Just done watch the Jamaica/Chile game

with all respect to ali Mcnab,he is too critical of Bora.
    I would not say McNab was critical of Bora? He was just commenting on the game and making suggestions any commentator would. He asked the questions which many on here would want to have answered by Bora. Is he going to consider Jermaine Hue? Is Onandi Lowe still a possibility for the national team?
    Last edited by Tilla; June 9, 2007, 04:21 PM.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Who was commentating on the game, Lance or Joel?

I am not the one calling Lance an idiot. That's why it was in quotes.
      Joel Croskill and Ali Mcnab did the honors in the Jamaica vs Chile game that I saw on Fox Soccer Channel this morning. That wasnt Lance.
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Heh,heh,heh. Talking about grasping at straws. So Laza came in and installed Tappa as captain. What happened to our qualifying efforts and to Laza? Laza never knew what he was doing period.

Whitmore says he has retired from international football and it is now up to the younger guys to take up the mantle. He was smart enough to see that he was not having the impact on our game as he used to. He decided to move on.

Andy WIlliams now is another matter as he is still playing good ball and can be considered. If he says heis no longer interested in playing, who are the selectors to tell him that he has to answer our call. Although if I reemember right, Andy did leave the door open by saying if the coaching situation was improved, he would be willing to reconsider.

Lastly Ben J. So by what criteria should we select Tappa if not on form or fitness? I notce both you and karl ignore this queston.
        Talents like Andy Williams and Tappa Whitmore SHOULD NOT be retired from International Football.. not with the state of our midfield...

Other teams do not have that luxury.. why do we ?

Once again, the Tappa Dun argument has been going on for about 6 years now.. every time I ask who is his equal.. I get silence...

A fit Whitmore can easily make this Reggaeboyz side.. based on what I have seen to date.

Hey, if Bora felt that Tappa deserved a call based on what he has seen from touring the island, do you not think he would have called him? He called Fowley and Fabian Dawkins right?

My campaign against Tappa over the years had never been about his age, although I mentioned his expired "shelf life". I hope you can remember that most of what I was implying all along was that "Tappa was done".

To avoid you having to search and dig up posts to try incriminate me, let me help you out here. If you want to consider this a new position, so be it. I am going on record as saying that Tappa should not be included in the national team at the expense of younger upcoming talent as he has not demonstrated from his club play that he still has what it takes to cut it at the international level. If he cannot handle club football consistently, why should he be given the opportunity to play international ball?

Lastly, let Bora continue his search as if an waning Tappa is the best we have out there, Bora's efforts will unearth him. It is going to be tough though for Tappa to show that he still has it when he was having problems even making the bench of Seba and Seba is a bad team. If you take time to open your eyes and look back, you will see the same trend with Tranamere and Livingston.
          Yuh have sense ?

What the **************** club ball for some obscure team in England have to do with controlling midfield for the Reggaeboyz ?

Did you have a problem with Tappa play during the last WCQ round.. if so please state what the problem was in football terms please..

Talents like Andy Williams and Tappa Whitmore SHOULD NOT be retired from International Football.. not with the state of our midfield...
            Yuh talking it as if it is the country or the JFF that retired the two. Go back and check the newspapers and see who retired who.

A fit Whitmore can easily make this Reggaeboyz side
            And that is one of the criteria I am expecting you and Karl to address. Fit is one, the other is to be in form.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh talking it as if it is the country or the JFF that retired the two. Go back and check the newspapers and see who retired who.

And that is one of the criteria I am expecting you and Karl to address. Fit is one, the other is to be in form.
              Yuh keep coming up with this FORM argument...as if di man dem a striker..

Is midfield dem man deh play.. possession, passing, dictating pace.. eidda yuh can do it or yuh cyaan do it..

Tappa is the best midfield product of Jamaica easily the last 2 decades.. suh gwaan chat bout 'form'

When fit him nuh have nuh equal as a holding midfielder.. full stop.

Yuh keep coming up with this FORM argument...as if di man dem a striker..

Is midfield dem man deh play.. possession, passing, dictating pace.. eidda yuh can do it or yuh cyaan do it..

Tappa is the best midfield product of Jamaica easily the last 2 decades.. suh gwaan chat bout 'form'

When fit him nuh have nuh equal as a holding midfielder.. full stop.
                Is ongle you, Karl and Jawge caaan si seh the man nuh have it again. Suh tell me again Ben J, why him caan mek none of the club sides he was contracted with over the last 3 to 4 years, but he should be in the national side? Wha kinna rubbish that?

I believe when you have a job to do, you either can do it at an acceptable level or you cannot. You can't tell me that you can do it for the national side, but you cannot at the lower level.

We haffi move beyond the favoritism and mek players with fitness and form come through for the Reggae Boyz. You cannot justify a player's inclusion because you can subjectively decide that this person is the best in the country. Tappa WAS the best at one time, he no longer is. If you feel otherwise, tek up yuh case wid Bora.

Is ongle you, Karl and Jawge caaan si seh the man nuh have it again. Suh tell me again Ben J, why him caan mek none of the club sides he was contracted with over the last 3 to 4 years, but he should be in the national side? Wha kinna rubbish that?

I believe when you have a job to do, you either can do it at an acceptable level or you cannot. You can't tell me that you can do it for the national side, but you cannot at the lower level.

We haffi move beyond the favoritism and mek players with fitness and form come through for the Reggae Boyz. You cannot justify a player's inclusion because you can subjectively decide that this person is the best in the country. Tappa WAS the best at one time, he no longer is. If you feel otherwise, tek up yuh case wid Bora.
                  Did you have a problem with Tappa performance when he donned the national colors in the last WCQ campaign.

If so, what where his failings in football terms and who would have been a better option.

When you cry wolf and are exposed, do not expect people to rush when you bawl out the same ting.

The fact of the matter is a fit Tappa would be an asset to the Team at this point based on the current options.

His retirement and that of Andy Williams is a bad thing... not a good thing.

It was awful in that respect. Allie resorted to coaching the game (as opposed to being an analyst), and Joel was not helpful when it came to "calling the game". One could not listen and learn about the players because, as you said, they either did not know the players' names or they made no attempt to call the play.
                    As usual I am late into the discussion, but I thought the commentary was absolutely awful. Ali McNab was verbally trying to coach the Jamaicans. I pity the neutrals. Ali barely had anything positive to say about the Boyz. I remember him saying that the shot that Shelton took that rattled the crossbar was struck too hard. But Ali is like many of us Rbyz fans, we find it hard to just watch and enjoy the game. Because we want our team to win, we analyze every kick and pass.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Exactly!