For Reggae Fan: Boxhill or Burrell?

• For Reggae Fan: Boxhill or Burrell?

For the poll question, I chose "somebody else." When Pope John Paul II, then the archbishop of Krakow, Poland, was elected Pope in 1978, he came from the "somebody else" category. The infighting and campaigning between two Italian cardinals considered to be front runners got so nasty. that John Paul II gained ground as an alternate candiate, and eventually won enough votes to become pope.

Until then, every pope since the mid-1500's had been Italian. Pope John Paul II had flaws, but by all accounts, he did a great job.

It's too much to ask for another miracle to happen in Jamaica. Since there will be no alternate candiate, we're stuck with a choice between Clarence Boxhill and Horace Burrell.

Early in his administration, I thought Boxhill made a horrible decision in dumping Carl Brown for Lazaroni. Not only did I think Carl Brown deserved to run his own show as a reward for sticking with Jamaica through thick and thin, I thought JFF, then up to its ears in Burrell's debts, couldn't afford Lazaroni.

I likened it to a teenage boy dumping his steady girlfriend for the hottie who dumped him once before.

At the time, Jamaica had won its first round World Cup qualifier against Haiti, possibly playing its best soccer in years in the second leg.

I watched the first leg in Miami, a 1-1 draw, in which Jamaica looked terrible. Jamiaca gave up a penalty kick in the first 30 seconds. Luckily, the Haitian shooter missed the net. Not only did Jamaica look terrible, I got stuck sitting in the stands with the Haitians, and when I got back to the hotel, I had to take a shower with a ScotchBrite pad.

To his credit, Boxhill has done an excellent job in getting corporate sponsors, and retiring the debts, mostly payable to Burrell, that he inherited . The JFF is financially solvent, but could be better.

Jamaica may have lost their two most recent friendlies, but they are once again starting to look like a team. All they need to do is start finding the net. I believe they have turned the corner.

On the other hand, Burrell has acted like a soap opera heel.

Burrell called in the JFF's debts that he incurred.

Burrell launched an "extraordinary congress" in a failed attempt to unseat Boxhill.

Burrell, in my opinion, acting with Jack Warner, used the status of CONCACAF and FIFA to delay the football academy and to thwart JFF's opportunities to make money by staging friendly matches (Bahrain)

I believe Burrell's sponsorship of several parish leagues were a bold faced attempt to buy votes at JFF Congress.

There was never a public explanation of how Burrell spent Jamaica's 1998 World Cup money.

Burrell may gloat over what happened on the field during his administration, and what happened during Boxhill's administration, but from 1996 through 2002, BURRELL never put on a yellow shirt and played for Jamaica.

If Burrell wins, and he has a very good chance, I am reminded of a song
    by 70-s era soft-pop group Seals & Crofts, who had two hits with "Diamond Girl" and "Summer Breeze" This is from another song on the same album:

"I'm the King.......I'm the King........OF NOTHING!"

In my opinion, given the state of JFF when Boxhill took office and its current state, I believe there is light at the end of the tunnel. BOXHILL DESERVES ONE MORE TERM TO FINISH THE JOB.

If Boxhill gets elected, RBSC should buy 6 dozen yellow bath towels from WalKayTargetKohl Mart and donate them to JFF.

Besides, I think Captain's Bakery donuts suck ! However, they make great hockey pucks. When a fat guy says a brand of donuts suck, PAY ATTENTION !
    Last edited by Bruce; June 12, 2007, 08:43 PM.

heh heh!

Wait till HL and ReggaeFan see this, dog nyam yu suppah....bout you a try make sense...kuy yu too

Besides, I think Captain's Bakery donuts suck ! However, they make great hockey pucks. When a fat guy says a brand of donuts suck, PAY ATTENTION !
        Dis yah tek di cake Bruce!
        Very good piece sar, you have put things in perspective.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bruce, you need to edit that scotchbrite part. Afterall, they are Haitians, not trinis!

Seriously though...

Mo, if you go back dis ya forumite said I am not 100% behind Burrell,mi is not a delegate but fi poll you kno is who.what happen to winston chung fah ? im still alive?

Chung Fah is still alive. I think he is coaching in Florida and may have some camps in Cayman and elsewhere.

The rest of your post - huh?

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
                For the poll question, I chose "somebody else." When Pope John Paul II, then the archbishop of Krakow, Poland, was elected Pope in 1978, he came from the "somebody else" category. The infighting and campaigning between two Italian cardinals considered to be front runners got so nasty. that John Paul II gained ground as an alternate candiate, and eventually won enough votes to become pope.

Until then, every pope since the mid-1500's had been Italian. Pope John Paul II had flaws, but by all accounts, he did a great job.

It's too much to ask for another miracle to happen in Jamaica. Since there will be no alternate candiate, we're stuck with a choice between Clarence Boxhill and Horace Burrell.

Early in his administration, I thought Boxhill made a horrible decision in dumping Carl Brown for Lazaroni. Not only did I think Carl Brown deserved to run his own show as a reward for sticking with Jamaica through thick and thin, I thought JFF, then up to its ears in Burrell's debts, couldn't afford Lazaroni.

I likened it to a teenage boy dumping his steady girlfriend for the hottie who dumped him once before.

At the time, Jamaica had won its first round World Cup qualifier against Haiti, possibly playing its best soccer in years in the second leg.

I watched the first leg in Miami, a 1-1 draw, in which Jamaica looked terrible. Jamiaca gave up a penalty kick in the first 30 seconds. Luckily, the Haitian shooter missed the net. Not only did Jamaica look terrible, I got stuck sitting in the stands with the Haitians, and when I got back to the hotel, I had to take a shower with a ScotchBrite pad.

