Bennett, Lamey to play up front

• Bennett, Lamey to play up front

Yeah Sickko I know this is not your article but you can tell your bredren that it was not a case of Shane Crawford not being released by his club it is a case that Crawford is injured and done for the season. He will actually have surgery to try and get ready for the next season. On another note his teammate Omar Daley is the man! - T.K.

Bennett, Lamey to play up front

... As Boyz leave today for Canada test

ANDREW HANCEL, Observer staff reporter

On the eve of the Reggae Boyz's departure for Canada, national coach Carl Brown disclosed that strikers Teafore Bennett and Kevin Lamey will start together in Monday's international friendly in Montreal.

Brown, who has been hampered by the unavailability of the overseas-based players, was dealt yet another blow when top forward Ricardo Fuller was denied clearance by his new club Stoke City.

On Thursday - the final day of the August 31 transfer deadline - Fuller signed a three-year deal with Stoke City from Southampton.

Also, utility player Shane Crawford was not released by his USA League club.

The late withdrawal of Fuller left the head coach with only two forwards in Bennett and Lamey to choose from, further depleting Brown's 17-man squad, which leaves this morning on a 7:10 flight.

Midfielders Omar Daley and Fabian Dawkins are expected to join the other 17 members in Montreal.

"I don't believe there is any big secret that we have two strikers to choose from in Teafore Bennett and Kevin Lamey," Brown stated during the team's final training session at Boys' Town yesterday. "And they definitely will start up front."

"If there is any adjustment needed then we'll have to pull some people from the midfield," he added.

Bennett and Lamey have never played together up front, but the veteran Brown thinks the pair is experienced enough to get the goals.

Said Brown: "We'll be working at giving them functions and job descriptions for them to get out there and work in whatever formation we use.

"These are two experienced players, so I don't believe that it will be too difficult for them to carry out instructions."

Meantime, Brown's squad has been strengthened with the arrival of creative midfielder Jamal Campbell-Ryce, who was just too delighted at representing the country.

"It is always a privilege to represent the country. My fitness is good and I can take that into the game against Canada and cause them some problems if selected," said Campbell-Ryce, who plays for Southend United in the Coca-Cola Championships in England.

Though it should not be a difficult task, Brown hinted that he has a "fair idea" of what his starting team could be like.

And as the Boyz wrapped up their final training session, the head coach explained that getting the players' attitude right, is about getting the players "maintaining a certain level of football discipline during play".

In addition, there are no injury concerns and the physical condition of the players have received a passing grade, Brown said.

Squad: Shawn Sawyers, Richard McCallum, Demar Phillips, Damion Stewart, Desmond Breakenridge, Fabian Davis, Lovel Palmer, Jermaine Taylor, Xavian Virgo, Oneil Thompson, Fabian Dawkins, Teafore Bennett, Kevin Lamey, Omar Daley, Jason Morrison, Khari Stephenson, Tyrone Sawyers, Jamal Campbell-Ryce, Garfield Reid.

RE: Bennett, Lamey to play up front

Just an FYI.....From the Charleston Post and Courier:

Gores, Crawford out

Defenders Chris Gores and Shane Crawford will not be available for the Battery's west coast trip this week and are likely out for the remainder of the season, Anhaeuser said.

Gores has missed the entire season after breaking his leg in the final game of the Carolina Challenge Cup in March. Gores has started to practice with the team, but is not expected to be ready to play until next season.

"There's a chance if we got deep into the playoffs, that Chris could play," Anhaeuser said. "Chris has been training with the team for about a week, but it's going to be at least a month before he's ready to play in a game."

Meanwhile, Crawford started the first six games of the season for the Battery at left outside defender, but hasn't been on the field since early June. Crawford is scheduled to have surgery to repair a sports hernia next month.

"Shane would train for a couple of days and then he couldn't train for a week," Anhaeuser said. "I know it's been a real fustrating season for him."

Shane need a bath..he has been injured so often it must be frustrating for him to have missed so much football.

Or maybe he just need to have his injuries properly diagnosed and treated once and for all.

I recalled last season in match against Harbour View at Elliston Wakeland he got injured and wa sdone for the season again.

Why do we persist with Fabian Davis? If him nuh cut it pon the international scene already, is now him gonna dweet?

I asked myself the same thing whenI saw his name and given that he was injured most of last season. Also I canteven remember this Boys Town player from last season, maybe he has improved in the off seaosn playing bussiness house and corner league enough for CB to invite him to the team and to take him on a trip when we have people like Keneil Moodie who has played at that level.

LOL....yu nuh easy Ntwydmala!

Yeah I think a long warm shower is in order. Maybe he can use some CB muscle tightening exercises.

In all seriousness I wonder if it is more a case of him going through the proper physical therapy after surgery more so than the identification of his injuries. - T.K.

Fabian is a reliable B-teamer. I don't see anything wrong with his call-up considering the circumstances. Let the man play. - T.K.