Half Time Chatter Jamaica vs Trinidad
hehehe....the goalkeeper a overseas based player...."Wha, a mussi Portmore or Port Royal"Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
This gave me a chance to see the U20 play. They are very athletic; this may come as surprise for some but they are not technical enough for WC standards. They pass because the have to not because they want to. When T&T start to close the passing lanes around the final third they resort to booting the ball. Tactically the defence was leaving gaps withemselves and midfielders (which T&T was exploiting) this waas adjusted in the second half.
Note: watched the game with waterhouse and Seba; although waterhouse had better possession and passed more their defensive tactics was similar hence one pass on the counter allowed Seba to beat one man and was right in front WH goalie.
Ja with superior athleticism can afford to push up with their defenders and presss. What the opponent is going to do, put a ball over the last defender's head and hope to win a foot race? T&T passed the ball better around Ja's final third. Their passes were penetrating not hoofing it away when pressure is turned up. One may see Brasilians making defence splitting passes over long distances but this is something they are drilled to do at their youth academies (I know this for a fact). Therefore mathc day it's second nature. Another thing I saw which I thought was solved; is ball watching. Prof.Simoes told us that because we were cricketers we tend watch and wait to see what the opponet is about to do. This is a no no in football. Many times Ja's U20 stood and waited on T&T to control pick out a player and pass. No you go for the ball once it's not in your possession when you win you can relax. Never watch your opponent with the ball the can move ball quickly over distances and then it's over. Really can't blame Tappa; the players lack the basics.
If the U17 can be patient and hold up the ball, attack the final third with quick short passes and fifnish with good shooting technique there is hope. Last but not least: do not leave a gap between the midfielder and central Defenders.
Jawge I will say this, you see DCUP or Manning Cup teams with better defensive shape and understanding of the game. You had a few players who could take a good shot or hold up the ball but they were lost out there.
The one or two times they used the wing play and crossing resulted in one of the goals we score in the tournament. Try and tell me what we even try to do offensively? Not saying they were well prepared. Did it look like we have the shape??? Did it look like certain players were played out of position??? There is a lot that went wrong. In the US game, the kids perfomed on pure grit. Did you realize this maybe the worst US team we have played in a while?? One or two decent players on the field but go and look at 90 percent of the goals they scored and you will see in the build up it was a simple defensive error by the other team. We were playing at home with our supporters. Imagine if we were playing somewhere else?
You realize how in the Trinidad game, how easy we were beaten down the wing??? I get the impression we started without a true left back, the player who started at left back was drawn from defense and put in midfield. Did we do any research or scouting on these team??? Not saying we would have won the zone but we were embarrassing on the field, and the blame need to go around.
If I am coaching a team, I will demand what I want from my boss within reason and not thinking that I will just take what they give me knowing it can't work or I will quit. If I am coaching a team, there are some basic things that my players have to do, Keep a defensive shape for example, not forcing the ball through the middle and all my players bundle in the middle looking for players to beat every time they get the ball. I agree teams maybe better and beat us bad, but it is frustrating to anyone who every coached a team for 1 week or 10 years and know anything about this. You notice most of the good Jamaican teams have good wing plays. We are not good enough to beat Most teams in this region by short plays or dribbling through the middle going forward. Them days deh DONE.
When talk about the Gap between midfield and defense? Why is there such a gap? was this address throughout the game?Last edited by Assasin; February 13, 2015, 02:00 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
The reference to Manning cup and Dcup is a matter of appearance. They will look good because they are playing a weaker opponent.
Sass yuh notice mi did leave out the wing ball? T&T scored off a simple cross from the flanks but then again they are equal to JA because the boyz scored a similar goal. It's really sad if we can't defend those basic crosses.
It's simple: The reason why we can't beat teams in this region with short passes and dribbling, it's because we are not technically sound. Remember my post asking how many times in the league one sees the elastico or the vaselina? The above is the reason why Panama et al is getting the better of the Rboyz.
The gaps:Well it has to do with tactics. My opinion is that these guys get away with it playing high school football (they are U20) thus they bring it to the INT'L level.
All in all I agree with you still. Back in the days when Prof Simoes would work with u17, u20 to seniors.They would ridicule him saying why does have to coach at that level as a matter of fact he can't coach, ah taxi him did ah drive ah Brazil. Prof. picked the players who he knew could get Ja qualified. Ah bwoy.
Jawgey, you remember when the Prof had under 23 etc. a play against St. Mary all star, Mobay 11 and Portland team? Then he may call one or two a that ballas, give the teams a chance to play as a unit, and nuff a them man laugh at him and say it nuh make no sense. Simoes had college all start team including Andy Williams come down and play so him could have seen the players.
How soon we forget. The fact is we have too many lazy and "eat a food coach" and club a Ja who want a 3 months job and try fi trick people.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Gamma View PostIs a dippy story only if it frighten yuh."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
The only way I would blame Tappa is if he had them from five years old. Ja does not have a system to prepare players for INT'L football. I said it before tat all kids from u7 to u14 should not be allowed to play on the big field. Only small sided games. Did you see with U20 when the spaces got tight what they did with the ball? Street ball should be encouraged and the best (u14) should taken up the coaches from the JFF.
Ja has to have a system that starts out with emphasis on technique. Athleticism is only one aspect of the game.