• Highlights USA 0-1 Jamaica

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuuDF5QB_54

Not to beat a dead horse...but please take a look at min 42 (41+)...and observe the lack of effort by our player on failure to go to the ball thus gifting the US an attack on our goal.

Now after viewing same try to recall the other numerous times in the 1st half our players engaged in similar lack of effort in getting to balls and gifting same to the US.

btw - In real time as that first half progressed I noted on site that same instance of lack of effort and some of other like instances.

Aside: On this video clip it shows our 'keeper saving the day

Thanks Dunny just saw the highlights and now I must ask, who the hell is that keeper, excellent instincts, I think he saved at least three goals, maybe four.

Karl, again as you said lack of effort on multiple occasions. Hey I cannot believe the US kid miss that tap in from point blank range, that is going to haunt him for a long time.

You are correct, Stoni...that kid in goal turned in a tremendous performance. That was World class representation. Concentration, poitioning, reflex at highest level when needed, safe hands, command of his area and example on effort and thus example to his TEAM-mates...SUPERB!

Karl if you were a coach who had a chance to win the group, but also had a chance to play a second game if you don't win and you are playing against a team at the top of the group, what would you do??

It is obvious the game plan was to hang around and not over work yourself in the first half and try attacking at the start of the second half. Once we scored the plan was not to let them score. See even with a win we still didn't get the automatic qualifier spot, so hopefully it didn't affect the team too much for their next game.

Karl if you were a coach who had a chance to win the group, but also had a chance to play a second game if you don't win and you are playing against a team at the top of the group, what would you do??
            If you referencing this competition - therefore our performances and quality as seen - and only our last game I cannot give COLOUR less than maximum points!

Obviously he, as he shared in an interview posted in one of our papers, took on the dual challenge of:
            In context of going forward/advancing towards the U-17 World Cup finals - a) giving his 2nd tier players=players in the squad who had not played before or had not had much playing time, exposure;

b) with an eye to a possible play-off match.

He achieved the absolute best results...yup! RESULTS:
            i) He gave his 'starting X1' less than 30 minutes playing time! He avoided losing any through accumulation of cautions;

ii) He conserved their energy for any required PLAY-OFF GAME;

iii) His TEAM responded = 1st half: His Goal-keeper saved the day with brilliant goal tending and aid from woeful US finishing and in the 2nd half with FULL 100 effort and commitment from what appeared to me to be 90+% of the players for the FULL 45+minutes. Special mention to the 'keeper and the penalty taker in this half...and all those who supplied that 100% effort for every minute of the entire half.

NB: Those who still jogged at times know themselves or should be shown selves during review of the game. IMPORTANT those are praised for their great moments of effort and encouraged to not let down as in those moments they did.

Colour's tactics and man management of the game cannot be faulted!
            His marks = 100%!!!

It is obvious the game plan was to hang around and not over work yourself in the first half and try attacking at the start of the second half.
            Total misread or ignorance!!!!
            If you attribute that terrible showing of effort in the first half to
            not overwork yourself
            ...I can only say, you think you know this game!!! ... or you think the players are fools or you think Colour is a fool or you think both the players and Colour are fools!!!

I do not care whose mouth it comes out of "jumping off a high rise" is not good!!! Playing with the type effort we put on in the 1st half was not good! It could not have been an aim to play in a manner that the game could have been wrapped up by the USA in those 45 minutes... for thinking that was so calls for
            Last edited by Karl; March 12, 2015, 10:24 AM.

Karl 4 starters sat out on cards, others in the game had cards and if they got another yellow they would miss the next game. Some forumites was saying the side would be tired by now, because of the speed they have been playing.

If we didn't qualify for the play off it would be a different game. The commentators said it was a brilliant strategy. Cut the youths a slack and see how they approach the next game.

And of course with four starters rested the unknown was clearly lurking.
                How can we help out the defense?
                Support them by making use of our athleticism and our prowess in going forward,defense atarts with our strikers.

I agree!

Cut the youths a slack and see how they approach the next game.
                    What are you taking about?
                    i) The first half effort was, pitiful!

ii) The 2nd half, magnificent!

It is persons offering 'slack'='talking down to the players'...'thinking the players are idiots' or 'feeble of mind' who misguidedly tell the kids 'nonsense'. ...calling/telling them awful play is good ...encourage bad habits as those outsiders/like you bombard them with 'untruths'...encouraging them to believe those wrongs...misguided words as truth. ...and thereby 'marring' our youth/our young talent!

Our players are smart and they can appreciate "TRUTH" on/about their quality of play and will learn from hearing those "TRUTHS" and improve themselves!!!

When those players review the video of that match they will be able to compare the 1st half performance of self and of TEAM...wonder to themselves: why did we 'do so poorly in that 1st half?
                    ...why and how did we turn things around in the 2nd half?

They have a teacher in Colour who shall lead them through that self examination and that examination of TEAM and both from Colour and self-realization become aware of ways they can improve the performance of self and of TEAM!

It would not surprise me if in their next match the TEAM - win, lose or draw - performs at a very much higher standard then we have seen in this competition. All it takes is greater application of commonsense to step up performance of each individual and the unit TEAM to what is often euphemistically called 'the next level'!

i) Get to the ball first = equal striving to be where the ball can be played at all times!

ii) Use TEAM-mates often and quickly...even when no pressure is on! Hey possession is at least half the battle won!!!

a) Man with ball dedicates "what next"!!!

b) It is, and always have been the easiest and best way to 'get by an opponent' with use of friend=TEAM-mate and pass around that opponent!!!

Just that simple - good use of ball shall transition this TEAM into a whole new higher level!!! -- ...and all that takes is effort - mental & physical! It cannot be one without the other...nutten nuh guh suh!!!

*Look?
                    If you are not putting in the physical effort - Yuh a farm fool!
                    If you are not putting in the mental effort - Yuh a farm fool!

..so you have to ALWAYS...for FULL PLAYING TIME do both!!!

I guess we see the game different then boss. I won't argue on this anymore.

There are times you give 90% when you need to fight another day and the game you are playing is not the most important, and other times you give 110%.

We have the most yellow cards in the tournament so far and getting another few and red card wouldn't help, Having a few players injured for the cause in that game wouldn't be worth it unless we knew Guatamala was going win.

A so mi see it.

Guess we do!
                        A nuh nutten! ...mi his a TEAM man!!!

You are correct, Stoni...that kid in goal turned in a tremendous performance. That was World class representation. Concentration, poitioning, reflex at highest level when needed, safe hands, command of his area and example on effort and thus example to his TEAM-mates...SUPERB!
                          The boy's distribution of the ball out of his area was also outstanding

Definitely one to watch. Wonda ow much wi buy im fah??

Savvy purchase & great ROI!!!!!!!

A wonder if a JC him go?? You have no SHAME??? LOL!!!!

Bad Man nuh shame...wi juss talk di tings widout fear