JFF seeking practice games for U-17s
Originally posted by Assasin View PostKarl under 20 practice games are good practice for 16 year old kids. Give them a chance to stretch their legs
- The quality opposition that will be met @ these CONCACAF championships...
...and...
@ the World U17 Championships?
- What are the practice sessions designed to accomplish?
i ) Merely to attend and be whapped (bask in the glow of having attended)?
ii) Solely to qualify for the World U-17 title?
iii) To win the World Championship?
My thoughts on "the why" of attending are:
- to qualify to attend the World U-17 Championships!
- once there - at the World U-17 Championships - to create waves!
The quality of opponents I expect to meet at this CONCACAF stage will be at the top (say top 2) better than the quality of our NPL! ...our U-17 must be prepared to defeat those TEAMs.
The quality of opponents I expect to meet at the World U-17 Championships will have TEAMs better than our current National Senior TEAM, the REGGAE BOYZ!!!
Younger players who in the main are faster of feet and across ground. Technically superior to our Reggae Boyz and with loads more preparation on tactical requirements. ...if that is even nearly so then our U-17s to compete must be superior to our woeful NPL squads. Why then would I not be teaching my U-17s the methods to employ to be better than our NPL teams and opponents we shall meet? Why would I not be teaching that type mindset? ...attitude and necessary thinking on how to attain superior possession stats, create 'tons' of chances, how to take goal opportunities, most opportune use of ball, skill and speed?
Well if I wish my squad to be TEAM...the best Jamaica currently has to offer as competition are - i ) Senior National TEAM and ii) the NPL squads.
If you were the teacher/coach what would you do? I know what I would have been doing...and now doing!!!Last edited by Karl; February 11, 2015, 06:33 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Dunny View PostYou look like you live a foreign too long. People deh a Jamaica a cry fi hungry and you a compare Jamaica to the USA. We have to be realistic.
Karl any coach can tell you, the best local practice you can get for age group team is to play older kids. The reason is, even if the older kids are not the greatest but it helps because of the share size and help to build their strength.
The quality of opponents I expect to meet at the World U-17 Championships
will have TEAMs better than our current National Senior TEAM, the REGGAE BOYZ!!!
The fact is playing as a unit and practicing helps any team and that is what they are doing.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Amazing prep for a Jamaican youth team... IF this is true
Coach Andrew Edwards' squad has been in preparation since March 2013, with week-end and weekly camps, as well as an extended camp at Jakes Hotel in St Elizabeth.
They have also participated in three tournaments with the following results:
CFU Preliminary Qualifiers, where they won three games from as many starts; CFU Final Round in Haiti where they won three of four, losing the final 2-0 to Haiti; and the CASA Youth Classic in Florida where they won three of four, losing the final 4-1 on penalties.
The Jamaica Football Federation has also engaged a performance coach, who has been working with the squad as a unit as well as with individual players. A tutor also travelled with the squad to Haiti to assist with academic work.
They may actually look like a team and not a bunch of strangersTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I wonder if you realize the amount of changes in personnel during that time???
This is the work of one Andrew Edwards. JFF can take credit but the coach set the plan in place, time for others to do it. How many other coaches you see going to scout other teams in the region???? Colour is playing games locally and will play one today. He has them under intense training for the last month and even register the country youths and the youths from abroad in schools to keep up with their school work.
What a difference and how refreshing. You think this is the work of JFF or technical committee?? If you don't pressure them with what you want then they will sit back and nothing happen.Last edited by Assasin; February 10, 2015, 01:07 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI wonder if you realize the amount of changes in personnel during that time???
This is the work of one Andrew Edwards. JFF can take credit but the coach set the plan in place, time for others to do it. How many other coaches you see going to scout other teams in the region???? Colour is playing games locally and will play one today. He has them under intense training for the last month and even register the country youths and the youths from abroad in schools to keep up with their school work.
What a difference and how refreshing. You think this is the work of JFF or technical committee?? If you don't pressure them with what you want then they will sit back and nothing happen.
Dis look like anedda Bartlett-type Hero Worship ..... GWAAN COLOUR!!!!!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Mi know that facts hurt, but a so it go. Sorry but everybody not in the same pile, some make a difference only sorry Colour never go JC- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Mi nuh know di yute an mi nuh really care who yuh out fi worship...Mi juss notice dat an find it amusing suh...GWAAN SASS!!!!!
Anyway my point was about the ALLEGED 2 year prep for the U-17 group. Is this a fact?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
The under 20 did have qualifying games too. Didn't they?? What stopped them from playing local games against NPL teams and parish invitational teams?? and have regular camps????- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I merely asked you if the 2 year prep is correct
Please answer the question posed.
Thanks in advanceTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
yeah I notice you like to hear what you want to hear, not the reality. You can prepare for 2 years and still not ready. It is all about the quality of preparation.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postyeah I notice you like to hear what you want to hear, not the reality. You can prepare for 2 years and still not ready. It is all about the quality of preparation.
So you acknowledge that the U-17 group had a 2 year prep
No doubt you realize that your admission raises some interesting issues... These issues have you hoist by your own petardTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE