Canada get beaten in Gold Cup by Guadelope

Therein lies the point. No one is questioning the talent of Tappa, but an unfit and out of form Tappa is no use to a team who wants to move ahead. Why do you think after a while Trannamere would either have him on the bench or out of the first team altogether. They finally decided they did not want to renew his contract. Why do you think Livingston after signing him would not use him then they finally let him go? He joined Seba to the same type of treatment.

If the NPL is the top league in the country and this is where the man plays, you at least expect him to show that he still has it. And yes Karl, Bora is touring the island looking for undiscovered young talent, some may not even play in the NPL. The fact though is that these players are able to impress Bora that they have what it takes.
    If Tappa decide fi un-retire... unnuh haffi guh pon prozac..

And when he unretires and get no call, they will have to admit you at Bellview Hospital. There they can administer all the treatment you need to return you to a state where you have any use to society.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yo want to pick players based on history and not have a common yardstick to measure readiness and performance. I wudda lov call back Tatty Brown and Baddaz Corbet, but time marches on. . .
        As Shabba seh " A jus' reality".
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

If he un-retires and gets fit and finds some form - hurrah! 2010 here we come!

Tilla what was the yardstick that
            Argentina used to bring back the overweight Diego in the squad for 94. Was it fitness and in form? Thanks. We are only proving day by day how little we know this game.

You always try to pull the Diego case out of the bag when you try to defend Tappa's inclusion in the side. At least Diego was still playing professionally when he was recalled to the team. If you check the facts, you will see that leading up to the 1994 World Cup, Madonna played with the following teams:

1992-1993 Sevilla FC 25 appearances and 4 goals ( he quit the team because of some contract dispute where he claimed they owed him money and the club maintained he had not met his obligation with them)
              1993 Newell's Old Boys 3 appearances and no goals

If people follow your reasoning, you would think that Diego played absolutely no football at all prior to being recalled. Also for crying out loud Jawge, Diego played for teams like Barcelona, Napoli, Boca Joniors etc, etc. Compare this to Tappa who could not make his club side in a division 3 side in England and was later discarded by a struggling Livingston in Scotland and lastly had problems making the bench at Seba. This clearly shows that this is a player on the decline, not one you want to put your team-building stocks in at this time.

You saw that Argentina erred too as Diego was on drugs which caused him to be thrown out of the World Cup finals. So don't come to me with a performance which was built of illegal substance and not the common yardsticks to measure athletic performance. If you want to put Tappa on drugs to regain his touch of yesteryear, be my guest and go ahead.

Ultimate disgrace
              Caps his international return with a goal in a 4-0 win over Greece at the World Cup. Four days later he was sent home in disgrace after testing positive for ephedrine. He was banned for 15 months and fined $10,000 by FIFA. He has not played for Argentina since. His official international record remains; played 91, scored 34. His all time record is; played 678 and scored 345 goals.

One more thing, drugs aside, Tappa was good, but not in the same class as Diego.
              Last edited by Tilla; June 10, 2007, 06:31 PM.

Man seh Keneil Wolfe over Tappa.

LOL This forum get more and more hilarious.

Is really Diego Maradona dem comparing wid Ta...no, must be smaddy else.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                    Man seh Keneil Wolfe over Tappa.

LOL This forum get more and more hilarious.
                    OK missa voice of reason. A man who have problems holding a place in some very mediocre teams, what is the basis you are going to use to recall him to the national side? I just do not want to hear he is the best we have ever produced either. We are not talking history here.

At least Wolfe is playing for the NPL champs.

Tilla unlike you I have tapes of
                        Deigo at Sevilla after Napoli. Deigo best club ball was Napoli. Diego did not do damn thing at Sevilla. I have game of Sevilla in the early moments Diego drbbled and make defence splitting pass to suker. After that Diego disappeared from the game. At Newell's Diego was there as a player/coach (in case you didn't know) he played three games and mostly partied (the words of a player). I cansend you the game with Colombia vs Arg. and you will see Diego in the stands and you can tell me if he looked anything like a fit and in form player. I can also send you the friendly with Arg. and Chile and you judge if Diego was fit and in form. The question you should ask is what would Diego if was born and raised in Ja. Tilla we are dealing with scales and ratio: based on Ja's history on the international scene Tappa is in Deigo's class. Does Ja have a pro league on its appearance in France? why is it that we fail to see our own as great. prof.Simoes is a brasilian,he has coached at the highest level in Brasil, the Prof. sees Tappa as a Brasilian (only without the brith cert) in tappa's style of play, yet we dismiss him as an average player.Is it possible that we just don't understand this game? Tilla I did not ask you about Deigo's drug problem and disgrace. I asked you what condition was he in before being recalled. ponder this:Majority of Argentinians see Diego as the greatest player in the world far better than pele, are they mad? I guess you know how Brasilians feel about Pele. I see Tappa as Ja's greatest and I am called crazy? Go figure.

Siya you said Tappa did not set up goals. Boss watch the games and see how many ball Tappa gave and they were squandered due to poor finishing ( the gae where capt.Tappa went to the corner post took a ball from Andy, dismised a defender and passed in the six yards for a easy tap in, that was squandered) The game against Mexico in Mexico you do you think provided that defence splitting pass so that Nandi was fouled for a penalty (which was missed) Boss wheel an come again and correct to.

Tilla, take it away!

Help him out nuh,
                            seing dat him busy.

HA HA! No sah. Tappa is di greatest and should be on the team now!

How's that?

Mo it's not my fault why
                                Hue is not up there with Tappa. In honesty; I really wish he had the same skill set and football intelligence but it's just not so. Arg is dying for another Diego to rise. Boss Tappa can make the RBOYZ team as we speak (without a sweat too) The man is just miles above the current crop of players.