Time to call some MLS players to the national side

• Time to call some MLS players to the national side

And since Bora is trying to look at those he may not know, may I suggest he invite Nicholas Addlery (DC United), Stephen de Roux (DC United) and Dane Richards (Red Bulls) for trials in preparation for the Far East tour. Apparently, more countries are signing up for a game against the Boyz, as reported on the news this morning.

Addlery has played in Vietnam and has already begun to contribute to the ascending DC United with a goal and an assist.

Dane Richards has proven to be quite effecive with the Red Bulls this season using his speed to his advantage.

de Roux is a versatile left-sided player at either defence or midfield.

They deserve a look as everyone else!

What about the big Central Defender .. Shavar Thomas?

And Marshall and Williams? Just that I think Bora might already know of their abilities. Remember, Bora is on this big exploration thingy.

saw dane play. he is lively not sure if he makes the cut.

ahbwoy

mi think unnu a stick wid di program

nobody nuh tell him bout Akeem Priestly?

Bora need fi either go scouting in America or England or call a few players to see what he has.

Mi nah stop say so. A early days but every tradesman need to know his tools.

At what level is Akeem playing? Not that it seriously matters, but playing college ball and MLS is two different ting.

I wasn't sure (still not sure) about many who were called by Bora. Dane is not much worse than any of them.

At what level is Akeem playing? Not that it seriously matters, but playing college ball and MLS is two different ting.
                Well, how about the fact that he is playing ball? You see people want to call back Tappa to the international scene when he is not playing any ball. I think college ball should count fi suppen.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Playing with an elite D1 college like UCONN is better than any NPL team. He is in year long training and has a training schedule. The last time he played with the age group while in college he was heads above them.

Watch for him this year as its his year to make his mark in NCAA. I know Jamaicans have this thing about college but playing for a D3 college or a community college is different from playing for one of the elite D1 colleges with programs that are next to the MLS.

Don't have a problem with a call up for him, but he should rank below those others playing in the MLS. No?

Not sure about that, sass. Slow your wayward roll. Elite college like UConn? Where did they finish last year? I have seen players from other elite programs come back to the NPL and look just above ordinary, so let's get a grip. None has taken the place by storm.

I don't mind if he gets a call up, but he should certainly rank behind those playing in the MLS. Right or wrong?

Mo what elite programs are you talking about? I am talking about UCONN, St.John, Notre Dame, LSU, Duke etc.

For the first time in years they didn't do too well but the Coach is considered one of the best in College and they will be in the thick of things this year. Akeem can tell you himself the program he is involved in is like nothing he had at HV.

No doubt these schools will have better programs (coaching, facilities, medical, etc.) than most if not all of our NPL sides. It's the calibre of players and the quality of the competition that is not always up there. They play quite a bit of rucks before they get into the tournament.

The simple fact is I am very familiar with Akeem Priestly. Two years in college not going to transform him into our next Tappa.

Again, sass, do you think those in the MLS would deserve a trial with the Reggae Boyz ahead of Akeem and others in college? Simple yes or no will do. Thanks!

Sass, you conveniently had to go for lunch, huh?

I can tell you that UCONN and St.Johns have top programs and there is no reason why Akeem can't be considered with MLS players.

check the players these schools send to the MLS over the years, Shalrie Josephs, Damani Raplh, etc. They produce many MLS players and even some world cup players.

The zone in the Big east is hot with UCONN, St.Johns, Rutgers, Colombia etc. all decent colleges.