• Jaaaaaawge!!! From The Jamaica Gleaner Mar 26, 2001

The game against Mexico in Mexico you do you think provided that defence splitting pass so that Nandi was fouled for a penalty (which was missed) Boss wheel an come again and correct to.

Hot Mexico blank Boyz

Mexico's Miguel Zepeda (centre, in green) jumps for the ball ahead of Jamaica's goalie Donovan Ricketts (centre, with gloves) as Jamaica's Ian Doodison (left) and Ricardo Gardner watch during the first half of their 2002 World Cup qualifying match in Mexico City's Azteca Stadium yesterday. Mexico won 4-0. - Reuters
    By Nodley Wright, Staff Reporter
    </B></B>MEXICO CITY
    CONCACAF kingpins Mexico roared back into contention for a place in the 2002 World Cup finals with a handsome 4-0 win over Jamaica before 80,000 spectators at the Azteca Stadium yesterday.
    A double strike each from hot new forward Antonio de Nigris and substitute Jared Borguetti, sentenced Jamaica to their third consecutive loss to Mexico in the Azteca and preserved Mexico's 20-year unbeaten run at this Stadium.

With the loss Jamaica slipped to third in the Group behind the United States and Mexico on goal difference. All three teams are on three points with Costa Rica and Honduras a point each. Trinidad and Tobago are still pointless.
    Unlike previous occasions though the Reggae Boyz were not totally outplayed.

Both teams started out in an even fashion though the home team seemed to be the more aggressive while Jamaica, understandably, played a more patient wait-and-see game.
    Mexico came close to scoring in just the eighth minute when goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts was forced to pull off a save from a Manuel Zepeda effort.

Another effort was to follow just three minutes later but Francisco Palencia who was presented with a free header directed his effort wide. They did not have to wait much longer as de Nigris capitalised on hesitant defending to fire his team ahead in the 15th minute.

From a corner, the hungry young striker stole in between three Jamaican defenders to power a header past Ricketts. Before the Boyz could recover from that body blow they were hit again just a minute and a half later.
    Again de Nigris was the goalscorer. After a tussle between captain Linval Dixon and Palencia just outside the Jamaican 18-yard box, referee Mauricio Navarro ruled that Dixon had fouled his opponent. From that spot Victor Ruiz blasted a free kick at goal which deflected off de Nigris' biceps past Ricketts who was off his line and going in the opposite direction.

The two-goal cushion for Mexico opened up the game as the Jamaicans went at them. In a rare attacking move from midfielder Theodore Whitmore, he combined with Jamaica's best player on the day, Andy Williams, to earn Jamaica a corner.

That signaled the start of something new for the Reggae Boyz.
    In the 28th minute after another good build-up involving Williams, Darryl Powell sent a beautiful pass from the right flank to Lowe on the left side in the 18-yard box. The big man who was becoming increasing busy, took the ball on his chest shuffled towards goal and let fly a left-footer which goalkeeper Oswaldo Sanchez turned out for a corner.

Three minutes later the confident Lowe took on three defenders as he ran into the 18-yard box with a combination of power and skill. Unable to contain him, defender Rafael Marquez held onto Lowe's arm and pulled him down to give away a penalty.

Lowe, not known especially for his prowess from the spot, stepped up and dragged his shot to the left of Sanchez but not far enough to beat him as the Mexican goalkeeper saved easily.

In the 39th minute, Williams sent a delightful pass from just inside the opponents' half from the left side. It was perfectly directed and picked out Deon Burton who had just one defender to beat. He dismissed the veteran Claudio Suarez and with just the goalkeeper to beat he chipped just high with the left foot.
    Jamaica had another opportunity from Lowe, which was turned out for a corner.

The Reggae Boyz started the second half with a more positive approach as they tried to string passes together. Within a minute of the start, defender Ian Goodison ripped a 50-yard effort, which had Sanchez backtracking to keep out of his net.

Approaching the 60th minute both coaches made a number of changes. Daniel Osorno replaced Palencia while Clovis de Oliveira surprisingly replaced sweeper Chris Dawes with forward Barry Hayles.
    Another surprise was to follow as the coaches continued to ring the changes. Jermaine Johnson replaced Williams, Jamaica's best midfielder, while the ineffective and inconsistent Whitmore retained his place.
    From then on it was largely Mexico's game as Pavel Pardo made a strainer of Ricardo Gardner on the left side of Jamaica's defence while German Villa and Victor Ruiz controlled the midfield. There were optimistic efforts from Hayles and Lowe but they would not trouble Mexico.
    Borguetti scored his first of two goals in the 83rd minute when Osorno was quicker to a ball on the left flank, got by him and played across the goal to beat Ricketts who was committed to the challenge. Borguetti beat Goodison to the ball and calmly knocked it home.

