Research article,role of sprint speed in football!

• Research article,role of sprint speed in football!

http://www.researchgate.net/profile/...b039000000.pdf

This is so ridiculously obvious, anybody who has played football competitively even in a corner league should know this.
    Selection of slow, seemingly highly skilled players that are unproductive will bring jamaica nothing, nada, nought!!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    http://www.researchgate.net/profile/...b039000000.pdf

This is so ridiculously obvious, anybody who has played football competitively even in a corner league should know this.
    Selection of slow, seemingly highly skilled players that are unproductive will bring jamaica nothing, nada, nought!!!!

we might have to cut Wes Morgan from the team.

Stoni the round and sound in England is that they have taken

your thesis of speed for footballers to the extreme...now dem sey Arsenal Bellerin ran a faster first 40 metres than Usain Bolt's record winning run..when Usain set the current 100 metres record...What is your opinion bout dis assessment of Bellerin speed u tink him faster than Usain in short sprint.
        "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Media fun, how many people have we heard are faster than Boltvover the years, a few NFL players, rugby players, the slowest horse at caymanas etc

Speed can be countered by strength and positioning and team play. Wes has below average speed but he is very experienced and very strong he is also very fit which means total game endurance. Most important if all he is extremely productive, I will take bottom line results over speed, just really hate slow, stylish unproductive players.

Speed can be countered by strength and positioning and team play. .
              LOL!! Stoni yuh reach Damascus now

That's EXACTLY what I've been saying
              It's not a matter of "can" ....It's that speed is EASILY countered by player positioning and ball movement.

The speed of ball movement (passing) and effectiveness of quick thinking players continuously occupying time critical space is what ball is mostly about. Add good finishing ability.. and any team is good to go as a competitive unit.

Foot speed can provide a sustained edge ONLY IF the team can also execute the above

Let's prioritize the tactical & technical aspects of our game since JA is currently NOT competitive (technically & tactically) with the top tier in our VERY WEAK confederation.

Speedy Jamaican players will appear organically.

Ah di speed capital ah di universe yuh tawkin bout eunuh
              Last edited by Don1; April 15, 2015, 09:18 AM.

Stoni serious?

Stoni say: "Wes has below average speed but he is very experienced and very strong he is also very fit which means total game endurance."

In other words, you look past what they don't have and see if you can use what they do have!

Nuh dat mi a say bout Hue fi di last 15 years?!

Yes, him slow as paint, but we might need someone to compete a pass every 20 minutes and take a free kick that could trouble a goalkeeper. I'm sure Hue himself wishes he were faster and stronger and taller and less bald. We have to pick the best players for the team and we do that outside of the gym and without a clipboard filled with burpees!

Seriously Mosiah, I hope you are kidding. Wes has played over 500 professional matches, 500, five hundred, playing every season since 2002 and getting paid to do it by clubs that make real money.

KMT!

He, and a whole lot of them, should look a lot better.

Those stats don't frighten mi.

Well you may have something there, but 500 games should get serious respect. Just think our best two players in last thirty years, Gardener and a Fuller both have 350 and 450 pro club games throughout their club career. Goodison has about 440 and Wes not even close to done yet, him have another four to five years at least so you looking on close to 700 games, ironman business dat, so wi FI mek them, tough and durable.

How many games did Frank Sinclair have?

KMT!

No, no KMT, may be a rux to you, but more than five clubs over twenty years saw enough value in what he brought to the table to pay him to play 475 games, many of them in the Premiership.

You know I think that is the Jamaican football problem, we are always looking at the top line while everyone else is looking at the bottom line.

Top line is tha youth yah wicked, silky, cool mek a wicked pass one time, never see anything lie that in my life, I wait for the day for it to happen again, this youth is like Yagga Rowe, just exquisite timing.

Club looking at bottom line, this youth is unproductive, looks like a nice player, but not productive, too laid back, no speed, don't work hard enough, does not want to be here, cyan listen to instruction, ok let's fulfill his need and let him go.

So what we are finding is that there is a certain value at a pro ball level that our best Jamaican players cannot handle, is it the discipline thing then, is it the cold thing, is it the I can't tek no backra a tell me wha FI do, it is something that is missing.

What are you responding to?

Bottom line for me is, can he help the Reggae Boyz win matches? Clearly, we don't share that. And that's ok.

so wi FI mek them, tough and durable.
                              ...and slow

nuh figget dat