CONCACAF Countries have 1 1/2 places for World Cup...

• CONCACAF Countries have 1 1/2 places for World Cup...

Two places are literally reserved for the United States and Mexico.

Watching Honduras, Haiti, El Salvador, Guatemala, Canada and the 2nd. 11 T&T squad play in the Gold Cup--tells me that only Divine intervention will see Jamaica qualify for a portion of that 1 1/2 spot.

Yuh memba when Canada won the Gold Cup? What happened after that?

Well, HL, now that Carl Brown is out of the picture....there is nothing to suggest to me that Jamaica wont get it right sooner than later. In fact, as soon as Boxhill get the hell out of office, things will start happening again. We have one of the best coaches in CONCACAF in our corner at the moment.

Recall also that we recently gave Panama a good run for their money...game ended 1-1...but we created many chances! El Salvador and Guatemala are teams which we consistently beat...our last two games with the USA ended in ties....and Canada we have had the upper hand against in recent times, latest being a 2-1 beating.
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

And trinidad has not beaten us in years. Dem is a true bug side!

Two places are literally reserved for the United States and Mexico.

Watching Honduras, Haiti, El Salvador, Guatemala, Canada and the 2nd. 11 T&T squad play in the Gold Cup--tells me that only Divine intervention will see Jamaica qualify for a portion of that 1 1/2 spot.
          Don't forget Costa Rica....

I very well understand Fan-of-Reggae. The stats that you cited is not impressive.

Maudib just reminded me that I had omitted Costa Rica from the mix of countries competing for the 1.5 qualification spot in CONCACAF.

Brand name coach or not--I do not share your optimism.

All the above nations are saying the same about the Reggae Boyz. And as much as the thread suggests the same nations see Jamaica as a very serious threat even though they were not at the Gold Cup.
              Obviously, since those same nations have seen the improved teams of T&T, Haiti, Cuba and Guadeloupe it stands to reason also that they have been paying attention since Bora came on board as Coach of the Reggae Boyz and evaluate the recent friendlies that we have played. So even if football experts have picked the USA & Mexico for two spots in CONCACAF. These "giants" will still be playing with tippytoes.
              Because for them, that's a legitimate concern.

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                Well, HL, now that Carl Brown is out of the picture....there is nothing to suggest to me that Jamaica wont get it right sooner than later. In fact, as soon as Boxhill get the hell out of office, things will start happening again. We have one of the best coaches in CONCACAF in our corner at the moment.

Recall also that we recently gave Panama a good run for their money...game ended 1-1...but we created many chances! El Salvador and Guatemala are teams which we consistently beat...our last two games with the USA ended in ties....and Canada we have had the upper hand against in recent times, latest being a 2-1 beating.
                Did you watch the Mexico vs Panama?
                Panama looked damn good! ...excepting for the shooting.

Goals win match!

Almost win or naily score don't cut-it Karl.

Give me an ugly win over looking good any day.

Yes HL,you know that there are 3.5 spots in concacaf,but star mi an you ago whole a reason now.to ow di mexx dem a play there are roughly 2.5 places in concacaf,they can be beaten.mi nauuuuu mek nooooo PREDICTION becau qualifiers are too far away and team like canada ,honduras ,panama ,haiti and jamaica can emerge.yu need a man like sickko wid im 'goat moat' fi put a lucky jinx pon di RBZ.di main ting weh mi a seh is dat it too early fi anybody speculate or put in a forecast seeen my brother.

that's true HL, we need to be able to execute better(put away our chances).

Goals win match!

Almost win or naily score don't cut-it Karl.

Give me an ugly win over looking good any day.
                        You have a point...but, as far as it relates to us - not playing possession football could mean either of i) selves not getting enough cracks at goal, ii) being over-run.

Usually if you consistently keep possession for long periods you get multiple cracks at goal. The present day game shows and certainly ManU Chelsea, the Gunners and other EPL teams showed in the last EPL season that you more often win than you lose (Lazie: Could you give us the stats on possession during the last EPL season?) ...but, in some few matches the 'majority possession' did not translate into wins.

Remember our road to qualifying for the World Cup, if we do qualify, will be a long one - a very many matches? Having the skill to consistently maintain majority possession against teams we meet will be important. Without that ability - I think 'dwag nyam wi suppa'! ...and, it shall be once more on the outside looking on!

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                          Well, HL, now that Carl Brown is out of the picture....there is nothing to suggest to me that Jamaica wont get it right sooner than later.
                          heh eh! St.vincent 2 v jamaica 1

Don't forget we beat Haiti after we lost to St. Vincent, with a not so strong side.

I have no doubt that we will rise to the occasion.

And yes, goals win matches, but the side that can give you the most "naily's" will most likely be better than the side that can hardly find a nail when it want to.