Five minutes later the scoring was completed when Borguetti sneaked in behind Dixon to head home a cross from Marquez who ventured forward. Jamaica had their hopes of hitting the back of the net when Johnson made a run into the Mexican 18-yard box but had his shot was deflected high.
    Following the game de Oliveira said that his team gave away two goals but still created chances.

"We gave two goals away in the first 15 minutes. We kept composed and it was unfortunate the way they scored the second goal.
    "We tried to play our own game. We did and did very nice we created a lot of chances and even won a penalty."
    Teams: Jamaica - Donovan Ricketts, Chris Dawes (Barry Hayles), Ian Goodison, Linval Dixon, Tyrone Marshall, Ricardo Gardner, Darryl Powell, Theodore Whitmore, Andy Williams (Jermaine Johnson), Onandi Lowe and Deon Burton (Ricardo Fuller). Mexico - Oswaldo Sanchez, Pavel Pardo, Duilo Davino, Claudio Suarez, Rafael Marquez, Marco Ruiz, German Villa, Francisco Palencia (Daniel Osorno), Miguel Zepeda (Juan Rodriguez), Antonio de Nigris (Jared Borguetti).

SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

i remember being in the RBSC chat room for this game...."NANDI LOOKS GASSED. SOMEONE ELSE TAKE THE KICK"

Nandi almost whiffed on the kick. The ball dribbled feebly into the arms of the Mexican keeper.

In a rare attacking move from midfielder Theodore Whitmore, he combined with Jamaica's best player on the day, Andy Williams, to earn Jamaica a corner
      Another surprise was to follow as the coaches continued to ring the changes. Jermaine Johnson replaced Williams, Jamaica's best midfielder, while the ineffective and inconsistent Whitmore retained his place.
      The above two quotes say it all about the Whitmore we have seen after the 1998 World Cup. As a matter of fact, give him the benefit of the doubt and say 2000. This is seven years (7 years) the man has been underperforming, but he is still kept in the team or some people out there hollering for him.

Whitmore has been a picture of inconsistency for so long that had it been any other country he would have been history long time ago. The only thing he has been consistent with is being inconsistent.

Ben J will let you know that the Brazilians always kept him in the team. Let me clarify. Rene kept him in the team because at that time he added value to the side. He was the cog in our attacking machinery in the midfield. de Oliveria kept him because he was hoping Tappa could work his magic as we came to know of him. It was not to be, but Clovis persisted until it cost him his job. Laza came in and just did not know anything to make a difference.
      Last edited by Tilla; June 11, 2007, 01:49 AM.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The above two quotes say it all about the Whitmore we have seen after the 1998 World Cup. As a matter of fact, give him the benefit of the doubt and say 2000. This is seven years (7 years) the man has been underperforming, but he is still kept in the team or some people out there hollering for him.

Whitmore has been a picture of inconsistency for so long that had it been any other country he would have been history long time ago. The only thing he has been consistent with is being inconsistent.

Ben J will let you know that the Brazilians always kept him in the team. Let me clarify. Rene kept him in the team because at that time he added value to the side. He was the cog in our attacking machinery in the midfield. de Oliveria kept him because he was hoping Tappa could work his magic as we came to know of him. It was not to be, but Clovis persisted until it cost him his job. Laza came in and just did not know anything to make a difference.
        Once again, what did you find wrong with Tappa's performance during the last WCQ.. in football terms please.

"Laza came in and just did not know anything to make a difference"

Do you want to be provided with the Laza interview when he was specifically asked his opinion on Tappa ?

How would rate the play of our midfield during the last WCQ ?.. in football terms if you can..

EVERY COACH THAT HAS COME IN has place Whitmore in a critical role in midfield.. without exception..

"If you cannot know by intelligence or theory, then you should be able to know by practise...." (does not apply if you are insane)

heh heh!

Andy worked as hard as I have ever seen him work defensively and from the deep position that Clovis had him operating out of he still looked up and sent that beautiful ball through to Lowe that led to the penalty... now 6 rhaatid years later the script is being revised and the pass is being donated to Tappa.

That pass and the pass to Burton that led to our second goal in the 2-1 victory in trinidad are the work of the Bomber not Tappa never Tappa.
            How come nobody cant say Siya you lie I saw Tappa set up a goal in this match against this team scored by this person... I saw Bibi do it the Gold cup against Guatemala - Lowe just had to run onto it... I saw Hue do it in a friendly against the USA the pass had the US defenders so badly beaten that Teofore Bennett despite a tough angle had to just run onto it... I saw even Tyrone Marshall do it against Uruguay where won the ball dribbled by at least two players then lay a ball for teddy to just run onto it...
            THATS HOW ITS DONE TAPPA FANS EXACT INSTANCES... NO ARBITRARY ANNOINTMENT OR APPOINTMENT OF GENIUS TO GLOSS OVER UGLY SHORTCOMINGS IN A PLAYER'S CAREER.

Originally posted by Siya View Post
              Andy worked as hard as I have ever seen him work defensively and from the deep position that Clovis had him operating out of he still looked up and sent that beautiful ball through to Lowe that led to the penalty... now 6 rhaatid years later the script is being revised and the pass is being donated to Tappa.

