Funny how Maestro was able to perform even while being double and triple-teamed by some of the fiercest and fastest defenders.
The fact that he wasn't able to make it in Sweden and the MLS should not be taken as confirmation that he was not good enough as a footballer. There are too many stories of players who found it difficult to operate in one particular league or the other, yet excel in the next.
agreed
Success or failure at a VERY competitive & long-tailed activity like football is complicated since it's enveloped in a web of interconnected strands
Reducing that complexity to a few discrete cause/effect constructs is often too simplistic
Mind you I'm not accusing Stoni of being simplistic.... necessarily
Hey remember one thing, is not the ball them trying to outrun, is the other guy trying to get there before they do. That is why speed is an advantage, I could still show a few of you old fogies why speed is important by just playing simple one on one, speed, strength and decent skill is always better than plenty skill, average speed and average strength, put in intelligence and enthusiasm in there that makes a mini Suarez in my books.
Spped is critical in every part of the game and I have used my better than average speed and strength to maximum effect against much more skilled opponents and I can sit here and laugh a thousand times at picked off balls and goals scored aplenty. Speed is critical in defending, closing space on an opponent, causing passing players to change their pass options, causing receiving the pass players to bobble the ball or lose the ball, speed is critical in picking off balls that also requires a intuitive type mind of options the players have and narrowing possibilities on what type of pass they will make, speed is especially effective in getting loose balls, in getting balls that are even 40-60 when the other guy is a lackadaisical guy who you can feel his vibe by just a quick view, so that is just defense alone, I haven't even touched attack.
Yeah, especially the idea of responsibility for your action and teamwork. You know how much yardman team me play on that all it need is one little argument and the whole team completely fry, not just isolated, this is in Ny, Florida, Texas.
Hey remember one thing, is not the ball them trying to outrun, is the other guy trying to get there before they do. That is why speed is an advantage, I could still show a few of you old fogies why speed is important by just playing simple one on one, speed, strength and decent skill is always better than plenty skill, average speed and average strength, put in intelligence and enthusiasm in there that makes a mini Suarez in my books.
Spped is critical in every part of the game and I have used my better than average speed and strength to maximum effect against much more skilled opponents and I can sit here and laugh a thousand times at picked off balls and goals scored aplenty. Speed is critical in defending, closing space on an opponent, causing passing players to change their pass options, causing receiving the pass players to bobble the ball or lose the ball, speed is critical in picking off balls that also requires a intuitive type mind of options the players have and narrowing possibilities on what type of pass they will make, speed is especially effective in getting loose balls, in getting balls that are even 40-60 when the other guy is a lackadaisical guy who you can feel his vibe by just a quick view, so that is just defense alone, I haven't even touched attack.
Stoni the fact that the ball can move ~10X faster than the fastest human means that passing and off the ball movement into time-critical space is the essence of success in football... The only thing faster than ball movement on the field is the info processing and decision making taking place continuously in the brain.
So speed of thought & optimal selection of play & position (i.e. tactical elements) are the most critical success factors (along with technical abilities of course).
Great foot speed is a nice value adding element which can provide a sustainable edge... BUT ONLY IF the other 3 FAR more important elements above are present in abundance
It takes intelligence or what we back in the day called "ball sense" both to execute optimal passes when in possession of the ball.. AND also to position oneself optimally when off the ball in the field space-time-continuum
Early anticipation of and execution into optimal field & body positions as well as smarts with the ball.... beat foot speed 90% of the time.
Dats why a relatively slow side like Mexico cyan tik-tak ball round wi... round-di-clock...yuhzimi? Wi fast an foolish most times and ALWAYS playing "catch up" to recover from bad positioning or bad pass execution.
Dat naw werk Stoni. Great foot speed noice...but is overrated. Jamaica is the poster child for that truth
Cho man all ah unnu head tougher than mine. Bear coconut head man bout yah, watch this!! Of the ten fastest man in football today here is the breakdown, bale at number two, Ronaldo at four, Messi at six, Ribera at eight, robbed at 9 and Sanchez at ten. What dat tell you, speed in football is like a man from Krypton on Earth, gives you amazing powers, that is why six of ten ballers in the world are in the top ten fastest pro ballers. Cho man give it up, hue with eleven flat type speed would be a straight up concacaf demon. I bet hue never crack 12.5 on a 100 meter in him life.
We have a serious problem working as a unit and building rather than looking for a "babylon" to blame. Manage my hometown team and set a structure but no follow through. Same thing in NY. Once you offer yourself to help, everybody have idea, are rebels and are critics, once leadership decide to cry cree all the critics now back away. It is always about who know ball and who go a what school or who play with who. nuff times not about the upliftment or the kids.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Cho man all ah unnu head tougher than mine. Bear coconut head man bout yah, watch this!! Of the ten fastest man in football today here is the breakdown, bale at number two, Ronaldo at four, Messi at six, Ribera at eight, robbed at 9 and Sanchez at ten. What dat tell you, speed in football is like a man from Krypton on Earth, gives you amazing powers, that is why six of ten ballers in the world are in the top ten fastest pro ballers. Cho man give it up, hue with eleven flat type speed would be a straight up concacaf demon. I bet hue never crack 12.5 on a 100 meter in him life.
What kinda eediat list is that? Why yuh don't list the slow players who are also doing well on the field?!?! Not all the world's best players are fast. Of course, it doesn't hurt when you are, but others are doing their thing while being slow as paint.
So, don't get it twisted. No one is saying speed is a negative. But some of are saying this is not T&F or Bolt and Blake would be playing for ManU and Barcelona.
Any a dem faster than Shelton?? or Dane? What division are they playing in now???
How many a dem fast like Buddyhead playing at New Castle, who use to deh a Manu?
If you play defense long enough you will know that with pure speed a player maybe easy to defend but when it comes with "the rock" spins and other wicked skill, it is a problem.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
All right, all right give me one, just one slow player you would take over that six, of all the great slow players around now, who would you take over these sixto start your franchise, let's take age out of consideration.
You seem to be saying that people have a problem with speed. Whoever said that???!?!?
So, if the 20 best players are all speedsters...in fact, let's give you that. The 100 best players in the world are lightning fast. What does that say about a Mertesacker, or a Pirlo, or a Tappa Whitmore, a Fabregas, or a Russell Latapy?!?! Did I ever say Hue ranks among the top 6 players?!?!
Success or failure at a VERY competitive & long-tailed activity like football is complicated since it's enveloped in a web of interconnected strands
Reducing that complexity to a few discrete cause/effect constructs is often too simplistic
Mind you I'm not accusing Stoni of being simplistic.... necessarily
I am!
Stoni looks like he could coach in the USA. He fails to understand what speed means in football, how it is used, how it is assessed, how it is trained. He jumps on the latest trend as if it were gospel, and waits to pounce on the next one, always trying to mold our situation to the tactics of the day.