This is my take on the 2nd U17 Boyz vs USA match:

• This is my take on the 2nd U17 Boyz vs USA match:

See "This is my take on the U17 Boyz vs USA:" I'll copy and paste it here. First match comments in blue.

It was good to see the youngsters not playing scared. They had a swagger about themselves even when making the wrong decisions and ill-advised dribbles. Even the penalty kick was cooly and maturely taken. - I don't think we played as confidently as we did in the first match. Were they tired? They certainly did not get to the ball as quickly as most of us thought they did in the first match.

Still trying to see what Karl keeps harping about. Their effort throughout the match was very good to excellent, from start to finish. They may have had a little more pep in their step once they took the lead, but that is to be expected as they tried to frustrate the Yanks with wild clearances and stout defending. - They appeared off this match. However, what a fantastic cover to thwart that effort from the Americans in the 6 yard box. Had the player stopped following the ball, that could have been 1-0!

Throughout the match, rarely did the Americans get a chance to settle. However, the Jamaicans did not play smart in defence. On numerous occasions, 2, 3 or more players bum-rushed 1 American with the ball, leaving unmarked opponents in potentially dangerous positions. I have to agree with the commentators who marveled at how mind-bogglingly ignorant our marking and positioning was in defence. - I thought the Americans settled quite well in this match. I thought the left back had a good game, marshalling the entire left side of the pitch. Our players seemed to have been more aware of the spaces and zones around them. Maybe Colour noticed as well that having 3 or 4 players attacking one US player could spell disaster for us.

The Americans created some chances while we did not create even one and at no time did we look like we would. If Assasin is happy about that...

The other thing we need to work on is our first touch and how we position our bodies when receiving the ball. I would like to think the Coach has worked with them on these things, but they need to work harder, way before Colour even selects them. - This continues to suck, but I didn't really expect them to fix it in a few days. Clearly, it has been bad for years!

The passing was atrocious. Jamaican players tend to just kick the ball in the general direction of their teammates and hope for the best. (Such tendencies are on display at every NPL match.) The technique was poor, invariably forcing the ball to bobble up rather than roll across a difficult pitch. The passes were generally without the correct weight and spin. - The bad passing continued. On one rare occasion when we had the opportunity to cross the ball, instead of trying to send an accurate ball to the lone striker, a big foot was just flung into the ball. Mind you, not sure if the player tried to find the striker he would have been able to do it.

It surprised me that most of the penalty kicks were so well taken, given our horrible technique, generally. When the No. 5 blasted his kick high, exhibiting the worst techniques ever, that was more what I was expecting.

I like how Adamolekun played team in attack, at least tried to on a couple occasions. Whatever happened to one-two, give-and-go football?!?! Why can’t our players do more of that simple but proven method to beat opponents?!? - Again, no "give-and-go" plays. Did Colour rule out that move in his write-up?

The goalie was brilliant! The way he marshalled his area, came out of the goal to cut off the angles, making foot saves when necessary and simply inspiring confidence in the team - MVP performance! - Again, the goalie was inspiring. Look at how he restarted the offence, finding the open man and correctly deciding whether to roll it out or throw it overhead. Big man keeper. How tall is he? Needs to work on his goal kicks and punts though! Started the penalties with a wonderful save! Pity that couldn't carry us thru.

Re the penalty kicks - it is my view that goalies should never be left standing upright for penalty kicks. You must choose a side and commit. It appears some goalies are either embarrassed about going the wrong way, lazy, or can't bother to dive on tough playing surfaces (like in Jamaica, for instance). You generally see these upright penalty goalies in the lesser leagues in Jamaica, and the NPL to some extent. How many times do we see it at the highest level?

Over the years I have noticed that players generally kick across their body, so right-footers kick to the goalie's right, while left footers kick to the goalie's left. Unless you know a player's preference, that would be my advice to the goalie. Now, my theory is not supported by the facts, apparently. http://www.scienceofsocceronline.com...y-numbers.html - "Thus, the best strategy for goal keepers is to remain in the center of the goal during the penalty kick. Thus the idea that goal keepers should jump left or right and hope they guess correctly is not supported by these numbers."

I find it very difficult to support this view!

Fitness, heart, athletic ability and dribbling ability (not skill) were all on display with the Young Boyz. Time for us to start doing more. I think our national coaches get a rough deal having to work with such players. It’s no wonder that the top European clubs will have nothing to do with our players once they pass 19/20 years old. - Our Boyz still played with heart and speed, but for me, we need to do more. I understand Colour's philosophy, I think. (There seem to have been some conflicting points.) But Colour will not be able to execute his plan if our players do not master the basic skills of ball control, passing and shooting. But I guess, since we have not mastered them, it is better to get the ball deep and make the mistakes in the opponent's half than in ours!

I appreciate Colour's view that victory is the important thing, not how they look trying to achieve it. I have often wondered why, in the dying moments of a game, when a team is trying to equalise or win a match, they forget everything about midfield play and boot it long. (Of course, some teams still stick to their patient midfield passing, many others abandon it!) If they feel that is the way they are going to score, then why not just start the match playing that way and continue for the whole 90 mins or more?!? Now, Tappa's philosphy makes every sense in the world - boot it long and try and play only in the last 3rd of the field! We do not have the players to play otherwise, ergo...!

Comments welcome!
    Last edited by Mosiah; March 18, 2015, 11:13 PM.

[QUOTE=Mosiah;513038]See "This is my take on the U17 Boyz vs USA:" I'll copy and paste it here. First match comments in blue.

It was good to see the youngsters not playing scared. They had a swagger about themselves even when making the wrong decisions and ill-advised dribbles. Even the penalty kick was cooly and maturely taken. - I don't think we played as confidently as we did in the first match. Were they tired? They certainly did not get to the ball as quickly as most of us thought they did in the first match.

They appeared to be of the same mental strength. Good! Did not see any fall off. The USA just played that tad more composed and more sensibly.

Still trying to see what Karl keeps harping about. Their effort throughout the match was very good to excellent, from start to finish. They may have had a little more pep in their step once they took the lead, but that is to be expected as they tried to frustrate the Yanks with wild clearances and stout defending. - They appeared off this match. However, what a fantastic cover to thwart that effort from the Americans in the 6 yard box. Had the player stopped following the ball, that could have been 1-0!

We need to understand that "getting to the ball" does not start when a desperate attempt is being made - matters not if the desperate attempt is on defense deep in our half or in midfield or in attack.

This is a TEAM game and if midfielder "x" allows a ball to go unchallenged and defender "y" performs as you stated (and we all saw) then all it means if such combined behaviour is a feature of our play is, WE ARE NOT GETTING TO THE BALL! You cannot zero in on the defender's corrective play and point to that as we are following the ball. As fact, in that instance the defender "got to the ball" but you either missed or deliberately overlooked the TEAM performance in that area of "getting to the ball

My previous post's referenced play was in context of TEAM (effort & goal=aim): The play as I referenced does not start and end with the defenders action.

So on your referenced play: The question is, what occurred before the defender made that interception? Was there an instance or were there instances as the USA play was being built when "getting to the ball" was not done? This is a TEAM game!!!

In my previous post pointing to the TEAM's lack of effort on "getting to the ball" I referenced a feature of the TEAM's play. Clearly there must have been instances when an individual "got to the ball"...but was such action consistent and more importantly was it a consistent feature of each player's game? ...and most importantly a consistent feature of the TEAM! My conclusion on watching this TEAM throughout this tournament - It is not!

btw -
    Exactly what occurred during that USA attack of which you spoke (:

Plays on the field can be broken down to the individual act. Clear logic says in that instance the defender followed the ball=got to the ball.

Specific to this last game (penalty-kick decided game): We started quite well. It was our passing, aimless kicking out=booting it long and 8+ instances of not getting to the ball that let us down in a contested 1st half.

There were moments when we took big kicks and gave away the ball when deliberate=commonsense=good tactical passes were needed to assist in retention of possession and building of our attacks - instances that were glaring - 9th min, 18th min, 37min, 40min, 42min Long hopeful kick whereon in each instance our player nearest where the ball came to ground made no attempt to "get to the ball". In those instances our player waited while the USA player attacked the ball..."got to the ball" and got possession.

Those "give-aways" - long ball hits - were balls our forwards watched the USA win. That happened too often. That highlights a problem.

Let me give a lesson on long high balls to forwards. Such balls are most often there for whomever wants it. = The ball travels long distances which allow time for players to "get to it".

There are two ways to attack such balls in a crowded space:
    In either case the aim is to get to the ball first!!!
    Remember it is a high ball so whoever gets to it must:
    - get to area where it becomes playable...

- then jump to meet it at a point higher than those around...

...or...

- get to area where it becomes playable...

- adjudge correctly that time and space is available to 'catch' the ball....head, chest, thigh, foot or wherever...

The important thing is the ball must be attacked - "get to the ball". No way, no how, must it be just given to the opposition via 'making no effort' = 'not getting to it" to retain possession for your TEAM...

...having won the ball make the pass (either on goal or to TEAM-mate).

The referenced game - USA v JA (USA won on penalty-kicks): Still think we had a fair (good?) first half...but obviously there are things we must work on:
    - technical ability;
    - passing...movement and passing
    - "getting to the ball" FIRST!

Big Plus: The tactical organisation was for greater part of the game, GOOD, very good. Colour and his TEAM please take a

2nd half to come. Have to take a break from watching and reviewing! ...that 1st half I think is enough of example. Right?

Let me take us back to the first minute of play (1 min):
    The USA attacks deep into our half on the right. At approximately 1 yard from the corner flag the USA attacker crosses the ball.

We win the ball (JA #7) who makes a one-time touch pass to our #...(cannot be sure of same)...who with time and space and who has SUPPORT players to his right and left boots the ball (wacks the ball) to a USA player.

-------------------
    Back to Mosiah

Throughout the match, rarely did the Americans get a chance to settle. However, the Jamaicans did not play smart in defence. On numerous occasions, 2, 3 or more players bum-rushed 1 American with the ball, leaving unmarked opponents in potentially dangerous positions. I have to agree with the commentators who marveled at how mind-bogglingly ignorant our marking and positioning was in defence. - I thought the Americans settled quite well in this match. I thought the left back had a good game, marshalling the entire left side of the pitch. Our players seemed to have been more aware of the spaces and zones around them. Maybe Colour noticed as well that having 3 or 4 players attacking one US player could spell disaster for us.

The Americans created some chances while we did not create even one and at no time did we look like we would. If Assasin is happy about that...

As general comment - Agreed!...however the rider is, we took at least 2 shots although we did not work the USA goalkeeper. More a result of technique than a shot was not on = a chance not created.

The other thing we need to work on is our first touch and how we position our bodies when receiving the ball. I would like to think the Coach has worked with them on these things, but they need to work harder, way before Colour even selects them. - This continuous to suck, but I didn't really expect them to fix it in a few days. Clearly, it has been bad for years!

Agreed!

The passing was atrocious. Jamaican players tend to just kick the ball in the general direction of their teammates and hope for the best. (Such tendencies are on display at every NPL match.) The technique was poor, invariably forcing the ball to bobble up rather than roll across a difficult pitch. The passes were generally without the correct weight and spin. - The bad passing continued. On one rare occasion when we had the opportunity to cross the ball, instead of trying to send an accurate ball to the lone striker, a big foot was just flung into the ball. Mind you, not sure if the player tried to find the striker he would have been able to do it.

Agreed!

It surprised me that most of the penalty kicks were so well taken, given our horrible technique, generally. When the No. 5 blasted his kick high, exhibiting the worst techniques ever, that was more what I was expecting.

Like you had little confidence in our winning the penalty-kicks.

I like how Adamolekun played team in attack, at least tried to on a couple occasions. Whatever happened to one-two, give-and-go football?!?! Why can’t our players do more of that simple but proven method to beat opponents?!? - Again, no "give-and-go" plays. Did Colour rule out that move in his write-up?

Agreed!

The goalie was brilliant! The way he marshalled his area, came out of the goal to cut off the angles, making foot saves when necessary and simply inspiring confidence in the team - MVP performance! - Again, the goalie was inspiring. Look at how he restarted the offence, finding the open man and correctly deciding whether to roll it out or throw it overhead. Big man keeper. How tall is he? Needs to work on his goal kicks and punts though! Started the penalties with a wonderful save! Pity that couldn't carry us thru.

Absolutely!

Re the penalty kicks - it is my view that goalies should never be left standing upright for penalty kicks. You must choose a side and commit. It appears some goalies are either embarrassed about going the wrong way, lazy, or can't bother to dive on tough playing surfaces (like in Jamaica, for instance). You generally see these upright penalty goalies in the lesser leagues in Jamaica, and the NPL to some extent. How many times do we see it at the highest level?

OK!
    ...but our 'keeper saved a kick early.
    What if he went 'cerebral' and decided one more save would win the game? ...banking on at least one USA player going straight down the middle?

Just saying he play smart and well consistently...so what about...

Over the years I have noticed that players generally kick across their body, so right-footers kick to the goalie's right, while left footers kick to the goalie's left. Unless you know a player's preference, that would be my advice to the goalie. Now, my theory is not supported by the facts, apparently. http://www.scienceofsocceronline.com...y-numbers.html - "Thus, the best strategy for goal keepers is to remain in the center of the goal during the penalty kick. Thus the idea that goal keepers should jump left or right and hope they guess correctly is not supported by these numbers."

I find it very difficult to support this view!

OK!

Fitness, heart, athletic ability and dribbling ability (not skill) were all on display with the Young Boyz. Time for us to start doing more. I think our national coaches get a rough deal having to work with such players. It’s no wonder that the top European clubs will have nothing to do with our players once they pass 19/20 years old. - Our Boyz still played with heart and speed, but for me, we need to do more. I understand Colour's philosophy, I think. (There seem to have been some conflicting points.) But Colour will not be able to execute his plan if our players do not master the basic skills of ball control, passing and shooting. But I guess, since we have not mastered them, it is better to get the ball deep and make the mistakes in the opponent's half than in ours!

I appreciate Colour's view that victory is the important thing, not how they look trying to achieve it. I have often wondered why, in the dying moments of a game, when a team is trying to equalise or win a match, they forget everything about midfield play and boot it long. (Of course, some teams still stick to their patient midfield passing, many others abandon it!) If they feel that is the way they are going to score, then why not just start the match playing that way and continue for the whole 90 mins or more?!? Now, Tappa's philosphy makes every sense in the world - boot it long and try and play only in the last 3rd of the field! We do not have the players to play otherwise, ergo...!

- Speed - Mind=thinking=commonsense plays - Quick feet - too many crazy moves..e.g. draw and 360, ignoring of one-time passes, judicious mix of pass and when to beat (simple beat and immediate pass to TEAM-mate), pace across ground...too often it was not explosive or immediate move to get to ball...it was too often slow first steps then shifting into 'upping the pace'... in all areas speed not well used on consistent basis.

- Agreed! ...need to improve on "logical thinking" skill set; and the technical areas of trapping and passing...plus use of one-time passing and "best way to beat opponent = use friend/use TEAM-mate"...and understand why it is vital=understanding the concept behind "getting to the ball first".

Comments welcome!

Oh yeah!
    Last edited by Karl; March 18, 2015, 12:39 PM.