That pass and the pass to Burton that led to our second goal in the 2-1 victory in trinidad are the work of the Bomber not Tappa never Tappa.
              How come nobody cant say Siya you lie I saw Tappa set up a goal in this match against this team scored by this person... I saw Bibi do it the Gold cup against Guatemala - Lowe just had to run onto it... I saw Hue do it in a friendly against the USA the pass had the US defenders so badly beaten that Teofore Bennett despite a tough angle had to just run onto it... I saw even Tyrone Marshall do it against Uruguay where won the ball dribbled by at least two players then lay a ball for teddy to just run onto it...
              THATS HOW ITS DONE TAPPA FANS EXACT INSTANCES... NO ARBITRARY ANNOINTMENT OR APPOINTMENT OF GENIUS TO GLOSS OVER UGLY SHORTCOMINGS IN A PLAYER'S CAREER.
              Do you value a possesion game ?

Stop playing your games. Come with something concrete or just read the posts from the sidelines and admit you cant touch this one. Counteract - state a fact - tell me something - tell me what you saw when and where please... please... please.

Oh! So now it's "possession game" wi talking about.

Whatever happened to the "assist game"? How did we kick that to the curb so quickly?

When do we begin discussing the "beautiful game"? And do we follow that up with the "disappearing act game"?

Whatever happened to the "assist game"? How did we kick that to the curb so quickly?

When do we begin discussing the "beautiful game"? And do we follow that up with the "disappearing act game"?
                    Secretary Siya will now read the minutes since Ben posed his last question... Take it away Mr Siya... "Hmrrmm... Honorable forumites let the truth be told Ben has been ducking for almost a half hour or more now. He is on the site we found him out as he has since responded to another post on another thread... we will monitor this development and update the gathering on any new happenings..."

Lawks man. Give him some time nuh man! Yuh tink it easy fi come up wid di garbage he does?

Cho!

Siya yuh come wid newspaper, I am dealing with
                        video tape. Boss go watch that game and come back to tell me who gave that pass. You are going to talk to me about Ja's greatest player and use the argument of some joker reporter? Who would be a better coach for Ja; nodley or Clovis? Nodley is obviously upset because Andy is removed from the game by a Brasilian coach. I wonder what results would Nodley achieve coaching JA. Is Nodley a better coach than Lazaroni (the man who changed Brasil to what we see today)? Bring some material with what Prof.Simoes, Lazaroni, Big Phil (he did a stint here) Clovis et al has to say about Tappa Whitmore. Don't try to engage me by half stepping with the opinion of a man that never played or coached at the INT'L level. You are wasting my time Siya. As for Tilla he should ask himself: why do all these top notch coaches keep using Tappa. To date no player can hold on or pass the ball as accurately as tappa whitmore. I watched Tappa in a game and tabulated his passing accuracy; it came out to 95%. Watch the games under clovis and see how many balls were squandered before goals that Tappa provided. The same under Laza, and this is why they keep playing him because they knew if we had quality finisherd Ja would have qualified six times over. There is no midfielder to date that can walk with Tappa. NONE.

I have noticed Tappa put in varying roles.. making use of his abilities within the context of the Team.

The range of his abilities do confuse those that are one-dimensional in their understanding of the beautiful game.

The most critical aspect of the game is possession.. if you do not have the ball you cannot score.. Tappa has been used to shoreup critical aspects of the Reggaeboyz game over the years.. no point for example placing him forward when there is no-one to control the tempo of the game and assist in transition from defense to middle (I would explain how this attributed to the 'disappearing act' many on here bawl about.. but it has been done before and eiidah yuh get it or yuh nuh get it)

Tappa has been the victim of his own genius.. multi-dimensional player.. he has succeeded at every role given him however.. that cannot be denied... well it can be denied but den again Peter deny Jesus 3 times..

I have noticed Tappa put in varying roles.. making use of his abilities within the context of the Team.
                            Quite Karlesque little ramble there Ben... I swear if you had put 'team' in all-caps the morphing would have been complete...

The most critical aspect of the game is possession.. if you do not have the ball you cannot score..
                            Have you seen Brazil vs Argentina 1990? Are you familiar with two teams in CONCACAF called trinidad and Panama. More precisely how much possession did Panama have against Jamaica when they scored the TWO goals that effectively killed our WC ambitions. The most lopsided game I have ever seen in a world cup qualifier outside of the Azteca is Trinidad vs Honduras in Honduras trinidad couldn't touch the ball Honduras hit the post 5 - Yes 5 - times and still lost... Canada vs trinidad in Canada in 2001 etc etc
                            Goal scoring is the most critical aspect of the game. Why weren't we scoring goals when Whitmore was the playmaker?

Up to 2001 who was Ja's leading
                              goal scorer. Please don't come with the opinions of Nodley now, wi talking ball okay.