Research article,role of sprint speed in football!

I was responding to your Frank Sinclair remark, but responded in wrong place.

Mi know man. Yuh tun fool wid yuh eediat post dem!

Yuh a try bamboozle me wid your twist and turn all bout the place.

im & Don1 moves werkin?

Hey you can lead the horse to the water but you can't force them to drink. You just have to keep pounding the message, they may not see logic but they must hear it. Funny, when yuh hear people call logic, foolishness, just make yuh smile and no baddah say nothing. Just pat them on the back and say ok.

hehehehehe!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Hey you can lead the horse to the water but you can't force them to drink. .
                Especially not when it's Koolaid

Humour me...please?
                  Give me your take on the importance of 'speed' in the game?

But Karlos..if you've read (and understood) my NUMEROUS posts on this subject introduced by Stoni...you would have my take by now.

Tautologies have their limits.....truetrue dat mi bredda

Karl don't waste your time, at the end of the day we are pretty much saying the same thing, except everybody have their little spin on it.
                      We see speed as a core building block of the ball game and more of it as essential to building an advantage, not exclusively clearly, but these guys want to push that point, truth is you must have best of brain to body speed, must have youths that are open to listening and learning, subjugation to authority and team, we especially hate that! Endurance and durability, they are all core, but assuming all things are therein equal doses then speed is the one if you can turn your dial up more than others there you have a definitive advantage.

Also as you can see Don1 was not fast so he doesn't fully get the speed advantage his brain sees and feels what it means to think how to beat speed, if you can do that and be productive then wicked, but that is a magic trick few can replicate, so Pirlo and to a lesser extent Andy Williams.

I played wing and wing back and at times attacking mid, my game was speed, strength, endurance and some skill, but speed and endurance created an advantage that is tough to beat.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        Karl don't waste your time, at the end of the day we are pretty much saying the same thing, except everybody have their little spin on it.
                        We see speed as a core building block of the ball game and more of it as essential to building an advantage, not exclusively clearly, but these guys want to push that point, truth is you must have best of brain to body speed, must have youths that are open to listening and learning, subjugation to authority and team, we especially hate that! Endurance and durability, they are all core, but assuming all things are therein equal doses then speed is the one if you can turn your dial up more than others there you have a definitive advantage.

Also as you can see Don1 was not fast so he doesn't fully get the speed advantage his brain sees and feels what it means to think how to beat speed, if you can do that and be productive then wicked, but that is a magic trick few can replicate, so Pirlo and to a lesser extent Andy Williams.

I played wing and wing back and at times attacking mid, my game was speed, strength, endurance and some skill, but speed and endurance created an advantage that is tough to beat.
                        I think the difference is you, Stoni, would choose your team based first on the metrics. Metrics would only be used as a guide for me, perhaps separating players who are otherwise "equal" on the pitch.

In my time of high school football, if it were based on metrics, I probably would have sat on the bench. I could not run long distances to save my life, so it would appear I was not fit. However, nobody put out more on the field. I had decent speed in flat races (don't forget that silver medal! ) but I can't remember anyone outrunning me to get to the ball first or to cover defensively. But I am sure I was not as "fast" as some players in a flat race.

Also, at 5' 8", I would be considered short, even in high school, for the central defender position, yet no one could jump higher for a ball. (It helped that I also did high, long and triple jumps in Class III).

So, the point again is, for me, it is what the player gives me on the football field first.

Yes, love the numbers still, but the most fundamental number is what you produce at play time are you a county cricketer or a test cricketer. Consistent Production in a pro setup trumps individual stats, thus a Pirlo or Andy Williams who are neither fast or significantly strong, even though Andy had a nice center of gravity strength.

Glad you have finally come around to my way of doing things!

Yes, but just remember production equals stats!!

Only to a degree. I would have failed every Burpee!