FA Cup 6th Round Draw...

As co-commentator during United's match, you said Rooney wasn't interfering with play for Herrera’s goal, while so many people thought he had. Can you explain why he wasn't interfering with play? Jamie, Edinburgh

I’m speaking from the rules. My interpretation of the rules was, and I’ve spoken to referees about this, that if you’re in front of the ball, in the line of the ball, which he wasn’t, then you’re interfering.

All referees will implement the rule that if there’s a player there who doesn't touch the ball and is not in the line of the ball then it’s a goal.

The rule is wrong, really. The goalkeeper’s natural instinct, he doesn’t know if Rooney is offside, or if it’s going to touch Rooney or not. He has to plant his feet to adjust to that. It takes away from the keeper and he can’t save the shot.

So Rooney is interfering in that. But by the rules, he isn’t. There’s a bit of a grey area.

Brian Clough famously said that if you’re on the pitch you’re interfering.

I’m not the one who makes the rules.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz3SESKGM4a
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

As co-commentator during United's match, you said Rooney wasn't interfering with play for Herrera’s goal, while so many people thought he had. Can you explain why he wasn't interfering with play? Jamie, Edinburgh

I’m speaking from the rules. My interpretation of the rules was, and I’ve spoken to referees about this, that if you’re in front of the ball, in the line of the ball, which he wasn’t, then you’re interfering.

All referees will implement the rule that if there’s a player there who doesn't touch the ball and is not in the line of the ball then it’s a goal.

The rule is wrong, really. The goalkeeper’s natural instinct, he doesn’t know if Rooney is offside, or if it’s going to touch Rooney or not. He has to plant his feet to adjust to that. It takes away from the keeper and he can’t save the shot.

So Rooney is interfering in that. But by the rules, he isn’t. There’s a bit of a grey area.

Brian Clough famously said that if you’re on the pitch you’re interfering.

I’m not the one who makes the rules.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz3SESKGM4a
      Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
      You bolded the commentators words... how about bolding what the ("rule") Law says...Let me help you:

Offside position
      It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.
      A player is in an offside position if:
      • he is nearer to his opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the
      second-last opponent
      A player is not in an offside position if:
      • he is in his own half of the fi eld of play or
      • he is level with the second-last opponent or
      • he is level with the last two opponents
      Offence
      A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball
      touches or is played by one of his team, he is, in the opinion of the referee,
      involved in active play by:
      • interfering with play or
      • interfering with an opponent or
      gaining an advantage by being in that position

There is no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from:
      • a goal kick
      • a throw-in
      • a corner kick
      Infringements and sanctions
      In the event of an offside offence, the referee awards an indirect free kick
      to the opposing team to be taken from the place where the infringement
      occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick).

Peter R: Nowhere does it say anything about being in front of or in line with the ball. I am only pointing this out for all our knowledge. It is ultimately the ref's interpretation. Notwithstanding "interpretation", sometimes they make an error of judgment.

To his credit he correctly interprets the dilemma the goalie faces... and therefore the portion of the law I bolded and magnified,i.e. "gaining an advantage by being in that position " is IMO, what should have been applied.
      Last edited by Peter R; February 19, 2015, 06:41 PM.

What advantage did ROONEY gain?
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Did you read what YOU posted??? But a whe di? It was explained..SMH