lot of games. No way I could even think of coaching. My job is limited to summer and teaching them other things that the academy is not teaching them now.

I gave up the youth coaching a long time ago. It's very time-consuming.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

yeah it is and in the academy everybody is looking for a Pele. My 9 year old had a decent team, they just needed to work on some things to be outstanding. Some of the parents took their kids to a different location of the club because they are ranked number 1 in the state to play on their second team. I believe in building but most don't so I spoke to the coach and while the u9 team is not strong because the kids left, Both my 8 and 9 practice with the U10 sometimes and we are working on improving.

The question is, is it good to be a small fish in a big pond or big fish in a small pond?? Based on how I grow up I am use to the small pond then make it larger so while I also mull moving them, I think they will be fine if they just have the ambition that they are going to get stronger.

wicked tings dat!

They went unbeaten.
                        noice!

Well done!

Sass I didn't realise this youth soccer thing was such a serious business until recently.

My 8 yo daughters team is with a club which has an academy they may join next season. However some of them were getting additional skills coaching with a guy from another club and we were going to continue that through the summer. Well we just heard this week that our club sued the guy for stealing some older players and he has a cease and desist order, cannot coach them until court hears the case. I didn't even know you could sue someone for taking away players? The only thing I can think of is that he used to be a coach at our club at one point, so maybe he had a non-compete agreement.

I really believe academy is too damn expensive and time consuming for this age and stage but I don't think she has s much left to get out of recreational league and some of her team are moving on to that, so I may have to suck it up. Ah bwoy.
                            Last edited by Islandman; May 29, 2015, 12:12 PM.

I will take this to the top and post on it later.