Fuller?!?! Okay Karl. I guess we are all entitled to our opinion.
Just done watch the Jamaica/Chile game
Tappa is by no means too old. It is, I think, nonsense to consider the age of players as determinant on whether or not they should be on national senior teams. The only thing to consider is ability to perform.
Age will have a bearing on that ability to perform. As one gets older beyond a certain time performance wanes...but, for selectors it should never even be considered. If the 200 year old man out-performs the 20 year old, then if best team is the aim, the 200 year old must be selected.
Only in Jamaica I am hearing this argument about age being used to not select a top performer. Outside of Jamaica people marvel at older players ability to keep going and perform at very high levels....not throw then out because they are 'older'
Frankly, I think if Tappa could hold down his game at Seba consistently, then no one on here would have a problem with his inclusion in the team. I am sure many on here want to see Bora call Marshall when the time is right and if he is playing well. It will not be a case of age when he gets called, but because he still has what it takes to be considered for national call up.
You are actually taking this thing to far now by suggesting that fans are against Tappa's selection because of his age. That could not be further from the truth."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Sometimes they did not know the Jamaicans either. They would resort to calling them by their numbers."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
It was awful in that respect. Allie resorted to coaching the game (as opposed to being an analyst), and Joel was not helpful when it came to "calling the game". One could not listen and learn about the players because, as you said, they either did not know the players' names or they made no attempt to call the play.
Originally posted by Tilla View PostKarl, yuh talking tripe. No one is saying Tappa is too old. Tappa's game has faded so much so that he is even been kept off the bench of some very bad teams. If a coach has to pick his players on form and fitness, by what criteria should he include Tappa in the mix? It is not uncommon to see teams insist that their players must be able to make first team at their clubs and be playing regularly to be considered for the national team.
Frankly, I think if Tappa could hold down his game at Seba consistently, then no one on here would have a problem with his inclusion in the team. I am sure many on here want to see Bora call Marshall when the time is right and if he is playing well. It will not be a case of age when he gets called, but because he still has what it takes to be considered for national call up.
You are actually taking this thing to far now by suggesting that fans are against Tappa's selection because of his age. That could not be further from the truth.
Who right now understands the game and has the ball possesion and passing skills to beat a fit Tappa ?
Unnuh need to understand seh Tappa is leagues ahead of the next Jamaican midfield player when it come to head space.
Better yuh seh him have arthritis.. bout hold down game at Seba.. wheh yuh tink the Greatest Midfield Talent in the last 20 years develop alzheimers at 34 ?
Yuh mussi nevah watch the last qualifying campaign when ball roll with Tappa at the controls.. all den and BEFORE unnuh did seh him was dun.. yet cannot explain what that means in football terms and relative to all other contenders...
Jokers.
As Mosiah seh, why waste words on the likes of you, Jawge and Karl. You guys can always rationalize why even when Tappa is not playing he should be included. I am done on this discussion."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Tilla View PostAs Mosiah seh, why waste words on the likes of you, Jawge and Karl. You guys can always rationalize why even when Tappa is not playing he should be included. I am done on this discussion.
Given the situation one would be seeking all ways to incorporate veteran players not trying to find reasons why we should 'move on'.
The most tyad argument over the past 6 years of Reggaeboyz football is 'Tappa Dun'
When you claim a player 'dun', yet a Brazilian coach comes in and makes that player captain and central cog in midfield.. it is a sign that you know nothing about football and should probably keep quiet on the matter.
There is no reason why Whitmore should be retired from International football.. same for Andy Williams.. given the state of the midfield today..
Y'all probably think that is some sort of progress...
Originally posted by Tilla View PostKarl, yuh talking tripe. No one is saying Tappa is too old. Tappa's game has faded so much so that he is even been kept off the bench of some very bad teams. If a coach has to pick his players on form and fitness, by what criteria should he include Tappa in the mix? It is not uncommon to see teams insist that their players must be able to make first team at their clubs and be playing regularly to be considered for the national team.
You are actually taking this thing to far now by suggesting that fans are against Tappa's selection because of his age. That could not be further from the truth.
