Spoke about the impression Mason of Spurs has made...

• Spoke about the impression Mason of Spurs has made...

Damn! He bossed the midfield against us!
    Once again Mason showed that he is, GOOD!

Sass: Another great TEAM man!!!
    ...and he also never scores!

Spurs Strike a Blow for Their Way of Thinking

In the aftermath of the north London derby, Arsene Wenger bemoaned a couple of "cheap goals," but they looked pretty valuable to Tottenham Hotspur and Harry Kane.

The 21-year-old striker scored twice on Saturday to lift the team he joined when he was 11 past the one he briefly played for as an eight-year-old, rendering Mesut Ozil's opener nothing more than a consolation as the late, great 2-1 win at White Hart Lane moved Spurs above their archrivals in the Premier League standings.

"This is the moment I never look at the table, because sometimes you are confused after," Spurs boss Mauricio Pochettino said. "Our aim is to finish the season even higher up. But we need to go step by step and keep working hard."

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2...ust-live-in-it

Mason is definately a TEAM player, however you define it, but that is the nature of a good center Mid.

Nature of a good player!
      ...not only good midfielders.

------

Let me say this for the umpteenth time: The aim is to have 11 players - Yes, Goalkeeper included - as fast as bullet, quickest of feet, great movement and passing, wonderfully technically gifted! ...and that would naturally mean tactically excellent and superb TEAM!

So you wish for all TEAM-players!
      There is no great player...NONE...who is not also TEAM-player. Each is top quality on TEAM-plays...but as with all things so it is on TEAM, some of the great players are better TEAM players than others.

Unfortunately it is usually the greatest of players who sell their TEAM abilities short e.g. Messi! He is great at most things...and thus even as he 'fools around' at times he gets away with it because of his compensating factors. Imagine what he would be if he never 'fooled around'? ...god-like?

Hope the above gives an insight into TEAM!!!

Look at our Alex Sanchez?
      Can you imagine what he would be like if he 'bruked' at just the 'right amount' and improved his passing? ...god-like?

...currently too often he is if not horrible just about so bad it makes no difference. On those bad days, he still 'harries and hounds' but gives the ball away more than he keeps it within TEAM and destroys his TEAM's attempts at attack and on defense!!! ...often undermining his own previous good work.

Stop heaping on Sanchez. 18 goals and how many assist??? Isn't that the hallmark of a very good striker???

a good player in whatever position.

That is the unbelievable inconsistency I see with Karl. You can imagine if Kane or Mason had that stat????

how is it inconsistent? it is very consistent! consistently inconsistent.

if karl start out as a fan, he going to die as fan ... if he starts out as a hater....same thing, he is going to die as a hater. sanchez can do nothing right! yuh figget how him deal with the guy who has the statue at the enmirates? the guy who went on the another 5/6 years of productive football playing the same way he always has, including a dip in form here and there while having to cope with a wholesale new supporting cast?

Karl Hypothetically what is your dream Premier league

starting Eleven>>11players.... just eleven all stars from today's players. No more no less.
                From all 20 Prem teams. The amount of players from one team does not matter. I am waiting to see your team sheet
                "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

. 100% correct.

he's gonna ask you "why" ... just letting you know! either that or ask you for yours and then critique it .... just sayin'!

Yes...but it also can be result gained by a not good or poor striker.
                      So if you are saying those stats alone define a good striker you are wrong!!! ...wrong!!! ...wrong!!!

Centuries scored is the mark of a good batsman but scoring centuries does not necessarily mean the scorer is a good batsman.

...being a member of a 4 x 1 that runs World Record times does not mean that each runner on the team is necessarily in the class of World Championships or Olympic medal holders.
                      Last edited by Karl; February 10, 2015, 03:08 PM.

Yes...but it also can be result gained by a poor striker.

No poor striker can't have 18 goals and 10 assist in the EPL in 3/4 season.
                        Goals maybe "buckup" but no poor striker will have both.

Yes...but it also can be result gained by a poor striker.

No poor striker can't have 18 goals and 10 assist in the EPL in 3/4 season.
                          Goals maybe "buckup" but no poor striker will have both.
                          ...and why not?

because it is impossible for a poor striker to have so many goals and assists. It is no ordinary accomplishment and it shows diversity as a striker.

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
                              starting Eleven>>11players.... just eleven all stars from today's players. No more no less.
                              From all 20 Prem teams. The amount of players from one team does not matter. I am waiting to see your team sheet
                              Good question?
                              Will supply same.

-------

Forwards
                              - Kane & Sergio Agüero [Reserves: Sturridge with a few slaps around his head to ensure he plays more TEAM...but on abilities i.e. physical, technical & tactical should be 'besses'!)] ...Costa too clumsy to fit in. With good ref half his push man or trip man or hit man before scoring goals would be NOT! ...and he is always a caution away from destroying his TEAM. ...unfortunately Costa as 2nd reserve ~ sigh! May need his 2-way (attacking and defensive) efforts in certain situations... ~ sigh!
                              ]

*Midfielders - <- Mason, Fabregas, Toure, Hazard -> or <- Hazard - Toure - Fabregas - Mason -> Does not matter how they line up! They play in the smartest of manner...moving always as commonsense demands. So they are attackers...they are engines...they are always at the controls...they are defenders = omnipresent operators.

The great thing about this group is, the ability to switch conductor or conductors at a moments notice i.e. run plays through as focal point yet each of the others has the ability to hit the opponent with 'sudden'=killer pass! Demands of the opponent 'honest plays' against each who no one player can 'hold'.

On Mason: An enforcer/passer/striker i.e. Mason. (Eyebrows popping on Mason being called an enforcer? - Please watch the guy on defense and breaking up of attacks? Thanks!)

Reserve: Alex Song - Compromise on pace...not the quickest. Possible Fabregas type pace! ...but enforcer and deliverer of the 'killer pass'.

Defenders - Rose, **Skirtel, Terry, Ivanovic. Reserve Zabaleta

***Goalkeepers - Lloris
                              Reserve: The BoyU 'keeper David de Gea

Both 'keepers good passers distributors - good sweepers, fearless and greatest of reflexes.

*All excellent passers...quick of mind, quick feet or across ground or both!!!

Across ground, Fabregas appears to have Toure beat as the slowest.

**Possibly the best center-back in the EPL now. Has good pace, quick feet and mind, great in the air...excellent reader of the game. Would florish with these excellent defenders and midfielders around.

Truth is all the players in this TEAM would be waaay more effective than when in their TEAMs as the quality around them on pace, creativeness - quick mind=great tactical characteristic and feet...and also passing range and quality passing and movement, technical and physical skills is top, top drawer!!!!

***Gurzon of Villa (A tiger) - This guy is gets tremendous practice sessions in every match. ...and he is most often brilliant. Just not his fault his TEAM is crap!!! ...and that is more about lack of belief throughout the TEAMs outfielders than any other thing.

The above gives insight on thinking on TEAM-players and importance applied to same and shows understanding of 'the realities' i.e. You can only field players from the squad you have....so compromises have to be made.

Reminder: The wish is for -
                              Fastest - across ground - and strongest of players with greatest of physical abilities, greatest of minds=tactical ability and greatest of technical ability! ...so the wish is a TEAM...'keeper through each outfielder with such attributes and skills.
                              Last edited by Karl; February 11, 2015, 11:07 AM.