To his credit, Boxhill has done an excellent job in getting corporate sponsors, and retiring the debts, mostly payable to Burrell, that he inherited . The JFF is financially solvent, but could be better.

Jamaica may have lost their two most recent friendlies, but they are once again starting to look like a team. All they need to do is start finding the net. I believe they have turned the corner.

On the other hand, Burrell has acted like a soap opera heel.

Burrell called in the JFF's debts that he incurred.

Burrell launched an "extraordinary congress" in a failed attempt to unseat Boxhill.

Burrell, in my opinion, acting with Jack Warner, used the status of CONCACAF and FIFA to delay the football academy and to thwart JFF's opportunities to make money by staging friendly matches (Bahrain)

I believe Burrell's sponsorship of several parish leagues were a bold faced attempt to buy votes at JFF Congress.

There was never a public explanation of how Burrell spent Jamaica's 1998 World Cup money.

Burrell may gloat over what happened on the field during his administration, and what happened during Boxhill's administration, but from 1996 through 2002, BURRELL never put on a yellow shirt and played for Jamaica.

If Burrell wins, and he has a very good chance, I am reminded of a song
                by 70-s era soft-pop group Seals & Crofts, who had two hits with "Diamond Girl" and "Summer Breeze" This is from another song on the same album:

"I'm the King.......I'm the King........OF NOTHING!"

In my opinion, given the state of JFF when Boxhill took office and its current state, I believe there is light at the end of the tunnel. BOXHILL DESERVES ONE MORE TERM TO FINISH THE JOB.

If Boxhill gets elected, RBSC should buy 6 dozen yellow bath towels from WalKayTargetKohl Mart and donate them to JFF.

Nice, Bruce!
                ...yet only a biased view.

Is the JFF really solvent?

What of the management of our national teams? Successful, you believe?

What of the admitted tremendous losses suffered at the gates of the National Stadium?

If you really think our present National Senior team is playing well...turning a corner...then...???

What of the many promises contained in Boxhill's manifesto?

...do not get me wrong, - Just visit this site and read the punches I threw at the Burrell administration - two (2) in particular i) something about "Nonsense Press Conference" and ii) "Why Transparency?" ...I think is worth a second look... - Burrell's administration left us no Youth Program...forget the Captain's recent utterances about Boxhill destroying "the Youth program". Burrell left us no lasting legacy.

I think the only thing the Captain has going for him was the tremendous leap forward of the game during his period in charge.

That we qualified for three (3) FIFA World Championships is fact.

That there were more players leaving to play professionally outside of the island than at any other previous time in our football history is fact.

That the Captain used his influence with "Jack" Warner to move our referees onto the World Stage, and our administrators unto numerous CFU, CONCACAF and FIFA committees is fact.

That vision to maximise on gains made during Burrell's time in charge was lacking is fact.

That the Captain managed the matter of attracting inflows of funds in less than a successful manner is fact.

That the Captain allowed the national teams to be operating in fits - stop-start-stop mode - is fact.

The matter of who will lead us after the coming Congress rests on whether or not the delegates see a brighter for the areas within football that they manager under Boxhill or under Burrell.

My ears to the ground tells me the Captain is the front runner. My sources tell me, if the St. Ann FA anti-Boxhill faction led by Danny Beckford falls and a pro-Boxhill faction steps in at the present the voting would end up 50+ votes for Burrell and 40+ for Boxhill...

...if Beckford's factions hold ground or a pro-Burrell faction replaces the current St. Ann FA leaders the voting currently would be 60+ for Burrell.

...btw - on the matter of sabotaging - Boxhill's changing of the rules on whether or not Burrell could have qualified to run for the JFF post in opposition to him was clear evidence of deliberate attempt to keep Burrell off the ballot.

Burrell is only in the race because a member Parish - Clarendon - on being presented with Boxhill's 'new keep out Burrell rules' welcomed Burrell and an Executive of the Clarendon FA resigned his seat and with the Clarendon FA's compliance allowed Burrell an uncontested seat on its Executive.

The irony is the Clarendon FA is one of three (3) FAs Boxhill once headed as President....and, it is in a JFF CONFEDERATION that Boxhill once headed.

Boxhill's faction has also repeatedly tried to take over a number of Parish FAs. The lastest I remember is Westmoreland. That faction's slate was roundly beaten at the polls.

Burrell's outster from JFF president could also be seen as a result of his having upset Boxhill. There was a reason why Boxhill turned on Burrell and with the complicity of his outside followers and other JFF members.

Burrell 's outster was engineered. The use of outside funds to sponsor delegates including their stay at a hotel points to sinister undertones.

Boxhill's work at throwing Burrell out of office may have been altruistic...but, it could also have had something to do with Boxhill's removal as Manager of the National Senior TEAM and perceived errosion of Boxhill's position of influence/strength within the Burrell's administration.

As to Boxhill's failure to land a deal with Bahrain, that had more to do with Boxhill's managing of the contract negotiations than any attempt by Burrell to prevent that happening.

Certainly failures of the various national teams moving beyond qualifiers to FIFA World Championships during the Boxhill reign can only be laid at Boxhill's feet?

Come the next JFF Congress, be it Boxhill or Burrell managing of our football cannot be allowed to continue on as it has post-'98. There just is too much unfulfilled potential - players, teams and country - to allow that to continue. Hopefully whether Boxhill or Burrell, the message has been clearly grasped by the victor that Jamaica's football needs dedicated excellent managers.
                Last edited by Karl; June 13, 2007, 04:27 PM.

Yuh can mek tings sound factual, eh?
                  Last edited by Karl; June 13, 2007, 05:40 PM.

Yuh can mek tings sound factual, eh?
                    Sarry!
                    mi lick edit hin-stedda a quote.

--

Yuh tell mi iffen a deal cudda nva wuk hout iffen di demands dem neva too high?