Stoni, a see a man run down Messi today

• Stoni, a see a man run down Messi today

Him make Messi look like he wasn't even trying.

By the way, you think Messi faster than Ashley Young, or Gabbi from Villa?

On the subject of Andy and why he didn't get further. The biggest problem with Andy was the defensive part of his game, not speed. Andy was either really not interested in the defensive side of his game or a bit lazy getting back until his last few years with Real Salt Lake.

Is me yuh ah tell bout Andy, if we still had all those things we wrote from 97-98 you would see the countless times of me bemoaning his inadequacies on the defensive side. He is not a natural ball hawk or chicken tief, the skills needed for that is speed, athleticism and a mind that ticks like Suarez, always looking for weakness in the opponent, waiting for a lapse and BAM!!!!! Him Neva have that and that is what I would like our players to possess, a fast and active mind and speed and athleticism to take advantage of any opportunity.

A man running with a ball should always be catchable in my mind if you want him bad enough, I have been close to being left in the dust once in my life, playing division one ball in Texas as a 45 yo and a 20 yo a African American speed demon caught me out of position and he flew down the wing, I was with him for first few steps then I realized damn he is fast, he is going to score if I don't stop him, so I did the most jamaican thing I could, I took him down, one more step and I would not have touched him, I somehow managed to not get any card for that.

Messi's greatest asset is speed and control with the ball and the incredible athleticism to finish as strongly as his run started. I have watched many of his goals over and over and I am just amazed at each phase of those goals he scores where he dribbles at speed through and by opponents and scores with what seems to be amazing simplicity. Then I watch a Sterling and he does some of the same, his runs and dribbles are great but his finishing is atrocious, that is the greatness of Messi end to end brilliance.

in my mind if you want him bad enough.....................~sigh~
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hey, at the end of the day, everything come down to personal pride and ownership, that is how I see it and I can see that in players, when a guy gets beat and he does nothing or has a weak reaction, trek him off, that is why I love McAnuff, him tek it personal and professional all at the same time, it is not enough to be just a pro, it has to be personal too, something in your gut must flicker and fire, especially on any kind of defensive duty, you can't fake good defensive play.