Thanks man, good comments on both matches. Tough to talk about for me, saw massive issues in the Cuba match and that was a critical game, they seemed to get better after that but bottom line is we are in the same spot again. Missing out on the big dance!

Mo, sorry I can't get to respond to this like I wanted as I am having some crazy time right now, however a few things now.

What I like most about Colour team is the defensive shape and the speed of which the ball is switched from sides to sides. Normally we just go straight up one wing and end up in trouble or take 5 minutes to move from one wing or another while the other team reads it.

The next thing I like is I see a few 10 or 15 yard passes actually connected. Only few Jamaican players even at the senior level can do this consistently, yes Jermaine Hue was one.

I have no problem getting rid of the ball from the back as if we keep it too long we normally give it away in our half. For me playing defense I want to give the ball to my midfielders but it they are not there or giving it way too often, sorry but I am looking for someone further upfield.

I do not only look at the body of work in the US game but at the complete tournament. We are not where we want to be, but as someone who knows football, you can see a few kids you could work with on the field.

As for Tappa and the u20 you have to give me a snippet of what you are really comparing to come to in your statement. After watching the first two games, it was hard for me to watch another with the u20. I did but it was very hard. The least we can do is come to a tournament to compete. I don't believe we will consistently qualify but competing is the least we can do especially at home. After seeing that it was refreshing to see the u20 perform as USAF and others can tell you the US was very high on this u20 team and they have scored on almost all teams they have played in the last year. Most of the goals that score on us in this tournament were some mistakes that could be fixed.

The last US game was not our best game but we were good enough to stop the US and confuse them and I know the US team had a lot of respect for our young boyz. As for Colour's Long and Short I will try make some time on the weekend.

Should read.
          As for Tappa and the u20 you have to give me a snippet of what you are really comparing to come to in your statement. After watching the first two games, it was hard for me to watch another with the u20. I did but it was very hard. The least we can do is come to a tournament to compete. I don't believe we will consistently qualify but competing is the least we can do especially at home. After seeing that it was refreshing to see the u17 perform as USAF and others can tell you the US was very high on this u17 team and they have scored on almost all teams they have played in the last year. Most of the goals that score on us in this tournament were some mistakes that could be fixed

Here's the coach's take:
            http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...raid-_18595451

Not too unlike what I said.

I don't think we played as confidently as we did in the first match. Were they tired? They certainly did not get to the ball as quickly as most of us thought they did in the first match.

They appeared off this match.

By the way, with the goalie, I think he spend too much time trying to guess where the shots were going instead of taking a chance and he was left flatfooted on some of the penalties.

So you are agreeing with me then. Wha, yuh fraid fi say it?

lol...too hard for both of you.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

mi agree with you for most but it seems like you never wan't say it out, as you put in Lazy etc. inna it. Agree with most of many of your observation.

Quote:

I don't think we played as confidently as we did in the first match. Were they tired? They certainly did not get to the ball as quickly as most of us thought they did in the first match.

They appeared off this match.

Yuh sure bout dat?
                        ...thought you said, they were doing a good job getting to the ball

Surely they could not be doing that even as They certainly did not get to the ball as quickly as most of us thought they did in the first match???

Yuh sure bout dat?
                          ...thought you said, they were doing a good job getting to the ball

Surely they could not be doing that even as They certainly did not get to the ball as quickly as most of us thought they did in the first match???
                          HUH?!??!?!? I am totally confused! But, it won't be the last when reading your post. When did I say they were "doing a good job getting to the ball" in the 2nd match?!?!?!!

Karl...read what I said again...slowly!

HUH?!??!?!? I am totally confused! But, it won't be the last when reading your post. When did I say they were "doing a good job getting to the ball" in the 2nd match?!?!?!!

Karl...read what I said again...slowly!

When you said you did not know what I was on about with my claim that getting to the ball was not as desired=was wanting.
                            Last edited by Karl; March 22, 2015, 07:57 AM.