• Coach Bora's strategy makes sense

Saturday, June 09, 2007

We are now just about a year away from the start of Jamaica's qualification phase for the football World Cup in South Africa in 2010.

Last Tuesday's Friendly International against Chile at the National Stadium and others being lined up by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) over the next several months are all about that.

International football coaches are a law onto themselves when it comes to philosophy and approach. It is clear that for Mr Bora Milutinovic, assessing a wide array of players - including a few who were virtual unknowns prior to his arrival - and testing them in international competition are important elements in his preparation.

By choosing only a few overseas-based professionals for the Chile game, despite the availability of several more, Mr Milutinovic has sent the clear message to local semi-professionals and amateurs that they too have a chance to make the cut next year.

Also, winning for him is not a priority right now. Rather, he wants to get his players accustomed to an approach to football that he believes will make them winners next year.
    Says he: "I know the public likes to win, .But I hope you understand what is the difference between winning the game and being winners. We need to prepare the team to be winners."

That, however, may not be good news for the cash-strapped JFF which needs strong crowd support at Friendly Internationals to generate revenue.

The hope will be that even without an emphasis on winning, Mr Milutinovic's teams will win more than they lose and at the same time play the kind of football that will prove attractive to the eye - enough to keep the Jamaican support base interested and supportive.

From where this newspaper sits, the performance against Chile, even without several top overseas professionals and even in defeat, deserved applause. The team appeared reasonably compact and confident, ball passing and utilisation of the field were quite good and there were individuals, not least Messrs Luton Shelton and Mario Swaby, who whetted the appetite.

We worry, however, at the evidence that many who come out to support the Reggae Boyz appear to be out of sync. How else to explain the descent into booing on occasions during Tuesday night's game? It was noticeable that those booing episodes - which from a distance appeared to have a disconcerting effect on the players - occurred when, in the absence of an obvious forward pass and in an effort to avoid losing the ball, the players moved it backwards to their own defensive third.

In established football cultures, spectators know that keeping possession of the football is of paramount importance, even if in order to do so a back pass to the goalkeeper is required. Recklessly giving the ball away only provides the opposition with opportunities to hurt you.

It is clear that some among our football lovers do not understand that basic concept. Perhaps, during the build-up to the qualifying campaign Jamaica's top coaches and football journalists should make a conscious effort to get the football public more aware of the tactics and strategies in the game.

Who am I to tell a bird how to fly, Bora's record as a TD is impressive.
    Regarding the UB40 players, Bora has selected a few players he believed would play an integral role on the team, Shelton has figured from the get go. Perhaps the task at hand is how best to service Luton.
    Similarly, I expect Claude Davis to play a pivotal role in our defense; if that is in fact the case then perhaps it is best to include him from now.
    Having a squad that is readily available ensures that players will know their teammates strengths and weaknesses.

Blessed
    Last edited by Rockman; June 9, 2007, 02:47 PM.

Having a squad that is readily available ensures that players will now their teammates strengths and weaknesses.

Blessed
      ...and, having that squad play together often and over a prolonged period aid making it grow continuously stronger!

Truth is the aim should be to have the REGGAE BOYZ squad at fullest potential previous to, during qualifiers and if they survive...at the BIG DANCE!

Makes no sense as happened previous to the 1994-1998 run and has happened since 2002 to have half-arsed preparations. Certainly those half-arsed preparations have got us our just rewards - FAILURE!

I'll say it now - We have been preparing for FAILURE! ...or, at the very least if we make the World Cup Finals arriving there with a TEAM that would have not attained FULLEST POTENTIAL! Hell...all the TOP OF THE WORLD teams have been preparing at FULL BLAST!

We have not even yet found our TEAM! ...so the preparation - playing together, working together, creating TEAM - of that TEAM will begin at an even later date.
      Last edited by Karl; June 10, 2007, 12:13 AM.

Is this the best our cartoonists can do? This one plain sucks!

not necesarily Karl
            "and, having that squad play together often and over a prolonged period aid making it grow continuously stronger! "

if them a go fire them if them offend people then that is the best we a go get.

not necesarily Karl
                "and, having that squad play together often and over a prolonged period aid making it grow continuously stronger! "
                Karl is usually prone to sophism Ssass. See wid him fi mi, is mi bredren.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

not necesarily Karl
                  Am I hearing you right?
                  Having a group play together often and over a long period does not aid improvement?

You say not necessarily?
                  I see...

So that is why we have switched from Rene's 'many matches and often' to starting preparations just before tournaments...

...and, that is why we have been very successful with those teams... OK! I see...

HA HA! A true dat!

that was not the only ingredient Karl.

You can have the same team playing and making the same mistake as proven under Downswell, it nuh matter how long they were togather the defense was a sive without a structure.

How many games did Wendell have?

He had enough to lose to England 6-0, Ghana, Austrialia and the Gold Cup.

Within 3 games you can see the difference with the shape of the Jamaican defense under Bora.

Under Downsell our defensive posture was horrible and it nuh matter how many games he played he would get the same results. If he had showed some comprehension of changing it my argument would be invalid now.

FACE IT.

What happened in the Gold Cup? You know what, I don't need to get into this again.

Porus defense that is what happened. Lack of discipline. Pure foolishness.