Just done watch the Jamaica/Chile game

• Just done watch the Jamaica/Chile game

I caught from the 29th minute of the first half to the end. I must say the team looked good in spurts. I am only sorry I did not catch the full game.

I heard Ali McNab making a case for a Jermaine Hue type player who is a play-maker. His partner in crime however disagreed with him saying they did not need a play-maker, but more players who can create for themselves. That commentator is a part of what is wrong with Jamaican football.

Tell me now, how is a forward goingto effectively create for himself without the constant supply of good quality passes so he can make something of them. It doe snot matter who you are as a forward, you can only be more effective if you have good intelligent service coming out of midfield. If you have a player who has additional ball handling skills on top of that, then the better off it is for the team. Right now Bora is missing a Hue or if you go back further a Tappa type of player in the miggle of the park.

Anybody know the name of other commentator with Ali?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

the guy is an idiot , he did the broadcast with McNab on the Pmore Final and did his best to ridicule Onandi .

Mc nab also said Jamaica needed a clinical finisher like Lowe who would compliment shelton.Fuller is out of it .He really was nonexistent this game , not even the Brukie Boo foolishness was on display.

T quote Mcnab if (we could control Lowe mentally........ ) ? I dont get that, Lowe doesnt need to be controled.

The worst game I have ever seen Jamaica play in a long time.Its Time Bora look at Bennet , Damani and King.

We need more options upfront.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The "idiot" is Lance Whittaker, I believe. He's much better at T&F but has a good radio/tv voice for commentating.

I caught from the 29th minute of the first half to the end. I must say the team looked good in spurts. I am only sorry I did not catch the full game.

I heard Ali McNab making a case for a Jermaine Hue type player who is a play-maker. His partner in crime however disagreed with him saying they did not need a play-maker, but more players who can create for themselves. That commentator is a part of what is wrong with Jamaican football.
        We have heard this in the past already - "we need players to run at defenders." Well, how much "running at defenders" do we see in world football? Think of the goals in the Champions league - how many were as a result of "running at defenders"? What about the FA Cup? How did Chile score against us? Did anyone "run at our defenders". Our best chance in that game, was it as a result of Luton "running at defenders"?

So, let's hope that our team goes against the grain and we find 4 or 5 players who can run at defenders and give us some goals. The funny thing is, the man who is undoubtedly the best playmaker is also briliiant at running at defenders! It's like a Bill and Hillary thing- you select Maestro and it's two for one!

Anyway, still watching the match. I'll give an opinion later.

Considering that Fuller was doing a Tappa, it is surprising that bora kept him on for so long. Maybe he should have brought Fabian Taylor on for a bit longer.

T quote Mcnab if (we could control Lowe mentally........ ) ? I dont get that, Lowe doesnt need to be controled.
          This has been a constant problem with all the teams Lowe has played for. It is not surprising that you cannot see that. Lowe's bad attitude and a management challange preceeds him wherever he goes. Why do you think it would be different with the national team?

Tell me suppen X. Why did they release him from his contract with Miami again?

I agree wid yuh, Bora needs to take a look at the guys you mentioned, but I am sure he will in due course. Right now if he can get this team playing well, then it is going to be even better when he brings in those guys.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla, high time we begin to ignore those posts that are not grounded in some kind of sanity. Like X's posts about Nandi. If X can't see that Nandi had some serious behavioural problems...then again, X just probably hasn't seen enuff of Nandi. Anyone who has, can only draw one conclusion.

And those posts that call for Tappa. I can half tolerate those that say he is the greatest, because "greatest" is relative. Greatest Jamaican player? I can give him that. But when dem start compare him to even Claudio Reyna, come on. Firstly, they play different positions. But given their respective positions, Tappa cannot begin to compare with what Reyna has accomplished. Sorry, I know that's gonna hurt, but it is the truth. Deal with it!

Tilla, time we just tek whey wi self from dem fool fool argument. Is 2007 now!

Mo, you feel seh Reyna better than Jermaine Hue?

Again, they play different positions. I view Reyna as a holding midfielder, Hue and Tappa as attacking midfielders. Has Reyna accomplished more than Hue? I'll let someone else answer that.

Now, if the question is who is better at their position, for me, Hue and Tappa are better than Reyna.

Tilla, high time we begin to ignore those posts that are not grounded in some kind of sanity. Like X's posts about Nandi. If X can't see that Nandi had some serious behavioural problems...then again, X just probably hasn't seen enuff of Nandi. Anyone who has, can only draw one conclusion.

And those posts that call for Tappa. I can half tolerate those that say he is the greatest, because "greatest" is relative. Greatest Jamaican player? I can give him that. But when dem start compare him to even Claudio Reyna, come on. Firstly, they play different positions. But given their respective positions, Tappa cannot begin to compare with what Reyna has accomplished. Sorry, I know that's gonna hurt, but it is the truth. Deal with it!

Tilla, time we just tek whey wi self from dem fool fool argument. Is 2007 now!
                  Foolish posts
                  You know (Yuh kno?)...I disagree on trying to suggest any poster is 'lesser' than another.

I am for all expressing self here. We can adn shall disagree, at times with each other...but...we need all to participate. Why the in intolerance?

Tappa?

Tappa is our player who up to this point has accomplished most for us in REGGAE BOYZ competitive matches. So a case can be made for him being our greatest player.

...however, players like Lindy Delaphena, John Barnes and Allan "Skill" Cole are in the mix when it comes to selecting our greatest player.

Why the closed minds on Tappa as his admittedly advanced stage I cannot understand? I'll say this once more, if you believe that our very best TEAM must represent us in competitions then a look must be taken...thought on all our top players ability must be considered.

Tappa is by no means too old. It is, I think, nonsense to consider the age of players as determinant on whether or not they should be on national senior teams. The only thing to consider is ability to perform.

Age will have a bearing on that ability to perform. As one gets older beyond a certain time performance wanes...but, for selectors it should never even be considered. If the 200 year old man out-performs the 20 year old, then if best team is the aim, the 200 year old must be selected.

Only in Jamaica I am hearing this argument about age being used to not select a top performer. Outside of Jamaica people marvel at older players ability to keep going and perform at very high levels....not throw then out because they are 'older'.

The game
                  I watched only one half and about 5-10 minutes of the 2nd half: I think Fuller and Shelton could develop into good pairing. They were often looking out for each other...and had some promising 'link-ups'.

They both have 'old habit' of not making the simple early pass and it showed to the detriment of the TEAM...but, there were very encouraging signs that they both are on the way to TEAM.

The TEAM concept seems to be taking hold. The squad tried hard at playing TEAM...but, it still apears too many do not have the technical skills needed for the highest levels. Too many passes gifted the opponents the ball. The Chile team is not good...they may have very skilled technical players...certainly much better technically than our players...but, it looked to me they are in the process of building TEAM.

Conclusion: Our squad showed promise. Many of our players will not make the cut...or, the many will have to improve 100fold.

The performance on going forward and attempts at stretching the opponents...using width of field, energy level, TEAM defense was much better than against the well organised Swiss team. A great number of chances were created...it would not be out of line to say in the 50-60 minutes I saw with better finishing we could have scored, 4/5 goals.

For all the above you cannot give away the ball so often....but, promising show.

...oooh Delmar Philips?
                  Shows potential. Do not see what the oooohs and aaaahs are about. He was solid....no more, no less.
                  Last edited by Karl; June 9, 2007, 10:30 AM.

Again, they play different positions. I view Reyna as a holding midfielder, Hue and Tappa as attacking midfielders. Has Reyna accomplished more than Hue? I'll let someone else answer that.

Now, if the question is who is better at their position, for me, Hue and Tappa are better than Reyna.
                    Understood.

with all respect to ali Mcnab,he is too critical of Bora.Hue needs to work on his game,that's why the americans and swedes got rid of im,his game is wishy-washy ,one cannot start and give only 10-15 minutes of commitment then in the middle of the game behave as if he's on the side line.Yes he perform well in the last gold cup and Bora must not completely leave him out.X! onandi can make the National side,if he compromise to brush up on his behavior on the field,he is no doubt a good player and can score,give im the edge people he can score goals,Why is Jackson of tivoli not on the team?

Lance whitaker, oooooh!!! those high school football days are long gone.but nobody in ja can commentate like lance.

I don't think Jackson moves well when he doesn't have the ball.

One hell of a shot though.

Lance don't do football well

The "idiot" is Lance Whittaker, I believe. He's much better at T&F but has a good radio/tv voice for commentating.
                              Come on Mosiah, do better than that. Lance Whitakker is one of the better commentators teh caribbean has seen. The guy you are reffering to above is Joel Croskill, son of Simon Croskill.
                              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)