2015 CONCACAF U-17 FINAL TOURNAMENT: How good were we?

• 2015 CONCACAF U-17 FINAL TOURNAMENT: How good were we?

Let me preface my comments with a repeat of question I have asked in the past. What does it profit us to be less than brutally honest (with ourselves)?

My assessment: In this tournament we were 6th in terms of quality.

1. Mexico

2. Honduras

3. USA

4. Canada

5. Panama

6. Jamaica

That did not stop me being emotionally tied to my young representatives and once again weeping in frustration for what should have been; that proper teaching withheld from our extremely gifted young.

It is a testament to teacher-coach "Colour" Edwards and his young charges that they attained the heights of a penalty-kick away from visiting at the upcoming FIFA U-17 Final tournament.

All praises to their resolve!

Great performance relative to u20's but again that is not the standard we are shooting for, we should have qualified.

Had we played like we should in the Cuba and Honduras match we would not be weeping, moaning and gnashing of teeth.

We gave this one away and it was not in the last two games!!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      Great performance relative to u20's but again that is not the standard we are shooting for, we should have qualified.

Had we played like we should in the Cuba and Honduras match we would not be weeping, moaning and gnashing of teeth.

We gave this one away and it was not in the last two games!!!!
      We started the tournament tentatively, we should've beat Cuba at least

Really unfair to judge. I don't think Honduras is one of the best team but playing at home you have that advantage. It is simple we should have had the two zones playing against each other to really make an assessment if Canada and Costa Rica was that good. Remember we beat Costa Rica once and they beat us once in warm up.

It is sad that the boys lose but that is the least we should tolerate, a competitive side that comes to compete.

Well done to the boys and the coaching staff.

Unfair to judge!!!??? You serious Assasin, it's judgement, review, reassessment, gap analysis, improvement steps, execution in training, execution in games etc etc that gets us to the next place. That is nothing but judgement and review.

What we learn is that is not the best team that wins, it is the one that is best mentally and physically prepared to fight, that is why hone advantage is so important, if prepared it is an extra edge and when facing a home team in the first game you must be doubly prepared to frustrate, block and create chaos for the home team, we just gave them the easiest three points of the tournament.

Serious brutal honesty necessary to get to the next place, which is qualification, which we handed to Honduras and Us on a gold plate served up with our backs bowed waiting to be dismissed.

yes it is. On paper as a team the US seems miles ahead but on the field? Does it say something that after two games we beat them and draw??? Who really have the better team here?
            The groups didn't play each other. If we are judging based on slick passing and positioning maybe but there are a lot more factors. Did Canada pick up 3-0? Is that a good team?

There is a reason it is called home advantage and 17 year old playing their first game in such a tournament against the home side? Now the penalty against Cuba would have put us in a different light.

Ooops?!
              Costa Rica is also better TEAM!
              ...my bad!
              Please put then in as 2nd in my ranking. All others below then drop 1 place.

I think we always focus on one single event too much, the Cuba game was not about the penalty, it was pretty well taken and it was excellently saved, saved, it was no mistake. The mistake was the goal we allowed them to score and the number of uncontested shots they took against us, we should have lost that match.

It is not about how good the team talent is, it is about willingness to compete and battle and to compete you must be prepared we were unprepared against Honduras and against Cuba, for whatever reason. First USA game was a gift, which should have put us in the position of a guaranteed spot in the World Cup. But these are the breaks, next step is further development and improvement of this set of youths that disappointment and pain must be collected and used as a tool to drive these youths to next level mentally for next opportunity.

yes it is. On paper as a team the US seems miles ahead but on the field? Does it say something that after two games we beat them and draw??? Who really have the better team here?
                  LOL!

Yuteman the USA has a far better team than JA.... Much superior tactically and technically. It's not even close. The results on the field belie that FACT

JA can hold them mainly based on our superior athleticism, individualism and a warrior outlook which imposes our will on the opponent to some extent

From 17 y.o. up...dem attributes nuh cut nuh dash. At 17 and above that's where the Rubber of success meets the Road of tactical & technical proficiency in teamwork

Ah suh di ting set

Well, Honduras too care of their home advantage. I think penalties are on the taker to score. Yes the defense made a lapse. Development in the next stage.

On this thread all I am saying is, it is unfair to be putting teams ahead of us based on how they looked, teams that we may even be better than. Nobody knows if the other group is better than ours. If we had played 3 inter group games, It would be possible for us to know.

Fully agree. These players and the coaching staff should be kept together with necessary support to allow for making of top World quality TEAM.

Team is not made up of only a part, but all that you posted The team includes each and every player and their ability. The US had us over two game and failed to show their superiority. They had better touch and movement but fail to show much more.

"Yuteman the USA has a far better team than JA.... Much superior tactically and technically. It's not even close. The results on the field belie that FACT

JA can hold them mainly based on our superior athleticism, individualism and a warrior outlook which imposes our will on the opponent to some extent "
                        Last edited by Assasin; March 16, 2015, 11:43 AM.

Must see! 1st place match...

Mexico v Honduras.
                          FoxHD = U-verse 1653 @ 1:00 EASTERN.

A comparison can be made with the quality of play in the USA v JA match which comes on earlier at 11:00 am on the same channel.

Team is not made up of only a part, but all that you posted The team includes each and every player and their ability. The US had us over two game and failed to show their superiority. They had better touch and movement but fail to show much more.
                            The USA showed far better tactical positioning/movement and superior technical competence on and off the ball. Not to mention CLEAR advantages in composure with the ball, decision making and execution of passes... ESPECIALLY crosses or entry passes in the final third which created good goal opportunities. While the US tick-tacked their way to our goal area...we mainly hoofed the ball over the top in the HOPE that a forward player would receive it and create a good look at goal

Our defensive organization was also scatterbrained....we were often saved by individual brilliance or US error...rather than by a defensive system

Mi nuh know bout yuh but mi nuh need fi si more dan dat fi determine which team betta.

But mi nuh blame di yutes or the coaching staff...since we badly lag teams like the US in background training & moreso long term EXPOSURE to quality opposition

As to POTENTIAL...the JA team, even now at this late stage, if properly trained and with massive exposure....would be far more potent than this USA aggregation

Unfortunately it is extremely doubtful that this would occur...Suh gwaan tee up couple dozen more (mediocre) ReggaeBoyz to Watch fi mi deh
                            Last edited by Don1; March 16, 2015, 01:54 PM.

The USA showed far better tactical positioning/movement and superior technical competence on and off the ball. Not to mention CLEAR advantages in composure with the ball, decision making and execution of passes... ESPECIALLY crosses or entry passes in the final third which created good goal opportunities. While the US tick-tacked their way to our goal area...we mainly hoofed the ball over the top in the HOPE that a forward player would receive it and create a good look at goal

Our defensive organization was also scatterbrained....we were often saved by individual brilliance or US error...rather than by a defensive system

Mi nuh know bout yuh but mi nuh need fi si more dan dat fi determine which team betta.

But mi nuh blame di yutes or the coaching staff...since we badly lag teams like the US in background training & moreso long term EXPOSURE to quality opposition

As to POTENTIAL...the JA team, even now at this late stage, if properly trained and with massive exposure....would be far more potent than this USA aggregation

Unfortunately it is extremely doubtful that this would occur...Suh gwaan tee up couple dozen more ReggaeBoyz to Watch fi mi deh
                              Yuh kno iffen a numba a pee-ple hah luk pan wan section a road fram basically di same low-ka-shan han wan fowl walk cross di sec-shan hah road di ole hah dem a watch han wan man hah hin-sis seh nuh fowl nuh pass...low im