You have at last conceded that age should not be a considered factor.
...yes, you have used age as one of the main points for a very long time. This is the very first time you are conceding that age should not be a consideration...rather the consideration should be ability.
Sure I will agree that many coaches consider only players who have been playing in the highest division in the country and or what they consider sufficiently high level performing clubs in other countries. Those coaches are from countries with a very many top clubs and top players.
You are not suggesting that our NPL is a top rate league? ...nor, I would hope, are you suggesting that we have an abundance of players with "Tappa-like" ability? ...nor, are you suggesting that we have an over abundance of players performing in top leagues across the globe?
Then, ofcourse, I would ask you, why is it Simoes toured the island looking among other players...players who 'could not even make' their parish's teams?
...and, why is it Bora is touring our island and selecting players who are not regular starters and or not always on their teams' starting X1? Would these latter be considered to as "Tappa could not hold his game at Seba consistently" ...could not hold down their positions on their teams consistently?
Sir, it is all about observing the talent at your disposal and selecting what you consider best suited for your team. That is my way.
Tappa and Jermaine Hue would be in my best of the REGGAE BOYZ...I certainly would not use them as Lazaroni did - (Not making most plays go through Tappa) and or Bora now does - (Using neither Tappa and or Hue)! ...but, then my philosophy has at senior level only best available players taking the field.
...others think of ages of players, still others think that the senior team is the place to experiment with unproven as in unworthy players stepping in...and, many think preparing for championships a few months before qualifying commence is A-OK!...and, host of other what I consider 'nonsense things'...doomed to failure things...certainly doomed to not ever playing at full potential before the 'journey' at qualifying is, and or playing at World's Finals are over.
I never can appreciate the thought that we are not preparing to present TEAM playing at fullest potential...when all the TOP OF THE WORLD TEAMs show us that arriving at fullest potential means never ending preparations and always playing with best available players!
PS - Tilla: I went looking for your posts on - Tappa 'past shelf-life'. Could not find any. I hope you remember them? - There were a series of those posts.Last edited by Karl; June 9, 2007, 02:42 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
When you claim a player 'dun', yet a Brazilian coach comes in and makes that player captain and central cog in midfield.. it is a sign that you know nothing about football and should probably keep quiet on the matter.
There is no reason why Whitmore should be retired from International football.. same for Andy Williams.. given the state of the midfield today...
Whitmore says he has retired from international football and it is now up to the younger guys to take up the mantle. He was smart enough to see that he was not having the impact on our game as he used to. He decided to move on.
Andy WIlliams now is another matter as he is still playing good ball and can be considered. If he says heis no longer interested in playing, who are the selectors to tell him that he has to answer our call. Although if I reemember right, Andy did leave the door open by saying if the coaching situation was improved, he would be willing to reconsider.
Lastly Ben J. So by what criteria should we select Tappa if not on form or fitness? I notce both you and karl ignore this queston.Last edited by Tilla; June 9, 2007, 02:57 PM."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
...and, why is it Bora is touring our island and selecting players who are not regular starters and or not always on their teams starting X1?
Hey, if Bora felt that Tappa deserved a call based on what he has seen from touring the island, do you not think he would have called him? He called Fowley and Fabian Dawkins right?
My campaign against Tappa over the years had never been about his age, although I mentioned his expired "shelf life". I hope you can remember that most of what I was implying all along was that "Tappa was done".
To avoid you having to search and dig up posts to try incriminate me, let me help you out here. If you want to consider this a new position, so be it. I am going on record as saying that Tappa should not be included in the national team at the expense of younger upcoming talent as he has not demonstrated from his club play that he still has what it takes to cut it at the international level. If he cannot handle club football consistently, why should he be given the opportunity to play international ball?
Lastly, let Bora continue his search as if an waning Tappa is the best we have out there, Bora's efforts will unearth him. It is going to be tough though for Tappa to show that he still has it when he was having problems even making the bench of Seba and Seba is a bad team. If you take time to open your eyes and look back, you will see the same trend with Tranamere and Livingston."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran